ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-10-2010, 12:02 PM   #1
Calikatoom OP
Norcal Moto Nut
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Modesto CA
Oddometer: 291
Power Comander V - F800GS

Has anyone actually installed a Power Commander V?

I just bought one for the F800GS and am looking for any other maps that might be out there besides the ones found on the Power COmmander site.

My primary goal is an increase in torque although added HP is always nice.

I am using my patented "wheelie scale" as the seat of the pants Dyno test.

I already dropped one tooth in the counter shaft sprocket. This makes a world of difference offroad! 2nd gear is sooo much more usable in the tight stuff!

I also removed the cat converter and added a remus muffler and Uni airfilter.

However, 2nd gear wheelies on the street still require clutch to pull it up. My R1200GS would stand itself vertical in 2nd gear with no problem! I am hoping to get close to that with the F800GS using gearing and power mods.

I don't want to gear down any further. The current ratio is great for what I like(offroad). And it is already pretty buzzy at 75 mph on the hwy.

I read the "engine tuning" thread already. I don't want to get into a debate about compression ratios, mpg etc.

I just want to know if anyone has started playing with a Power Commander yet. What was your experience?

If I am the first, then I will be happy to share my experience as I get things installed and programmed!

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE do not turn this thread into a huge debate about what everyone thinks is right or wrong about engine tuning! I am hoping to find real experience from real people who have actually tried the Power Commander on an F800.

Thanks!
Gail
Calikatoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 12:58 PM   #2
Gangplank
Advenchaintourer
 
Gangplank's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Oddometer: 2,294
I've been considering one for my bike. I'd need a slightly different tune than you since I'd have stock filter and a LV pipe + altitude where I live is 5,000 ft or so.

I am interseted in your opinion and findings on how it works and improves things.

Why not just pay the money for a real dyno tune with sniffer? I know it is expensive but with the PCV it can really be dialed in by gear, etc.
__________________
Ride more, bark less
Gangplank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 02:00 PM   #3
Calikatoom OP
Norcal Moto Nut
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Modesto CA
Oddometer: 291
I just might fork out the dough for a full Dyno tune. However if someone already has done this and has a map to share, I'd prefer to "plug and play"!

This bike is so close to perfection. A little more meaty power off the bottom and I will be in heaven!


The Power Commander made a heck of a difference on my R1200GS. I am hoping for the same experience with the F800GS.
Calikatoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 03:34 PM   #4
Law Dawg (ret)
Studly Adventurer
 
Law Dawg (ret)'s Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Left Coast
Oddometer: 820
So Gail, when did you get the F8GS? One big advantage (to me) will be the ability to use your R&D experience with farkles for mine...this PC maybe included. I would be most interested in the affect on fuel mileage.
__________________
Firefly; the way it will actually be...rednecks in space, dealing with the mess made by urban progressives while being hounded by them and all without any goofy alien stuff. Shiney!
Law Dawg (ret) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 04:17 PM   #5
ShaunJ
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: UK
Oddometer: 53
Considering buying a power commander for my 800 but i want to get the map switch so i can change from an eco map to a power map does any one know if this is possible
ShaunJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 05:38 PM   #6
Calikatoom OP
Norcal Moto Nut
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Modesto CA
Oddometer: 291
I believe it is with the new Power Commander V. I was toying with that idea myself.
Calikatoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 05:54 PM   #7
Mike.C
Stelvio Dreamer!
 
Mike.C's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Brisbane-Australia
Oddometer: 589
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaunJ
i want to get the map switch so i can change from an eco map to a power map does any one know if this is possible
I've got a full monty PCV setup on my Guzzi.

Yes you can switch between two saved maps on the fly while riding. What you cannot do however is use Map switching and the Auto Tune together, you have to choose one or the other.
__________________
Cheers, Mike
Don't just look at it - Ride the bloody thing!
Mike.C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 05:42 PM   #8
Calikatoom OP
Norcal Moto Nut
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Modesto CA
Oddometer: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Law Dawg
So Gail, when did you get the F8GS? One big advantage (to me) will be the ability to use your R&D experience with farkles for mine...this PC maybe included. I would be most interested in the affect on fuel mileage.
Hi Mark!

Keep it quiet! I was holding off on posting pics at pashnit until the project was done. I totaled the R1200GS. (head-on with a quad out on a dirt road)

I have learned lots building this bike!

If you have questions, call or shoot me a PM.

Are you still healing up good? I look forward to riding with you one of these days!

-Gail
Calikatoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 10:30 AM   #9
Law Dawg (ret)
Studly Adventurer
 
Law Dawg (ret)'s Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Left Coast
Oddometer: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calikatoom
Hi Mark!

