ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-28-2012, 11:28 AM   #1
Rockwell OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Rockwell's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Ontario
Oddometer: 646
Wire Harness Routing on a 2007 990?

I am trying to go from my notes and photos to determine the routing of the entire wire harness (relative to the frame and other parts), but it's proving to be a bit difficult. I've labelled each connector and know where everything goes, I'm just not certain about some of the exact routing.

Is there any good resource/link for this?
__________________
not all those who wander are lost | two earthlings ride around the world
Home | Photo Blog | The Route | The Bike | About Us | Participate!
Rockwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 05:39 PM   #2
Kenbike
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: South of the big lake
Oddometer: 614
The service manual is very detailed, it would help.
__________________
Current Bikes: 2012 Yamaha Tenere, 2010 Vespa 300 Super scooter ( hers), 2011 Blur 220i (his)
Kenbike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 06:51 PM   #3
Rockwell OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Rockwell's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Ontario
Oddometer: 646
I've skimmed through the service manual already, but there's nothing regarding physical routing of the wires.

I've gone from memory, photos, and my notes and I have most things routes and connected. Today was mostly a write-off as I am recovering from a Halloween party night.
__________________
not all those who wander are lost | two earthlings ride around the world
Home | Photo Blog | The Route | The Bike | About Us | Participate!
Rockwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 12:52 AM   #4
KTMADV
Hammer Down
 
KTMADV's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Willows Ca
Oddometer: 163
I just removed a 2007 ktm 990 adv wire harness off my bike. I labeled everything when I removed harn8fess. I can help .
__________________
Ceasar Vasquez
KTMADV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 07:49 AM   #5
Rockwell OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Rockwell's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Ontario
Oddometer: 646
I also labelled everything. It's not completely necessary since the repair manual lists all of the connectors. My issue was more a matter of where exactly the wires ran in relation to the frame and other components. I came to the conclusion that is didn't matter too much as long as I can safely get each connector to where it is supposed to go without obstructing other components that will be mounted later (radiator, tanks, etc.). Hopefully, it will work out OK. There are two main runs, one down each side of the engine. The right side is for the rear break and ABS stuff, and the left is for the rear exhaust O2 sensor, rear cylinder spark plug, etc.

I am removing the SAS stuff, which will clear out some much-needed space inside. I probably should remove the charcoal cannister as well while I am in there.
__________________
not all those who wander are lost | two earthlings ride around the world
Home | Photo Blog | The Route | The Bike | About Us | Participate!
Rockwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 08:50 AM   #6
geometrician
let's keep going...
 
geometrician's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: West-By-God Virginia
Oddometer: 1,023
Cool2 Take Your Time

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenbike View Post
The service manual is very detailed, it would help.
No it isn't!

KTM NA has been well aware of the fact their manuals have NO wire routing diagrams, and have asked KTM Austria to produce diagrams & photos which will be used to update the CD-ROM's and the site KTM has for (dealership) service technicians.

funny, I remember 30yrs ago when I got my first factory service manual and while looking at the chapter detailing the routing of wires, cables & hoses from every possible angle, thought "Why would anyone need that? It's obvious, isn't it?"

heh heh, well, no, not always

Some manufacturers have a label wrapped around the main wiring harness that is aligned on a specific part of the frame to help when you're putting an entire harness back on a bike. We don't have this- so it's trial & error fitting.

I actually got a good bit more slack and reduced stretching & abrasions by carefully re-adjusting (and when needed re-routing) the harness (after taking 100 pictures before I took it apart!). Keep everything loose until you're satisfied with things. As most nylon cable (zip) ties are long enough I will double the wrap in some places, or run a single loop around the harness and two around the frame (or vice-versa) so it holds the harness in place but doesn't crush it directly against the frame (or other components). Since we're usually cutting several inches off each tie when we're done it makes sense to get all the "use" out of the plastic we paid for!

