User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-23-2013, 10:04 PM   #1
Apxgrndr OP
In the snow

Oddometer: 955
Looking for a carry on bag

I'm sick of using my old MEC backpack as a carry on, time to upgrade to something a little....shinier.

Thinking of this:
http://www.filson.com/products/sport...bag.70266.html

the saddleback leather stuff looks pretty good but a little too pricey IMO.

Any of YFFs have something in carry on size requirements that you would recommend?
Old 01-23-2013, 11:30 PM   #2
vwboomer
Buffoon

Oddometer: 9,327
$300 for a tiny bag?

I have a German military backpack I've been using for 18 years that cost maybe $30.
Lotsa cool buckles and straps!
Old 01-25-2013, 05:59 PM   #3
George Papadopolis
between

Oddometer: 8,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by vwboomer View Post
$300 for a tiny bag?

I have a German military backpack I've been using for 18 years that cost maybe $30.
Lotsa cool buckles and straps!
What year is your KLR?
Old 01-24-2013, 05:56 AM   #4
dbg326
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 142
I use my Chrome messenger bag.. A bit uncomfortable after a while if it's loaded down heavily, but with a light-to-medium load, I find it pretty comfortable. Same bag I use for class, as well as on the bike.
Old 01-24-2013, 06:01 AM   #5
BigEasy
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 1,613
The Filson bag is bomb proof you can't go wrong there with the exception of the spendy factor. You may also want to check Duluth Pack company and J W Hume (they make the Orvis canvas/leather luggage) they make awesome stuff as well. I have a Duluth Pack brief case that's close to 10 years old and aside from some scuffs and fading it's in fine shape.

"Play hard and FLOOR IT" Stevie Ray Vaughan

just remember: the only difference between genius and stupidity is genius has limits
BigEasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 06:27 AM   #6
SR1
In Western NC

Oddometer: 4,318