User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-27-2012, 02:46 PM   #1
ddavidv OP
Thrifty not cheap

Oddometer: 1,112
Laugh Pennsylvania: the parts that don't suck. Updated 4/28/13

I've posted a few day trip Ride Reports previously but decided to make one thread and just keep adding to it. I figured it would make things easier to find for readers/riders. Quick refresher: I started riding again in 2011 after reading far too much on this site and buying a well-used KLR from an inmate. Though I'm a DINK (dual income, no kids) between work and my other (expensive, time consuming) hobbies a real epic journey continues to elude me. So I do the best I can, taking my 'adventures' in tiny chunks, building up to that day when I can tell my boss to suck it and ride off for a month or two like the rest of you.
Anyway, quick links to the preceding RR's:
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=683085
The very first one where I head up to Sullivan County. It's a bit of a train wreck as far as the writing goes.
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=692648
#2, where I spend a day tracing the ruins of the East Broad Top Railroad (I'm a train geek; see above, expensive/time consuming hobbies).
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=692648
#3, okay it's not really PA...I snuck across the border into Maryland for this one as I trace the abandoned Western Maryland Railway (do you see a trend here?).

I live in south central PA between Harrisburg and Lancaster. I drive every day for my job, mostly highways, and even though we have some neat things right around here I've seen them all literally hundreds of times. I generally head west and/or north from where I am though occasionally I spend some time in southern York county where we have a lot of good roads, many still unpaved, and little traffic. I took these shots the first time I road the KLR after getting it (and myself) legal: