ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Old's Cool > 2 smokers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-21-2012, 08:29 PM   #1
Shocktower OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Shocktower's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Oregon City Orygun
Oddometer: 9,375
Reeds fit

Ok I got some new reeds for my bike and well they are not tight as the old ones, they have a gap of about .003" , do they need to be snug, my instructions for the reeds told me with a rubber reed cage ( I think mine is bakelite) do I need to file they down to have a tight fit
__________________
Alexa Drew Nov 9 1995- Oct 28th 2004 Miss you baby


'08 KTM 530 EXC
79 RD 400 Daytona
Shocktower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 01:17 AM   #2
anotherguy
Beastly Adventurer
 
anotherguy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: the hills
Oddometer: 5,936
Three thousandths isn't bad at all. But you could try flipping them over to see if that helps. Over-tightening can cause them to rise too.
__________________
A lie has no feet......it can't stand alone.............
Jason Newsted
anotherguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 01:23 AM   #3
Shocktower OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Shocktower's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Oregon City Orygun
Oddometer: 9,375
Yeah trust me I tried that, I have worked on all kinds of things and know that sometimes things have a crown, I did some file work and they sit better
__________________
Alexa Drew Nov 9 1995- Oct 28th 2004 Miss you baby


'08 KTM 530 EXC
79 RD 400 Daytona
Shocktower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 03:33 AM   #4
JonnyCash
turd polisher
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Midcoast, Maine
Oddometer: 1,434
I tried a set of TDR reeds in my RD350 once. I had a very hard time getting the reeds to lay flat on the cages. I got them to about where you describe, and put it all together. It ran like shit, so I took them back out and put the stock ones back. Someday I'll try some YZ reeds, which can be trimmed to fit RD cages. I know that some folks have had success with TDR's, but I also know a lot of folks who have had bad experiences with them. I'm assuming you're working with TDR's?
__________________
I wouldn't bring her home to Mama, but Mama ain't home tonight.
JonnyCash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 05:05 PM   #5
Shocktower OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Shocktower's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Oregon City Orygun
Oddometer: 9,375
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonnyCash View Post
I tried a set of TDR reeds in my RD350 once. I had a very hard time getting the reeds to lay flat on the cages. I got them to about where you describe, and put it all together. It ran like shit, so I took them back out and put the stock ones back. Someday I'll try some YZ reeds, which can be trimmed to fit RD cages. I know that some folks have had success with TDR's, but I also know a lot of folks who have had bad experiences with them. I'm assuming you're working with TDR's?

Yes I got TDR's, I called and spoke with Tony himself today( nice helpful guy), and he gave me some info, I have not yet got my bike running just yet, (still waitning for the throttle cables), I went to the glass shop and got me a pane and sanded the reed cges flat enought to have them pretty tight, we will see when I get it running, BTW I am not using stock carbs, I went all out and got some TM flat slides so they may work better
__________________
Alexa Drew Nov 9 1995- Oct 28th 2004 Miss you baby


'08 KTM 530 EXC
79 RD 400 Daytona
Shocktower is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014