Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-28-2013, 12:52 PM   #1
AvTech37 OP
n00b

Oddometer: 4
R100R fork swap and other

Hi,
Apologies if this gets posted in the wrong thread.................I'm a complete newbie to ADVrider but not to bikes, specifically BMW's. I'm embarking on a new project and wonder if anyone can short circuit some of my questions...........I'm building a 'cafe racer' using a 1993 R100R as the donor bike and the initial question I have relates to my wish to install USD forks - probably from a GSXR. Now, I'm sure I've seen on one ADV thread somone has already done this...........anyone? I'm after whether or not they did anything to the rake angle?
Overall, my current thinking on the frame / running gear is either R1100 or 1150 swinging arm, USD front forks (750 GSXR?) with 17" front wheel and possibly slight change on rake via purposely made raked yolks (triple tees). In addition, I am looking to raise the engine and brace the frame. I know its completely mad but I will do it eventually. Any comments, positive or negative appreciated.
For what it's worth, I've been riding bikes since 1969 and current run a 1975 R90s, a 1993 R100R (the one to be, er, slightly modified!), a 2003 1150GS and a 2008 HP2 sport. All different and all great fun.
Thanks in anticipation.
AvTech37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 12:58 PM   #2
KhaoSanMan
Airhead

Oddometer: 581
Haven't got any info on the fork swap, but I'm all ears as I may do this in the future. I have seen but cannot find a page that lists just about all the info on just about all the forks and triples out there to help you find the models with the stuff you are after. If I find it I will post it up here but it was a huge list.

For the 1150 swingarm just keep in mind that the rear-wheel will be offset to the left without modifications. You'll have to re-lace the wheel to compensate for that or find another way to account for that.