ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-28-2010, 06:55 AM   #1
SCflyer OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
SCflyer's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Back in NC
Oddometer: 1,597
Bluhduh GMap 478 owners - Don't try to update to CN 2011.1...yet **Fixed**

I got an email today that any issues had been fixed. I now have access to all the areas in the given list and am downloading US and Canada at the moment and so far so good. The list starts with all of North American, the breaks it down to smaller areas.

I have the lifetime updates for CN North America and tried to download the latest (CN North America NT 2011.10) and the ONLY thing it would allow me to download is "Canada and border states". For the Canucks with a 478, guess you're good but for those of us south, you cannot get anything else.
It will load the entire update to mapsource but not the GPS. I called Garmin (call early and little to no wait time) and for some reason the 478s have issues with the new download system. I asked about other units and the rep doesn't know. She said the software/IT folks are aware and "working on it". She mentioned a site download fix or a DVD yet to come out. The only options you have are to...wait and use the older version until this is fixed or if you're in my situation; download what you want to/can use to a data card from mapsource and go that route. Hope I'm the only one and got the info out before somebody needs it for a trip!

SCflyer screwed with this post 06-04-2010 at 06:45 AM
SCflyer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 08:28 AM   #2
Drif10
Accredited Jackass
 
Drif10's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Gates of Moscow
Oddometer: 45,650
Thanks for the tip, I was gonna update mine this weekend. Think I'll wait.
__________________
I guess your get up and go needs a coffee. - Drif5
Drif10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2010, 02:13 AM   #3
MichaelJ
Beastly Adventurer
 
MichaelJ's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Oddometer: 2,133
Mine went without a hitch. Updated it on April 10th.
__________________
Michael J.
Ten years in the Alps (so far)
Alpine Trip Reports: 2006, 2007, 2009
Pictures, pictures and more pictures

MichaelJ screwed with this post 05-29-2010 at 02:21 AM
MichaelJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2010, 07:02 AM   #4
SCflyer OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
SCflyer's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Back in NC
Oddometer: 1,597
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelJ
Mine went without a hitch. Updated it on April 10th.
Glad if worked for somebody. Which area on the new download list did you pick?
SCflyer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2010, 07:30 AM   #5
Steve W
Old Grouch
 
Steve W's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Rocky Mountains of Alberta
Oddometer: 646
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCflyer
Glad if worked for somebody. Which area on the new download list did you pick?
My updated the whole mapset, Canada and the US.
__________________
SW

The Weather in my Backyard
Steve W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 04:10 AM   #6
MichaelJ
Beastly Adventurer
 
MichaelJ's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Oddometer: 2,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve W
My updated the whole mapset, Canada and the US.
+1
__________________
Michael J.
Ten years in the Alps (so far)
Alpine Trip Reports: 2006, 2007, 2009
Pictures, pictures and more pictures
MichaelJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 03:20 PM   #7
rjudge
Texan from near Muskogee
 
rjudge's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: SE OK
Oddometer: 195
Lifetime Maps???

Quote:
Originally Posted by SCflyer
I have the lifetime updates for CN North America and >>>SNIP!<<<
Woah, wait a minute. I just called Garmin last week trying to purchase the "Lifetime" maps for my 376C and the lady said it was only for units like the Nuvi that had the maps preloaded. I didn't think the 478 was in that category. How did you get lifetime maps????? I'm getting tired of buying a $100 map every year or two for both of my GPSs.

RIck
__________________
10 F800GS, 05 ST1300, 07 G650X, 05 KLR650, 08 WR250R, 07 XR650R, 07 TW200, 74 TY250
rjudge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 04:48 PM   #8
SCflyer OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
SCflyer's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Back in NC
Oddometer: 1,597
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjudge
Woah, wait a minute. I just called Garmin last week trying to purchase the "Lifetime" maps for my 376C and the lady said it was only for units like the Nuvi that had the maps preloaded. I didn't think the 478 was in that category. How did you get lifetime maps????? I'm getting tired of buying a $100 map every year or two for both of my GPSs.

RIck
Did your 376 come preloaded with City Navigator? If so, then you should be able to use the Lifetime updates. When calling Garmin about this problem the lady I spoke to said the unit doesn't have an internal memory . I thought it has to since it has the maps on it...She corrected herself later. The site info. says it does have internal memory but the maps are preloaded onto the what internal memory it does have when made and u can update what's already there, not load additional. There is no "internal memory" for extra stuff. If you want to add more maps (topo for example) you have to get a data card. I tried to find any information (receipts, purchase info etc) for the lifetime update but no joy. I don't remember if I called or ordered it online...but it works...well, most of the time.