This is also a good time to remove safety relays, shunt the 2nd/3rd gear sensor wires, etc
__________________
Britt
'06 KTM 950 Adv 'S'
'03 KTM 250 EXC
'87 KLR650 - <200K miles "Like the Energizer Bunny, just keeps going & going..."
geometrician is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 09:21 AM   #7
Rockwell OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Rockwell's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Ontario
Oddometer: 646
Quote:
Originally Posted by geometrician View Post
This is also a good time to remove safety relays, shunt the 2nd/3rd gear sensor wires, etc
Can you elaborate on this or provide a link?
__________________
not all those who wander are lost | two earthlings ride around the world
Home | Photo Blog | The Route | The Bike | About Us | Participate!
Rockwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 06:54 PM   #8
BIGCOD
the desert ninja
 
BIGCOD's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Darwin, Australia
Oddometer: 156
acc wires

Can someone tell me how to identify the acc wires behind the head light so I can wire my gps in?? I plan to have a look once my custom gps bracket is finished later this week
BIGCOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 07:06 PM   #9
Rockwell OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Rockwell's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Ontario
Oddometer: 646
This is from my repair manual:


If you have the same bike, you'll want to look for the red/black wire for ACC2 and the red/yellow wire for ACC1.
__________________
not all those who wander are lost | two earthlings ride around the world
Home | Photo Blog | The Route | The Bike | About Us | Participate!
Rockwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 08:09 PM   #10
BIGCOD
the desert ninja
 
BIGCOD's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Darwin, Australia
Oddometer: 156
ok thanks, mine is an 08 990 and apparently there are conections available from the acc fuses behind the headlight in the wiring loom?
BIGCOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 06:03 AM   #11
Rockwell OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Rockwell's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Ontario
Oddometer: 646
Both of those connections, ACC1 and ACC2, go back to the main fuse block (10A fuses) in the glove compartment on my wiring schematic. I'm not too sure where the actual physical connection point is for these two (maybe behind the headlight?). I'll have to look next time I get to working on my bike. I'm taking a few days off of rebuilding the entire bike while I wait for my TuneECU cables.
__________________
not all those who wander are lost | two earthlings ride around the world
Home | Photo Blog | The Route | The Bike | About Us | Participate!
Rockwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 03:09 PM   #12
DSM8
Where fun goes to die....
 
DSM8's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Glendora, Ca
Oddometer: 3,594
Maybe this will help

This is from when I went from EFI to carbs, I took many many pictures of the removal process for the 990 harness. Same model year.

Scroll through them and hope it helps with what you need.

http://dsm8.smugmug.com/Motorcycles/...6311&k=KCrZmB5
__________________
DSM8 - A different kind of mean
SQL > SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3
http://share.findmespot.com/shared/f...d5LbKWMz6cHxaH
DSM8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 03:16 PM   #13
Rockwell OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Rockwell's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Ontario
Oddometer: 646
Thanks. I got most of everything routed from the photos I took and from memory of when I disassembled it. I'm sure my routing is not exactly the same as before I stripped it down, but everything seems to be where it should be as I have most everything connected now.

Going to be finishing up this weekend. My TuneECU cables have shipped, and hopefully I'll have them by next week.

I've recently been learning 3DS Max (which is a 3D modelling program) and I am thinking about making a 3D model of the bike and its wire routing (if I ever get the time). It should come in handy for others in the future.
__________________
not all those who wander are lost | two earthlings ride around the world
Home | Photo Blog | The Route | The Bike | About Us | Participate!
Rockwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 04:27 AM   #14
BIGCOD
the desert ninja
 
BIGCOD's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Darwin, Australia
Oddometer: 156
wired in the gps today, it was very easy with both acc connections easy to pick behind the headlight and one was even labelled.
A wiring diagramme certinally helps thou!
BIGCOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 06:13 AM   #15
Rockwell OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Rockwell's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Ontario
Oddometer: 646
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSM8;19949372[url
http://dsm8.smugmug.com/Motorcycles/Modifications/990-EFI-to-Carbs/14555515_Qk3Q88#!i=1081596311&k=KCrZmB5[/url]
At first, I didn't notice that there were several pages of photos. I still have to run all the cables and wires to the handlebars, so this will coe in handy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGCOD View Post
wired in the gps today, it was very easy with both acc connections easy to pick behind the headlight and one was even labelled.
A wiring diagramme certinally helps thou!
Also, unless I am missing something, it looks like ACC1 is connected directly through the 10A fuse to the battery, which means that anything connected to this will drain the battery when the bike is not running. ACC2 is connected through a 10A fuse and through the light relay, so it is only powered when they key is in and turned.
__________________
not all those who wander are lost | two earthlings ride around the world
Home | Photo Blog | The Route | The Bike | About Us | Participate!
Rockwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014