ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush > Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc)
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-31-2010, 10:07 PM   #1
jetpoweredmonkey OP
Rider of the Lost Empire
 
jetpoweredmonkey's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Oddometer: 185
TuneECU for 990 - got tunes?

Hey gang, on another thread, a helpful inmate pointed out a freeware EFI (ECU) reprogrammer called TuneECU. It is 100% free to download, the link is below. To use this software, you will need a USB to OBD2 interface as well as a couple of connectors to build a patch cable in order to plug it in to the KTM.

I've downloaded the software and ordered the parts to make the adapter cable (the adapter cable goes from the USB interface to the bike). I am not a tuner, and I don't know anything about plugging numbers into my ECU to make the bike run better, and I don't know anything about dynos. I am also absolutely uninterested in finding more power in my 990, because it already has about 60 more HP than I have room to use, most of the time. However, it also has annoying and seemingly random hesitations that I'd like to be rid of.

That said, I'd like to be able to play around with different maps without the hassle of taking the bike to the dealer, and the associated hassle of opening my wallet for a five minute operation. I'm guessing there are some other folks who probably feel the same way. What I'd like to do is collect up some tunes for experimentation. It looks like the stock and Akro (open exhaust) map tunes are available here and there on the 'net. Maybe others have had custom tunes built for their bikes on a dyno (using Tuneboy or some other software). I'd love to get my hands on some of those so I can compare maps. Whether that will end up doing me any good remains to be seen.

Some possibilities to try (maybe) - "R" tune on a standard bike - '09+ tune on an older bike. Possible? Dunno yet.

Anyway, once I get this thing up and running, I will be game for some experimenting. I'll keep you guys posted and if anyone wants to try out a different tune, you are welcome to swing by my place here in Sacramento and jack in. Not OFF.

The risk here is that the upload will be unsuccessful and turn the very expensive ECU into a brick. Somewhere I read that this can be reversed using the dealer tool, but in any case I'll do some homework before I go flashing any bikes, including my own.

Some links.

TuneECU

USB OBDII interface (or check ebay)

OBDII pigtail

KTM connector
__________________
R100GSPD - K100RS - R75/5 - Ural Gear-Up - Vanagon Westfalia 2WD Syncro Wannabe
http://www.flickr.com/photos/38874353@N05/
jetpoweredmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 10:16 PM   #2
jetpoweredmonkey OP
Rider of the Lost Empire
 
jetpoweredmonkey's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Oddometer: 185
Also - if anyone is interested to try this out and wants a patch cable, post up here. If I get some interest maybe I can order a bunch of connectors and make up a few sets.

TuneECU thread on Superduke forum if you want to read more.
__________________
R100GSPD - K100RS - R75/5 - Ural Gear-Up - Vanagon Westfalia 2WD Syncro Wannabe
http://www.flickr.com/photos/38874353@N05/
jetpoweredmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 12:00 AM   #3
roundtripping
Adventourist
 
roundtripping's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Oddometer: 1,702
Thumb

I think this is exciting. I'd be interested in a cable or two.
__________________
12 F658GS
13 Honda CRF250L


My SPOT Tracker
roundtripping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 03:49 AM   #4
Roeligan
Belgium power!!!
 
Roeligan's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Belgium
Oddometer: 504
I'm interested in a cable also...
__________________
KTM 990 Adventure (Stealth one ; 2008-), now S-d & Beta 350 RR 2013 to play with
Suzuki DL-1000 V-Strom (2004-2008) and Suzuki GSF 600 Bandit (2002-2006)
www.roeligan.net
Roeligan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 08:37 AM   #5
viola-tor
Needs to ride!
 
viola-tor's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Rockies. Freakin' Rockies.
Oddometer: 2,071
Very interesting... I also know next to nothing about FI programing/tuning, and I think this is one of the final stones to turn over for my 990. I'll be watching this thread develop with great interest! Proceed...
viola-tor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 09:45 AM   #6
Nut Clutch
was Steve Lavigne
 
Nut Clutch's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Shilshole
Oddometer: 429
Sounds great. Tuneboy without the $$$. I'll be putting a cable together soon.

