ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-01-2012, 05:28 PM   #1
tnktm OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Oddometer: 52
If I get a Montana what else do I need?

I want a gps to download dual sport rides into gps and go ride them and to ride off road and overlay where I rode on a map. The Montana seems the best (although expensive) and I saw a "rugged mount" to hard wire it to bike (although it says some kind of ball socket not included). I see people talking about mapsource or basemap. I guess my question is do I need to buy 3 programs (topo map, regular map, mapsource or basemap)? I'm not sure what kind of maps to use for the 2 thinks I want to do. I might want to use google maps somehow if I could. I'd kinda like an idea what I need before I start purchasing. I saw a topo map that said 100k and a southeast (where I am) topo map that said 24k but the what looked like smaller map was more expensive (which didn't make since). Sorry if the answers are obvious and thanks for any advice.
tnktm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 05:40 PM   #2
basketcase
lifelong reject fixer
 
basketcase's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Roll Tide Central...
Oddometer: 1,362
Back in 2010 I put Mapsource and City Nav on my 76Csx and got along fine doing the CDT.

I also bought the topo program but found it lacking and not as useful, so at the end of the day it was wasted money.
__________________
'00 R1100RT
------------
"The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane." - Marcus Aurelius
basketcase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 05:40 PM   #3
rickcj7
Gnarly Adventurer
 
rickcj7's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Hollidaysburg PA
Oddometer: 438
You need the GPS, rugged mount, handlebar ball mount, and whatever maps you want.
The 650t comes with topo maps on it
The 650 has camera no maps
The 600 has no maps or camera
Mapsource and basecamp are the programs you use on the PC to plan and map out you trips.
__________________
Husqvarna TE630

WR250R sold
FE450E sold
XT, NX, KLX, KLR, DR all long gone.
rickcj7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 11:29 AM   #4
Greg Wildwood
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: Wildwood, Missouri USA
Oddometer: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickcj7 View Post
You need the GPS, rugged mount, handlebar ball mount, and whatever maps you want.
The 650t comes with topo maps on it
The 650 has camera no maps
The 600 has no maps or camera
Mapsource and basecamp are the programs you use on the PC to plan and map out you trips.

Just to be clear, for US road maps, off road camping and hiking in the US, and the ability to create a route on my PC, I need the following:

1 650t
2 North America CityNavigator (DVD)
3 Various mounts for the motorcycle

Thanks
Greg Wildwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 01:41 PM   #5
Twilight Error
Going nowhere slowly
 
Twilight Error's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: The Submarine Mines
Oddometer: 22,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Wildwood View Post
Just to be clear, for US road maps, off road camping and hiking in the US, and the ability to create a route on my PC, I need the following:

1 650t
2 North America CityNavigator (DVD)
3 Various mounts for the motorcycle

Thanks
Correct. That lineup will do what you want it to.

A 24k series map has more detail (in theory), but the 100k series map in the 650T is pretty good.
__________________
If you're all about the destination, take a fucking flight.
Twilight Error is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 08:19 AM   #6
Greg Wildwood
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: Wildwood, Missouri USA
Oddometer: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twilight Error View Post
Correct. That lineup will do what you want it to.

A 24k series map has more detail (in theory), but the 100k series map in the 650T is pretty good.
I bought and received all of the above. I loaded theCity Navigator DVD onto my PC and the Garmin site required my 650t attached and (i guess) proceeded to update the map. The site said complete after about a 2 hour download. My questions (please):

1 When I use a "Where To" the unit says there are no active maps. Where are the maps I just loaded?

2 When the unit is connected to the PC it shows that connection symbol on the unit but otherwise does not appear active. Is this normal.

3 The 650t manual is very basic and does not discuss maps and routing very well (at least to me). Can you suggest another source of information/knowledge?

Thanks

Best
Greg Wildwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 12:48 PM   #7
Twilight Error
Going nowhere slowly
 
Twilight Error's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: The Submarine Mines
Oddometer: 22,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Wildwood View Post
I bought and received all of the above. I loaded theCity Navigator DVD onto my PC and the Garmin site required my 650t attached and (i guess) proceeded to update the map. The site said complete after about a 2 hour download. My questions (please):

1 When I use a "Where To" the unit says there are no active maps. Where are the maps I just loaded?

2 When the unit is connected to the PC it shows that connection symbol on the unit but otherwise does not appear active. Is this normal.

3 The 650t manual is very basic and does not discuss maps and routing very well (at least to me). Can you suggest another source of information/knowledge?

Thanks

Best
1. You've got to 'turn on' the maps in the GPS itself:
setup
map
map information
tap the map product you loaded in to enable it.
Back out to the main menu.

2. Yes. The GPS will not display anything but the USB interface logo while its connected to the computer. If you're using a Windows system, you should see the Montana show up as a drive in "my computer". If you've got an SD card in the slot, that will show up as well.

3. The big Montana thread is pretty good, as is Garmin's online documentation.
__________________
If you're all about the destination, take a fucking flight.
Twilight Error is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 02:12 PM   #8
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Wildwood View Post
I bought and received all of the above. I loaded theCity Navigator DVD onto my PC and the Garmin site required my 650t attached and (i guess) proceeded to update the map. The site said complete after about a 2 hour download. My questions (please):

1 When I use a "Where To" the unit says there are no active maps. Where are the maps I just loaded?

2 When the unit is connected to the PC it shows that connection symbol on the unit but otherwise does not appear active. Is this normal.

3 The 650t manual is very basic and does not discuss maps and routing very well (at least to me). Can you suggest another source of information/knowledge?

