User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-18-2005, 11:05 PM   #1
burntflan OP
burntflan

Oddometer: 44
adv 640 wheel squeal driving me mad

The front wheel on my '03 640 is driving me F#@ crazy. It squeals. It pops spokes. It refuses to stay true. I've changed the pads. Replaced the DID rim with an Excel. True it obessively. Although, I haven't popped a spoke in 8-days. I'm a hack mechanic who tries, sometime successfully, to fix everything myself but this time I think I may be over my head.
burntflan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 06:20 AM   #2
G.Kennedy

Oddometer: 1,850
The squeal ... from braking right .. not just riding. They all do it, just consider it charming. About the spokes though. My stockers were crap. I am still using the same rims, but have taken them to Buchannans in S. Cal for relacing w/ Heavy Duty Stainless. Not problems since. Wheel true and tension can have a bit of black magic and voodoo to it. Maybe you have tightened them too much. Go to a pro.
IBA#11791
G.Kennedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 06:27 AM   #3
Buckster
Banned

Oddometer: 1,003
Loosen your front axle clamps and bounce the front end with the brake applied, sorts out my '04 every time.

Don't know about your spokes though.
Buckster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 07:25 AM   #4
meat popsicle
Ignostic

Oddometer: 14,177
there has been a few threads on spokes and brake squeal - search on google for "brake squeal" and "broken spokes" with the switch "site:www.advrider.com" and you should come up with them.

IIRC, the spokes may break when overtightened - its got to be hard to get them balanced right? (I don't true my own wheels... so I have no idea.)