Thanks for the heads up!
__________________
'07 KTM 990 Adventure Long Road to Dug Bar
Nut Clutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 08:33 AM   #7
speeder
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Oddometer: 21
cable here to .

Quote:
Originally Posted by jetpoweredmonkey View Post
Also - if anyone is interested to try this out and wants a patch cable, post up here. If I get some interest maybe I can order a bunch of connectors and make up a few sets.

TuneECU thread on Superduke forum if you want to read more.
Yes cable here also
speeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 08:52 AM   #8
gefr
Life is a trip
 
gefr's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: East Med, Greece
Oddometer: 3,807
A question on CDIs.

My CDI is #60141031200 and was later superceded by 61041031200. does anybody know what are the diiferences? Quicker CPU maybe?
Cheers.
gefr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 03:07 PM   #9
chewbacca2264
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Central New York near Cooperstown
Oddometer: 84
Okay so when I finally got the computer issues cleared up I loaded the akra map onto my 08 that has Q4's on it. Much better throttle response and noticed no hunting between 3500-4000 rpm range. Worried that my mileage is gonna take a hit but rides better so for now I will monitor it and go from there. This program is very nice......just wish I had a better handle on tuning......guessing that this bike could really be cleaned up by someone who has a clue!!!
__________________
2008 KTM 990 Adventure (Big Mama) FMF Q4'S, Denali LED lights, Heated Grips, HDB Billet Top Clamp, Wolman Tail Bag, Akra Map...for now.
chewbacca2264 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 03:10 PM   #10
cpmodem
Orange Caveman
 
cpmodem's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: masa yee yah tee 59° 14' 9" N / 135° 26' 42" W
Oddometer: 7,103
Quote:
Originally Posted by chewbacca2264 View Post
Okay so when I finally got the computer issues cleared up I loaded the akra map onto my 08 that has Q4's on it. Much better throttle response and noticed no hunting between 3500-4000 rpm range. Worried that my mileage is gonna take a hit but rides better so for now I will monitor it and go from there. This program is very nice......just wish I had a better handle on tuning......guessing that this bike could really be cleaned up by someone who has a clue!!!
Are you running the map with the O2 sensors enabled or disabled? Is it the the '08 map, or a later version?
__________________

-cp

DISCLAIMER: All observations made in this post are mine and based solely on my own anecdotal experiences, and may contain large doses of facetiousness. YMMV, of course. You are "on your own", and I take no responsibility if someone tries anything in this post and gets into trouble with the law, damages their person or property, or goes blind. Take everything you read or hear "anywhere" butt especially on the Web with a large dose of salt.

cpmodem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 05:13 AM   #11
Maximum Hastings
Adventurer
 
Maximum Hastings's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: China and Africa
Oddometer: 38
KTM 990 Adventure connector to USB port

hello,

I am riding around the world on a KTM 990 Adventure R (11) and my partner who is on a KTM 990 Adventure (08) for charity - Autism Research Trust. First Chinese female to do so. We have just been charged over US$200 by KTM Nairobi for 5 minutes attached to their ECU diagnostic kit + US$600 for two services and that means we really are not eating for a few days.. such is the tight budget. The issue is fuel filters which get wrecked by the poor fuel in Africa and the general conditions which are harsh(ish). Also, KTM 990's have problems with the clutch slave which is not very robust, the front wheel rim and the pumps.. water and fuel.

We are at Jungle Junction in Nairobi having completed 12,000Kms already across Africa and ran into another 990 rider coming south from Ethiopia and he recommended we download Tune ECU and relevant maps for our bikes which we did. However, not much use without the connectors and so I was surfing this site and saw that some people had ingenuously made some up.

Just wondering how to get hold of such a cable/ six point ECU connector and USB connector.

Not easy to import things into Africa. I note there hasn't been a sudden out break of honesty here and everyone seems to fight a lot, hence customs are notorious for squeezing exorbitant import taxes or squeezing for bribes or both usually. Not much we can do when the tone from the top is Kleptomania and poor governance. Anyway, I digress, we really could do with an ECU cable and any advise about upgrading the shoddy clutch slave and pumps.

