ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-29-2012, 05:53 PM   #1
wjrudo OP
homemade
 
wjrudo's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Two Harbors, MN
Oddometer: 117
Fuel strip fix?

I've been diving into this problem for a while and may be able to provide a fix. I'd like to get an idea what you've been paying for a replacement strips, if the strips come as an assembly(plastic support, wires, any other items in the tank, etc.) Labor, if it requires resetting the system, etc. Any pics would be helpful. I have a faulty strip in my '07 and have removed it just to look, but haven't bothered to replace it or get a price or anything. The fix would be a direct replacement strip made by an aircraft fuel system manufacturer, built to my specs. Just tossing this out there to see what response I get. Thanks.
wjrudo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 06:38 PM   #2
scooteraug02
Dog Rancher
 
scooteraug02's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Oddometer: 4,256
It looks like it is $144.32 Mine was fixed under warranty and gets a 2 year warranty for that repair.

__________________
scooteraug02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 07:57 PM   #3
Davis53
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Oddometer: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by scooteraug02 View Post
It looks like it is $144.32 Mine was fixed under warranty and gets a 2 year warranty for that repair.

Is the strip number ten?
__________________
Northern California
R1200GSA
DR650
R90/6
TW200
KTM300EXC
KDX200
Davis53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 02:18 PM   #4
Callisto224
Studly Adventurer
 
Callisto224's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 604
Yes it's number 10 in the drawing. I'm on my 3rd one now (my original went bad this summer). They've been covered under warranty and, according to my dealer (BMW Motorcycles of SE Michigan ), they will continue to be covered under warranty.
__________________
Callisto224


2009 1200GS
Callisto224 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 08:00 PM   #5
jzeiler
ADWrencher
 
jzeiler's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Hazel Green, AL
Oddometer: 108
You can continue to have your dealer replace them under warranty or you can fix them yourself -on the bike with $3.50 tool.

Just zap the two middle pins in the fuel flange four pin connector with a scripto piezo electric lighter. Disconnect the connector and stick the opened end into the flange connector and click it two or three times. The sensor element in the strip is not as flexible as it should be and develops fractures causing an open circuit.

The momentary high voltage arc from the lighter travels the length of the sensor substrate and fuses it back together. I am on my first strip and it failed two weks ago. After zapping it it has worked for two tank fulls.

Note that during the first fill up the Miles to Empty function will re-calibrate itself and be back to normal after about 40 miles of driving.
__________________
John
2009 R1200GS
2005 K1200LT
K4AN
jzeiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 04:08 AM   #6
WOLVERINE
Keep her pinned!
 
WOLVERINE's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: West of Sin City!
Oddometer: 615
Quote:
Originally Posted by jzeiler View Post
You can continue to have your dealer replace them under warranty or you can fix them yourself -on the bike with $3.50 tool.

Just zap the two middle pins in the fuel flange four pin connector with a scripto piezo electric lighter. Disconnect the connector and stick the opened end into the flange connector and click it two or three times. The sensor element in the strip is not as flexible as it should be and develops fractures causing an open circuit.

The momentary high voltage arc from the lighter travels the length of the sensor substrate and fuses it back together. I am on my first strip and it failed two weks ago. After zapping it it has worked for two tank fulls.

Note that during the first fill up the Miles to Empty function will re-calibrate itself and be back to normal after about 40 miles of driving.
Any chance you could post a pic of the lighter. How do you set it up to the strip? Are you saying you just have to get it close not actually in contact with the terminals?
Would a replacement BBQ ignition with the end pressed against the terminals do the trick?
__________________
If you think you're free, there's no chance of escape!

2008 R1200GSA
WOLVERINE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 08:11 AM   #7
jzeiler
ADWrencher
 
jzeiler's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Hazel Green, AL
Oddometer: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by WOLVERINE View Post
Any chance you could post a pic of the lighter. How do you set it up to the strip? Are you saying you just have to get it close not actually in contact with the terminals?
Would a replacement BBQ ignition with the end pressed against the terminals do the trick?
It would be I don't appear to have a high enough odometer count to post photo attachments (or at least I haven't figured it out yet). But I found this : http://www.instructables.com/id/Scri...hter-Teardown/

Just carry through to step 5 pull the hose and the little white block where the hose is and put it back together. This will allow you spark with impunity and create no flame. Look at the other end - it should be round with little tabs bent inward. Bend them out with some small pliers. You are now ready to zap the strip.