Guess mine is the odd GPS out since the others above seemed to work ok. I tried it again, and again it would only load Canada. Maybe it's telling me something about where I need to go!

SCflyer screwed with this post 05-30-2010 at 04:54 PM
SCflyer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 06:51 PM   #9
rjudge
Texan from near Muskogee
 
rjudge's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: SE OK
Oddometer: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCflyer
Did your 376 come preloaded with City Navigator? If so, then you should be able to use the Lifetime updates. When calling Garmin about this problem the lady I spoke to said the unit doesn't have an internal memory . I thought it has to since it has the maps on it...She corrected herself later. The site info. says it does have internal memory but the maps are preloaded onto the what internal memory it does have when made and u can update what's already there, not load additional. There is no "internal memory" for extra stuff. If you want to add more maps (topo for example) you have to get a data card. I tried to find any information (receipts, purchase info etc) for the lifetime update but no joy. I don't remember if I called or ordered it online...but it works...well, most of the time.

Guess mine is the odd GPS out since the others above seemed to work ok. I tried it again, and again it would only load Canada. Maybe it's telling me something about where I need to go!
I'll have to try and call them back and hope I get someone that'll sell me the lifetime maps. I think mine came with City Nav North America but it was on CD/DVD. So, technically, it wasn't loaded in the GPS. What a silly distinction! What the heck difference does it make whether I have to load it myself or if it was already loaded. If I could find a viable alternative to Garmin, I'd switch.

Rick
__________________
10 F800GS, 05 ST1300, 07 G650X, 05 KLR650, 08 WR250R, 07 XR650R, 07 TW200, 74 TY250
rjudge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 09:44 PM   #10
Steve W
Old Grouch
 
Steve W's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Rocky Mountains of Alberta
Oddometer: 646
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjudge
Woah, wait a minute. I just called Garmin last week trying to purchase the "Lifetime" maps for my 376C and the lady said it was only for units like the Nuvi that had the maps preloaded. I didn't think the 478 was in that category. How did you get lifetime maps????? I'm getting tired of buying a $100 map every year or two for both of my GPSs.

RIck
I have the lifetime option for NA and Europe (the combined deal) for my 376c and the NA lifetime for my 478. Both are compatible with both...... If that makes any sense.
__________________
SW

The Weather in my Backyard
Steve W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 06:06 AM   #11
MichaelJ
Beastly Adventurer
 
MichaelJ's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Oddometer: 2,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve W
I have ... the lifetime option for NA for my 478.
+1
__________________
Michael J.
Ten years in the Alps (so far)
Alpine Trip Reports: 2006, 2007, 2009
Pictures, pictures and more pictures
MichaelJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 06:38 AM   #12
SCflyer OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
SCflyer's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Back in NC
Oddometer: 1,597
Fyi
SCflyer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 03:41 AM   #13
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCflyer
Fyi
Thanks for keeping everyone up to date.
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 04:55 PM   #14
rjudge
Texan from near Muskogee
 
rjudge's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: SE OK
Oddometer: 195
Garmin CNNA 2011 NT

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve W
I have the lifetime option for NA and Europe (the combined deal) for my 376c and the NA lifetime for my 478. Both are compatible with both...... If that makes any sense.
I finally got Garmin to admit that the CNNA 2011 NT and lifetime maps will work on bothe my 376C and 276C units. I bought a CNNA 2011 NT and Lifetime Maps for both and they installed and unlocked with only the usual Garminoid hitches. I'm realitively happy.

I read the Lifetime Maps fine print and it scares me a little. I get maps until Garmin decides the usefull life of the units is over. In other words, until they decide to stop supporting them. I do not like the sound of that.

RJ
__________________
10 F800GS, 05 ST1300, 07 G650X, 05 KLR650, 08 WR250R, 07 XR650R, 07 TW200, 74 TY250
rjudge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 09:40 AM   #15
Country Doc
Wanderer
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: somwhere north of Kingston, Ontario
Oddometer: 2,652
Just an update on this. I updated my new-to-me 478 last week, and the only thing it would, at first, let me download is "Canada and the border states", similar to the OP here.

(this is on a Mac, FYI).

I called tech support and they had no idea. Their only suggestion was that the 478 didn't have enough internal memory for the new mapset, which is ridiculous.

I kept playing around until I finally stumbled across the solution. If I DESELECTED City Nav on the GPS unit before running the MapUpdater program, then it would allow me to install the whole update without any memory issues, so it must report the GPS as not having enough available memory if the mapset is checked off, which is strange, but apparently true.

Hope this helps someone else who's updating their 478 in the future.

Merry Christmas!
dc
Country Doc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014