Thanks

www.bigbiketrip.net


Quote:
Originally Posted by jetpoweredmonkey View Post
Also - if anyone is interested to try this out and wants a patch cable, post up here. If I get some interest maybe I can order a bunch of connectors and make up a few sets.

TuneECU thread on Superduke forum if you want to read more.
Maximum Hastings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 08:59 AM   #12
Spark01
V-Twin
 
Spark01's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Oddometer: 302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maximum Hastings View Post
hello,

I am riding around the world on a KTM 990 Adventure R (11) and my partner who is on a KTM 990 Adventure (08) for charity - Autism Research Trust. First Chinese female to do so. We have just been charged over US$200 by KTM Nairobi for 5 minutes attached to their ECU diagnostic kit + US$600 for two services and that means we really are not eating for a few days.. such is the tight budget. The issue is fuel filters which get wrecked by the poor fuel in Africa and the general conditions which are harsh(ish). Also, KTM 990's have problems with the clutch slave which is not very robust, the front wheel rim and the pumps.. water and fuel.

We are at Jungle Junction in Nairobi having completed 12,000Kms already across Africa and ran into another 990 rider coming south from Ethiopia and he recommended we download Tune ECU and relevant maps for our bikes which we did. However, not much use without the connectors and so I was surfing this site and saw that some people had ingenuously made some up.

Just wondering how to get hold of such a cable/ six point ECU connector and USB connector.

Not easy to import things into Africa. I note there hasn't been a sudden out break of honesty here and everyone seems to fight a lot, hence customs are notorious for squeezing exorbitant import taxes or squeezing for bribes or both usually. Not much we can do when the tone from the top is Kleptomania and poor governance. Anyway, I digress, we really could do with an ECU cable and any advise about upgrading the shoddy clutch slave and pumps.

Thanks

www.bigbiketrip.net
200US for a diagnostic

ok where to get a tuneecu cable:
http://www.cjdesignsllc.com/TuneECU.html
or
http://www.zenoverland.com/bikebits/ktm_ecu_cable.html


Most used clutch slave cylinders;
http://www.oberon-performance.co.uk/...tch_Slave.html
or
http://evoluzione.net/evo-cycle-ktm.htm
__________________
'10 990SMT
Spark01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 12:36 PM   #13
nevermind
sLOW Rider
 
nevermind's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Lost then Found
Oddometer: 2,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetpoweredmonkey
Some possibilities to try (maybe) - "R" tune on a standard bike - '09+ tune on an older bike. Possible? Dunno yet.
There are a number of 2010 KTM 990 A's running the 990 R map, mine being one of them. I've been told the 09 tunes may work on the 2010's, but I'm not going to risk confusing or making my ECU inoperative either.

I already have a KTM Tuneboy cable and I went out and plugged in. You get the same kind of stuff you see with the default Tuneboy screen and the ability to download maps. I've downloaded the EU version of the 990R map from the tuneECU site, but I'm not ready to wing it and load that puppy just yet. I'd like a copy of the US map before I go off the deep end...
nevermind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 12:42 PM   #14
PowerCell
Manufacture
 
PowerCell's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Southern Kalifornia
Oddometer: 2,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevermind
There are a number of 2010 KTM 990 A's running the 990 R map, mine being one of them. I've been told the 09 tunes may work on the 2010's, but I'm not going to risk confusing or making my ECU inoperative either.

I already have a KTM Tuneboy cable and I went out and plugged in. You get the same kind of stuff you see with the default Tuneboy screen and the ability to download maps. I've downloaded the EU version of the 990R map from the tuneECU site, but I'm not ready to wing it and load that puppy just yet. I'd like a copy of the US map before I go off the deep end...

TuneECU allows you to read and save your current map prior to making changes...
__________________
~ Ken


www.powercellperformance.com
PowerCell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 01:19 PM   #15
nevermind
sLOW Rider
 
nevermind's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Lost then Found
Oddometer: 2,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerCell
TuneECU allows you to read and save your current map prior to making changes...

Beautiful!
nevermind is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014