If you do it on bike (use a full tank just to be safe as the strip is completely submerged when the tank is full) just unplug the cable with the four wires from the fuel flange. The sensor pins are female in that connector and male on the fuel flange. Stick the end of the lighter in the center of the fuel flange connector ( make sure you don't have a fuel leak ). And pull the trigger a few times. Hook the connector back up and start the bike. You should see a fuel level reading within a minute or two.

If you do it off bike the stip has a female connector and you should find some pins to stick in the two center holes (small sraight pins will work) the place the tip of the lighter over the pins and pull away. If you have a meter you can check to see if you were successful before you re-install the strip. Just measue the resitance on those two pins and you should see about 2.7 k ohms. If not zap again.
__________________
John
2009 R1200GS
2005 K1200LT
K4AN

jzeiler screwed with this post 12-08-2012 at 02:44 PM
jzeiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 11:27 AM   #8
Strong Bad
n00balicious
 
Strong Bad's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Oddometer: 3,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by jzeiler View Post
It would be I don't appear to have a high enough odometer count to post photo attachments (or at least I haven't figured it out yet). But I found this : http://www.instructables.com/id/Scri...hter-Teardown/

Just carry through to step 5 pull the hose and the little white block where the hose is and put it back together. This will allow you spark with impunity and create no flame. Look at the other end - it should be round with little tabs bent inward. Bend them out with some small pliers. You are now ready to zap the strip.

If you do it on bike (use a full tank just to be safe as the strip is completely submerged when the tank is full) just unplug the cable with the four wires from the fuel flange. The sensor pins are female in that connector and male on the fuel flange. Stick the end of the lighter in the center of the fuel flange connector ( make sure you don't have a fuel leak ). And pull the trigger a few times. Hook the connector back up and start the bike. You should see a fuel level reading within a minute or two.

If you do it off bike the stip has a femal connector and you should find some pins to stick in the two center holes (small sraight pins will work) the place the tip of the lighter over the pins and pull away. If you have a meter you can check to see if you were successful before you re-install the strip. Just measue the resitance on those two pins and you should see about 2.7 k ohms. If not zap again.
I too would like to see a pic of exactly the lighter is hooked up to the strip.

You don't post pics as attachments on this site no matter what your "mileage" is . You use a free file sharing host like Photobucket.com. You upload your pic to the "image host" and then copy and paste the image code from the host to your post here. Fast easy and no cost.
__________________
"I couldn't wait for success, so I went ahead without it."
Strong Bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 02:50 PM   #9
jzeiler
ADWrencher
 
jzeiler's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Hazel Green, AL
Oddometer: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by Strong Bad View Post
I too would like to see a pic of exactly the lighter is hooked up to the strip.

You don't post pics as attachments on this site no matter what your "mileage" is . You use a free file sharing host like Photobucket.com. You upload your pic to the "image host" and then copy and paste the image code from the host to your post here. Fast easy and no cost.
OK I will go shoot some pics and set up an account to post them with. Thanks.

Lighter



Bend the tabs out



Simulated fuel strip connector (use your imagination as I was not pulling out of the tank) with small wires inserted into the center two pins.


Put the wires into the end of the lighter and pull the trigger.




OK The shots are a bit big and so is the end of the lighter it really does not fit well into the fuel flange connector but you could still do it with some small brass tubing slipped over the male pins to bring them up and out of the connector for zapping.

Looks like the best way to do this is to remove the strip from the tank and zap it.
__________________
John
2009 R1200GS
2005 K1200LT
K4AN

jzeiler screwed with this post 12-16-2012 at 07:44 PM
jzeiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 08:30 PM   #10
deciacco
Adventurer
 
deciacco's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Franklin, TN
Oddometer: 19
How long does it last

Just did this today on my 09 GS. This was my second failed strip. The first time it was the original and it left me stranded. I was using the trip odometer as well and I knew I was close, but since the light hadn't come on, I thought I had enough to get where I was going. This time it first told me I had a full tank when it was practically empty. On the next restart it simply went to no bars and yellow triangle. It's only been a couple of months since the new strip, so I'm well under warranty, but I thought I'd give this a try first.

