ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Old's Cool > Airheads
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-17-2011, 06:09 AM   #1
gsjam OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
gsjam's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Oddometer: 218
r80 gs bash plate

Hi guys a question to the masses .Will a bash plate from a r80 gs fit a g/s ,tiring to make the g/s a little bit more durable off road .Many thanks in advance
__________________
Here for a good time....
gsjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 07:11 AM   #2
The Raven
Banned
 
The Raven's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Off the map,
Oddometer: 4,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsjam View Post
Hi guys a question to the masses .Will a bash plate from a r80 gs fit a g/s ,tiring to make the g/s a little bit more durable off road .Many thanks in advance
Yes and no, apparently a R80GS pan is the same as a R100GS pan according to the fiche. These pans had no place for the oil to drain. This can be addressed with a simple hole.

The biggest downside is that the hole can grab rocks....however I have never had this issue with my KLR.

Hope this helps.
The Raven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 11:15 AM   #3
lkchris
Albuquerque
 
lkchris's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Oddometer: 987
R80GS is same as R100GS is same as R80G/S.
__________________
Kent Christensen
Albuquerque
'12 R1200RT, '02 R1100S, '84 R80G/S
lkchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 01:58 PM   #4
Mark Manley
On my way
 
Mark Manley's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Back home in the UK
Oddometer: 646
It does fit both, I have a GS and a G/S and have used the same bash plate on the two of them.
__________________
If it's in the Touratech catalogue then you don't need it

"You've got to think for yourselves! You're all individuals!"-Brian of Nazareth
Mark Manley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 03:01 AM   #5
gsjam OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
gsjam's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Oddometer: 218
bash plate

Thanks guys ,the one on the g/s looks pretty dismal I am glad the gs 80 and gs 100 are the same mountings ,now where can i get one
__________________
Here for a good time....
gsjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 05:01 PM   #6
Sutherngintelmen
around the bend
 
Sutherngintelmen's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: ATL
Oddometer: 1,196
Was working on a few things last night - needed to re-fasten my right header pipe after it chunked in the middle of a drive.

Was a good time to hit both sides with fresh copper anti-seize and get a straight shot at rear engine mount nut after Flying Tpot side stand install.

Thing is - I'm knocking the underbelly around pretty good and the two of us are early on in the relationship.

Headers are getting torn up, about sheered two of the oem guard fasteners and generally unethusiastic about the long term prospects for current set up.

So I'm searching for a better bash plate.

Seen a few things but wondering if I'm missing a good choice:

Bad daddy:

Quote:
Originally Posted by bgoodsoil View Post
Swore I'd never spend here again:

(Also - says it's not a fit for R80 g/s pd but maybe with sawzall?)




Super Sexy (and out of my skill set)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRP View Post
Boxer Supplies - sent them an email and they confirmed 'yes to fit'

Anyone using this?

__________________
There is a pleasure in the pathed woods, There is a rapture in the smoking pipe, There is chaos, where none intrudes, in the deep dell, with its thrills roar; I love not nature less, but bikes the more. Byron riding.

All pics < 6/30/12 deleted by Apple Now with SmugMug supporting ADV
Sutherngintelmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 11:36 PM   #7
Mark Manley
On my way
 
Mark Manley's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Back home in the UK
Oddometer: 646
Here is a replica of the BMW original on UK ebay. I can see it is not quite they same, the mounting bolts set up is different but still looks good and I know the original works well.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/BMW-large-...item3ccf1a2cfe
__________________
If it's in the Touratech catalogue then you don't need it

"You've got to think for yourselves! You're all individuals!"-Brian of Nazareth
Mark Manley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014