Thanks

Best
The City Navigator map may be on your computer but not loaded to the gps yet. Have you used MapInstall to load the maps?

Here's a Garmin page describing how to use MapInstall.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 05:52 PM   #9
Twilight Error
Going nowhere slowly
 
Twilight Error's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: The Submarine Mines
Oddometer: 22,365
Mounts. You've got three basic options:
1. Ram mount and cradle -the ball and socket deal. Doesn't lock, doesnt supply power, the least expensive route.
2. Garmin powered cradle - doesn't lock, but it does supply hard wired power. You've still got to mount it, a Ram ball and arm setup is a good way to go. Not terribly robust, use a tether.
3. The Touratech locking mount. This incorporates the Garmin cradle to supply power and adds a pretty stout lock. Again, you've got to mount it to the bike -directly to a handlebar crossbar is a good method.

I'm using option 1 with my Montana until I can afford option 3.

Software: Mapsource and base camp are Garmin's interfaces. It looks like Mapsource is being phased out, base camp has all the functions and a few other nice-to-have features. Both are free when you get a map set, both will work with topo and street maps.

Maps: the topo series has two versions; 100k and 24k. The 24k series are vastly more detailed than the 100k maps - roughly 4x the detail. These maps are split into regions and cost ~$130 each. They're also capable of auto routing to POIs and street addresses within both the interface and on the gps. Each region will fit on a 4gb micro sd card. For road maps, your options are the City Navigator series. I think they're up to 2012 v3, you'll get a free update if you purchase a new license for an older product. These maps also support auto routing on the computer and gps.
Twilight Error is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 06:04 PM   #10
tnktm OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Oddometer: 52
Wow - thanks so much for the info. I'm wondering if the topo maps will show a road if you come up on it (I want an idea of the area I was in pertaining to local landmarks and also if I could find someone else's route if I put it on a topo map), or are there no roads at all? Also, is the Montana with the topo maps already on it the one with less detail (I would imagine it would be)? Thanks again for all the help.
tnktm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 06:23 PM   #11
Twilight Error
Going nowhere slowly
 
Twilight Error's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: The Submarine Mines
Oddometer: 22,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by tnktm View Post
Wow - thanks so much for the info. I'm wondering if the topo maps will show a road if you come up on it (I want an idea of the area I was in pertaining to local landmarks and also if I could find someone else's route if I put it on a topo map), or are there no roads at all? Also, is the Montana with the topo maps already on it the one with less detail (I would imagine it would be)? Thanks again for all the help.
Yes, roads are on the topo maps. The 650t has the lower resolution map.
Twilight Error is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 07:16 PM   #12
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twilight Error View Post
2. Garmin powered cradle - doesn't lock, but it does supply hard wired power. You've still got to mount it, a Ram ball and arm setup is a good way to go. Not terribly robust, use a tether..
Garmin's Rugged Mount is lockable. It comes with a Torx Security screw and tool. And at $33, it's a steal.

Stovebolt's making a mount for the Montana too, but it looks like it doesn't incorporate the Rugged Mount so it means you need to use USB if you want to power the gps. Not acceptable, IMHO. One of the biggest advantages of the Montana is its power source through the Rugged Mount.

And any mount system still requires a tether on the gps.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 08:00 PM   #13
levain
STILL Jim Williams
 
levain's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Providence, RI
Oddometer: 6,877
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Garmin's Rugged Mount is lockable. It comes with a Torx Security screw and tool. And at $33, it's a steal.
+1.

I use it with an Adaptiv Mount.
It's a really deluxe version of a RAM mount. Rather than the big old knob it tightens with an allen wrench.

I figure my new Montana is just as secure with this setup as it ever was with the Touratech locking mount I used on my zumo. It works, but it's kinda cheesy truth be told. With my setup, you can get the GPS by a) having the correct small torx wrench or b) have the correct allen key. If you have that, you can get the whole mount, but then you also need something sharp to cut the cable out. Stealing a GPS is a quickie snatch & grab situation. I think it's pretty secure.
__________________
Click Here!
2012 Triumph Tiger 800 XC
2008 Yamaha WR250R
1971 Lambretta DL

levain screwed with this post 10-02-2012 at 11:55 AM
levain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 04:43 AM   #14
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by levain View Post
+1.

I use it with an AdaptivMount™ Handlebar Gadget Mount
It's a really deluxe version of a RAM mount. Rather than the big old knob it tightens with an allen wrench.

I figure my new Montana is just as secure with this setup as it ever was with the Touratech locking mount I used on my zumo. It works, but it's kinda cheesy truth be told. With my setup, you can get the GPS by a) having the correct small torx wrench or b) have the correct allen key. If you have that, you can get the whole mount, but then you also need something sharp to cut the cable out. Stealing a GPS is a quickie snatch & grab situation. I think it's pretty secure.
I fixed your link to the Adaptiv mount. It's not cheap at $85.

I used RAM parts but got rid of the knob and used a self locking nut instead to make it a little harder to steal.

__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 02:17 PM   #15
abhibeckert
Beastly Adventurer
 
abhibeckert's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Cairns, Australia
Oddometer: 1,432
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
And any mount system still requires a tether on the gps.
+1

I was lazy, i don't need a tether for riding down smooth highway roads! Even during the hardest trail riding and jumps I've ever done the quick release never failed.

Then one day I the guy sitting behind me at a traffic light walked up and told me I dropped something 2 minutes earlier... doh!
__________________
We're building a community to help noobs choose the right oil: Stack Exchange's Proposed Motorcycle Community
abhibeckert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014