Zapped it while on the bike...have to admit I was a bit nervous to pull the trigger. It seemed to have worked as the bars are back and no more flashing triangle. I havent had time to ride it, but I'll report back. I noticed I get a reading of 2.49ohms from the two center leads. I siphoned out a bit of gas to see if it made a difference and sure enough if I take out some gas it drops a few bars...when I put it back the bars come back. It's not an instant reading, but if I changed the amount of gas and then cycled the key on and off, after a little bit the reading on the lcd would update.

Those of you who have doen this, how long was it before the strip died again? Does it seem to be a one time deal or do we need to keep our zappers with us?
__________________
2009 BMW R1200GS
deciacco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 07:25 AM   #11
cjack
Studly Adventurer
 
cjack's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Illinois
Oddometer: 848
Quote:
Originally Posted by deciacco View Post
Just did this today on my 09 GS.
snip
Zapped it while on the bike...have to admit I was a bit nervous to pull the trigger. It seemed to have worked as the bars are back and no more flashing triangle. I havent had time to ride it, but I'll report back. I noticed I get a reading of 2.49ohms from the two center leads. I siphoned out a bit of gas to see if it made a difference and sure enough if I take out some gas it drops a few bars...when I put it back the bars come back. It's not an instant reading, but if I changed the amount of gas and then cycled the key on and off, after a little bit the reading on the lcd would update.

Those of you who have doen this, how long was it before the strip died again? Does it seem to be a one time deal or do we need to keep our zappers with us?
2.49K ohms right?
__________________
My other bike is a BMW
Jack
RA & MOA #224
cjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 11:33 AM   #12
Condolini
Fountain of useless info
 
Condolini's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Behind the Cheddar Curtain
Oddometer: 2,016
Mine is an early build '06, doesn't have the strip. Cost almost $700 to fix it, not covered by warranty. Dealer had the strip, didn't have what mine needed. Oh we'll, I have a functioning fuel gauge for the first time in 4 years.
Condolini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 03:40 PM   #13
acejones
Beastly Adventurer
 
acejones's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: MS. Gulf Coast
Oddometer: 4,660
Quote:
Originally Posted by Condolini View Post
Mine is an early build '06, doesn't have the strip. Cost almost $700 to fix it, not covered by warranty. Dealer had the strip, didn't have what mine needed. Oh we'll, I have a functioning fuel gauge for the first time in 4 years.
If you had known when you bought it that you would have to pay $ 175 a year for a functioning fuel guage would you have thought that to be a good deal ?
__________________
I got tired of being here, so now I'm there
acejones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 03:25 PM   #14
roadtrip22
Gnarly Adventurer
 
roadtrip22's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Apex, NC
Oddometer: 333
I have a 2008 GSA. I was informed that my fuel strip had to be programmed to the bike and a simple plug an play was not an option. Was I mis-informed or can a gs911 perform this task??
roadtrip22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 04:33 PM   #15
jzeiler
ADWrencher
 
jzeiler's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Hazel Green, AL
Oddometer: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by roadtrip22 View Post
I have a 2008 GSA. I was informed that my fuel strip had to be programmed to the bike and a simple plug an play was not an option. Was I mis-informed or can a gs911 perform this task??
All I can say is that when I "repaired" my old strip (2009 GS) and I filled the tank my MTE read 163 instead of the normal 225. It counted up as I drove the first 39 miles and when it got to 205 it started counting down again. Sounds like it was re-calibrating itself. I will report again when it hits the low fuel warning and compare what that to what it used to be as well at the MTE on the next fill up.

No need to pay $175 - just buy a $3.50 Scripto Lighter and zap your old strip back to life.
__________________
John
2009 R1200GS
2005 K1200LT
K4AN
jzeiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014