User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-28-2005, 08:58 PM   #1
woody's wheel works OP
Built to Last

Oddometer: 3,298
demystifying the bunk re: straightening /truing/rebuilding GS wheels

hi,,,i'm woody from woody's wheel works in denver ,colorado,,,i have decided to put an end to all the misinformation and guesstimating going on regarding truing/re-building/modifying/straightening/anodizing/powder-coating etc the GS series X-laced tubeless wire wheels,,,,same goes for any alloy/cast wheel

i have perused this web site and finally decided to partake in this process,,perhaps to shine some light on this subject,,,i am new at this chat-room stuff so hope you experts take me under your wing and provide me with your tricks of the trade,,,i was told this vendor forum is the optimal place to say what i'm saying ,,,,i do not want to say the same thing over and over again....others have advised me to get a website to share the data

thanks to fellow inmate cRash we have this website now : www.woodyswheelworks.com ...a NEW one will be up and running early 2012....OBTW,you can thank him or curse him for bringing me on board the asylum

let me start by alleviating the concerns/suspicion of one rider whose front wheel is out of spec within the warranty period,,,i can rest assure you that the machine and it's technician at bmw can and do consistently produce a wheel that turns out within the lateral/left-right and longtitudinal/up-down specs of 1.5mm/.060" or1/16"......these specs are looser than what i consistently true these wheels to.....ie circa 1/3 of the bmw specs..+/- .010''or less are routine if we have a straight rim to start with.