Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Old's Cool > Airheads
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-07-2010, 11:37 AM   #1
squirrelscoundrel OP
beginner metal jockey

Oddometer: 45
a bunch of airhead questions for all you experts. Thanks in advance.

So I have my bike in pieces and am wondering what to do next. The engine is out, I have a gasket kit on the ready but am wondering about other jobs that I should while it is apart. History: 70,000 miles 1974 r75/6. The bike sat for 5 years. previous owner said it was well mantained... who knows

Questions:
How do I know if the timing chain needs to be replaced? Can I know this without taking the whole engine apart?

How do I know if the cam shaft bearing needs to be replaced? Can I know this without taking the whole engine apart?

The cylinders look really shiny and are free of any visible imperfections (this is my first time ever seeing a cylinder, but I am amazed by how clean they are) So should I do anything to the rings or the pistons? i.e. hone and replace?

I have attached a pic of one of the cylinders...if it helps.Photobucket

Thanks a lot for the help. This is the link to my thread. Thanks again!
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=524199

Doug
squirrelscoundrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 12:29 PM   #2
ChromeSux
Plated and screwed

Oddometer: 1,363
Anton or some of the other guys can give you the exacts but if i went thru all the trouble and took it down as far as you have i would go ahead and do the entire motor too, i know there are many BMW out there with allot more miles on the motor bottom end but if you are going to keep it why not do it right.
ChromeSux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 12:34 PM   #3
crazydrummerdude
Wacky Bongo Boy

Oddometer: 7,498
When I saw my first cylinders, I was surprised how shiney they were, too.