ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-28-2012, 04:20 AM   #1
Britome OP
Get Free
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Oddometer: 1,027
GSA GPS outlet help?

I just bought the bmw part used to plug into the adapter under the front beak in order to power my gps. I'm a bit confused by the non color coded wires.all three are yellow. I'm also having a hard time finding a thread on this. Can someone point me in the right direction?
Britome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 05:32 AM   #2
Timthai
Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Oddometer: 40
There are small numbers on both ends of the wires.
3 is positive, 1 is earth and 2 is unused.
I presume you have a power adapter for your GPS, don't connect these wires directly to your GPS unless it's designed for 12v input. I have a Garmin bare wire power supply (fused), but there's also a Garmin part that is a direct USB connector with no power supply inline... Be careful.
The connector is connected via the ignition circuit.
Cheers.
__________________
I'm getting too old for this... Not!
___________________________________
2012 R1200GS
2011 Multistrada (gone to heaven RIP)
2010 Vulcan 900
Timthai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 05:36 AM   #3
LaurelPerryOnLand
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Oddometer: 3,258
For future readers of the thread...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Britome View Post
I just bought the bmw part used to plug into the adapter under the front beak in order to power my gps. I'm a bit confused by the non color coded wires.all three are yellow. I'm also having a hard time finding a thread on this. Can someone point me in the right direction?
The OP is referring to this: BMW calls it a REPAIR CONNECTOR

The 'numbers' of the wires are printed near the connector...about 1/4" from it...as shown in the picture.

Photobucket

LaurelPerryOnLand screwed with this post 11-28-2012 at 06:20 AM
LaurelPerryOnLand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 09:31 AM   #4
capeklr
Gnarly Adventurer
 
capeklr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Cape Town
Oddometer: 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by LaurelPerryOnLand View Post
The OP is referring to this: BMW calls it a REPAIR CONNECTOR

The 'numbers' of the wires are printed near the connector...about 1/4" from it...as shown in the picture.

Does anybody have a part number on this for me please?
capeklr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 06:15 AM   #5
Marki_GSA
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Scotland
Oddometer: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by LaurelPerryOnLand View Post
The OP is referring to this: BMW calls it a REPAIR CONNECTOR
Photobucket
That's the cable with the numbers printed on it. If you look at the pictures you can just about make out the writing.

Just for information sake 2 isn't unused, it carries a signal from the speed sensor. Very handy if you ever want to install an aftermarket electronic cruise control.
Marki_GSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 06:54 AM   #6
Britome OP
Get Free
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Oddometer: 1,027
You guys are awesome. Thank you. I guess my 47 year old eyes are getting worn down. Father Time is a bitch.

I'm taking this into my garmin Montana cradle. Are you saying I need to put a fuse between this plug and the cradle? I thought that wasn't needed when going off that plug under the beak.
Britome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 07:14 AM   #7
Marki_GSA
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Scotland
Oddometer: 363
No you don't need a fuse on that connection
Marki_GSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 03:44 AM   #8
Britome OP
Get Free
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Oddometer: 1,027
I carefully wired everything up last night and no juice. Bummer.

I've checked obvious potential snags and am stumped. Any troubleshooting ideas you have would be greatly appreciated.
Britome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 05:49 AM   #9
Disco Dean
Beastly Adventurer
 
Disco Dean's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: The Great White North
Oddometer: 1,182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Britome View Post
I carefully wired everything up last night and no juice. Bummer.

I've checked obvious potential snags and am stumped. Any troubleshooting ideas you have would be greatly appreciated.
Did you wire it to the unit to test? You won't get a signal from the pins with the canbus...

Also - was the key in and turned on? Again since this plug is part of the canbus there is a auto turn off from the computer to avoid draining the system - so again, it will not be on unless you turn on the key and even then will auto shut-off after a few minutes (5 mins??)

Try that.
__________________
youmoveyou

As your attorney, I advise you to buy a motorcycle. How else can we cover a thing like this righteously?
Disco Dean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 03:55 AM   #10
TuefelHunden
Studly Adventurer
 
TuefelHunden's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Oddometer: 587
I'm not a Can-Bus fan and a bit of a control freak. I like to control when my GPS is on and off. That's one of the main reasons I put a fuzeblock in and run my GPS off of it.
__________________
Old, but not Dead
TuefelHunden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 06:04 AM   #11
Timthai
Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Oddometer: 40
Did you check with a meter or test probe that you had power at the wires before you connected them to the unit?
If not, you have the added complexity of not knowing whether it's the canbus, your connection, your GPS cradle, or your GPS.
I metered the bare wires first so I was sure I had power and correct polarity. It worked perfectly once I connected it.
A little more information on what you know is working and what is not might be helpful.
Cheers.
__________________
I'm getting too old for this... Not!
___________________________________
2012 R1200GS
2011 Multistrada (gone to heaven RIP)
2010 Vulcan 900
Timthai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 10:26 AM   #12
Multiplicity
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Location: Nor-Cal
Oddometer: 172
One is ground and one is 12 volts. Use a test light with the key on to find the 12 volt supply wire.
Wire it to the necessary circuit for the GPS The 3rd wire isn't used and has no terminal inside the bikes plug.
Multiplicity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 10:35 AM   #13
Britome OP
Get Free
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Oddometer: 1,027
Thx everyone... Duh! Regardless of how careful I was marking the microscopic numbered wires I must have had them crossed. I reconnected old wires along with touching the plug. My fuse blew so I switched my yellow wires and voila. All fixed and working with no damage. I love this site!
Britome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 11:37 PM   #14
RJP3579
Gnarly Adventurer
 
RJP3579's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Pasadena, Md
Oddometer: 109
On my plug, the numbers are stamped on the white plastic connector right where the yellow wires enter. They are stamped into the plastic connector, little hard to read at least for us old folks. I just connected my Zumo to that connector even though I have had the plug sitting around for about a year. I procrastinate.
__________________
Rick
'09 R1200GS - Namibia Orange
'04 BMW R1150RT - Silver (Traded in)
'97 BMW R850R (Gone but not forgotten)
RJP3579 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 09:36 AM   #15
LaurelPerryOnLand
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Oddometer: 3,258
part number...??

83300413585 as shown in the picture...

http://www.maxbmwmotorcycles.com/fic...ts=83300413585
LaurelPerryOnLand is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014