Keep it quiet! I was holding off on posting pics at pashnit until the project was done. I totaled the R1200GS. (head-on with a quad out on a dirt road)

I have learned lots building this bike!

If you have questions, call or shoot me a PM.

Are you still healing up good? I look forward to riding with you one of these days!

-Gail
Yer secret is safe...I know how to keep those.

When the knee replacements quit trying to kill me and heal up , I plan on a return ride to Cycle Specialties for that Stebel air horn mount and some BMW outlet rerouting. Might try to beg a spot on the couch and time it for a ride. It has been far too long amigo.

I'll be following this post with interest. The ability to switch mapping on the road is enticing. However, long rider stuff often requires more fuel mileage than this bike offers and so the eco setting needs to be thrifty indeed.
__________________
Firefly; the way it will actually be...rednecks in space, dealing with the mess made by urban progressives while being hounded by them and all without any goofy alien stuff. Shiney!
Law Dawg (ret) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 10:46 AM   #10
Grits&Gravy
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Grits&Gravy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Oddometer: 335
I just purchased and installed a Power Commander V on my 2011 F800GS. I Should wrap up the install tonight. The instructions were made using an older 2009? model. They tell you to unplug the O2 sensor and show its location being behind the rectifier on the right side of your bike. I removed mine and there was no plug there. After tracing the wire from the O2 sensor and cutting a few tie wraps and wishing I had hands the size of a 4 yr old, my O2 sensor plug is behind the fuel canister and between the rear shock and back of the engine. I was considering just cutting the wires at the O2 sensor, but I think I will just take the time and try to get to the actuall plug and unplug it and tape it up.

This afternoon.....
I was able to get to dislocate the plug from the frame mounting point using a long flat blade screw driver and some long needle nose pliers Once I got it freed I was able to pull it to the outside of the frame and get my hands on it to unplug it. I ended up taping up both sides of the separated plug and tie wrapping it all back up out of the way.

The outcome......
Usually when I crank the bike cold it blubbers and stumbles sometimes stalling until warm. With the PC-V, cranking the bike in 39 deg F temps it idled smooth as butter straight out the gate. The twitchiness of the throttle is gone and the transition thru the gears is a lot smoother than before. This bike has 88XX miles on it and I purchased it with 13 miles. I can tell the difference. My anticipated goal was not looking for performance gains, but rather looking for this bike to mellow out and be smoother. I can say that by installing the PC-V, I have retained the results I was looking for, but I can also say that I was lifting the front tire in 2nd gear while making turns thru my neighborhood and that didn't happen before. It's just a sweet spot and the bike is pulling more than previously thru the lower gears and higher RPM's and lifting the front. It was definitely a surprise to me and not what I was expecting.

At the moment I am very satisfied. This weekend I will be going for a ride and getting a better feel of the results.

Grits&Gravy screwed with this post 01-15-2013 at 06:32 PM Reason: update status of install
Grits&Gravy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 07:53 PM   #11
halfcabnut
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Shelbyville Indiana
Oddometer: 127
Grneggs
Are you running Auto tune as well?
halfcabnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 10:00 AM   #12
Grits&Gravy
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Grits&Gravy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Oddometer: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfcabnut View Post
Grneggs
Are you running Auto tune as well?
No, I just loaded the map for the LV-slip on from Dynojet onto the PC-V. I didn't feel like the AT was necessary for what I was trying to achieve.
Grits&Gravy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 11:40 AM   #13
halfcabnut
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Shelbyville Indiana
Oddometer: 127
Thanks for the info ,im about to pull the trigger myself .Only reason im thinking about the auto tune is diffrent elevations I ride in .

Thanks Dan.S
halfcabnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 12:11 PM   #14
ebrabaek
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Grand Valley, Colorado
Oddometer: 4,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfcabnut View Post
Thanks for the info ,im about to pull the trigger myself .Only reason im thinking about the auto tune is diffrent elevations I ride in .

Thanks Dan.S
You need the auto tune, if you are not tuning on a dyno. And even so, I would still verify it all on a dyno, but that's just me.
__________________


Erling
ebrabaek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 12:13 PM   #15
Gangplank
Advenchaintourer
 
Gangplank's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Oddometer: 2,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebrabaek View Post
You need the auto tune, if you are not tuning on a dyno. And even so, I would still verify it all on a dyno, but that's just me.
Does the auto tune constantly tune or does it read and then you accept the trims later on the CPU?

I know on the Bazzaz system (not for F800GS but for my trackbike) it reads the AFR and then I review and accept the trims later.
__________________
Ride more, bark less
Gangplank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014