ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 13 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 02-02-2013, 09:09 PM   #1
twowheelpilot OP
Adventurer
 
twowheelpilot's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Oddometer: 41
Ditching Garmin for android or iphone as GPS

what is keeping riders from ditching their GPS all together for a smartphone?
twowheelpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 09:51 PM   #2
steve_k
Beastly Adventurer
 
steve_k's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Rancho Bernardo (San Diego)
Oddometer: 1,040
Dedicated GPS doesn't need a data plan... Works in areas that phones don't..... Sure I will think of more later.


I tried to use a smartphone as my GPS for a while before buying my Zumo 450 and I just didn't seem to have the features that a good dedicated GPS has such as being able to map your own routes, easily used while riding, waterproof, and so on.

Quote:
Originally Posted by twowheelpilot View Post
what is keeping riders from ditching their GPS all together for a smartphone?
steve_k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 07:36 AM   #3
worwig
Lost in Georgia
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Oddometer: 902
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve_k View Post
Dedicated GPS doesn't need a data plan... Works in areas that phones don't..... Sure I will think of more later.

It amazes me that people cluelessly hang on to this belief.
A smartphone does not need a data place to be used as a GPS. A smartphone as a GPS works well where there is no phone service. It is just a matter of installing the right app.
In fact, most recent smartphones not only have the GPS chip set, they also have a Glonass chip set. Plus as a bonus, they can still give a rough location from the cell towers and WiFi if you are near those. So it is not unusual for them to get an initial location lock must faster then a run of the mill Garmin, and give you 12 or more satellite fixes even in poor sky visibility. Not something you get from a Garmin.

I used to use a Windows phone years ago with a Garmin app. That worked well.
Now I am using an Android phone. I like the ability to choice the app I want to use. I like CoPilot for routing. And I like to use OSMand when just driving around and looking for interesting roads.
And if you do happen to have cell coverage, Google searches can be really handy. And Google maps has a cool feature. I log onto Google maps with my PC at home. I have a number of my own maps stored on Google. For example, I have one called 'places to visit'. I roam around the Google map in the evening on my PC, and put place markers on the map. the next day while out riding, I add a map layer with 'places to visit' on it. I can then go look for these places that I marked on the map. You can easily share those map markups with friends. Admittedly, this does require data, but that is seldom an issue with Verizon.


The disadvantage is that few phones are waterproof. But there ARE waterproof phones.
Most waterproof covers like an Aquabox or such add another layer of glare over the screen, making them hard to see in sunlight.
Other than rainy days, I always just use my Android.
__________________
Hog mountain Weather

worwig screwed with this post 02-03-2013 at 07:44 AM
worwig is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 07:55 AM   #4
kiwi_outdoors
Adventurer
 
kiwi_outdoors's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Oakland, CA
Oddometer: 85
how do you transfer the places?

Quote:
Originally Posted by worwig View Post


I log onto Google maps with my PC at home. I have a number of my own maps stored on Google. For example, I have one called 'places to visit'. I roam around the Google map in the evening on my PC, and put place markers on the map. the next day while out riding, I add a map layer with 'places to visit' on it. I can then go look for these places that I marked on the map.

.
how do you transfer the places between PC at home and the phone?
kiwi_outdoors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 02:06 PM   #5
worwig
Lost in Georgia
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Oddometer: 902
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiwi_outdoors View Post
how do you transfer the places between PC at home and the phone?
For this you need a data plan (or WiFi). It is automatic. Use the same login on your phone as you use on you PC. Your points and tracks are in both places automatically. And you can actually share the data between users if you wish. So you can plan a group ride and share with others if they have a Google login.

And my wife can check Google Latitude at any time to see where I am when I'm riding so she can have super treaty for me when I get home as all good wives are required to do. Free spot like feature.

And latitude keeps a history online. Great to l look back on where you rode last summer from any PC.
__________________
Hog mountain Weather

worwig screwed with this post 02-03-2013 at 06:04 PM
worwig is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 11:21 PM   #6
rickypanecatyl
SE Asia adventure tours
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Oddometer: 1,036
Quote:
Originally Posted by worwig View Post


A smartphone does not need a data place to be used as a GPS. A smartphone as a GPS works well where there is no phone service. It is just a matter of installing the right app.
In fact, most recent smartphones not only have the GPS chip set, they also have a Glonass chip set. Plus as a bonus, they can still give a rough location from the cell towers and WiFi if you are near those. So it is not unusual for them to get an initial location lock must faster then a run of the mill Garmin, and give you 12 or more satellite fixes even in poor sky visibility. Not something you get from a Garmin.
Can someone help out a techno dummy here... Anyone know if the Samsung rugby smart has the chip? I spend about 50% of my time outside of cell phone coverage and it's where GPS is most important to me. When I bring up google maps there I get a message that says something like "no data location available" - is there some setting I can set so I can at least use the GPS chip in the phone even if there is no cell coverage?

(FWIW I just figured out what an "app" was last week... at least I think I know what it is! 8lives I do however know what a sextant is... I must sound pretty old!)
rickypanecatyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 06:57 AM   #7
worwig
Lost in Georgia
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Oddometer: 902
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickypanecatyl View Post
Can someone help out a techno dummy here... Anyone know if the Samsung rugby smart has the chip? I spend about 50% of my time outside of cell phone coverage and it's where GPS is most important to me. When I bring up google maps there I get a message that says something like "no data location available" - is there some setting I can set so I can at least use the GPS chip in the phone even if there is no cell coverage?

(FWIW I just figured out what an "app" was last week... at least I think I know what it is! 8lives I do however know what a sextant is... I must sound pretty old!)
Are you asking if it has a true GPS chip set? Yes it does. You would have to look really hard to find an Android device that does NOT have a GPS chip set.

In your settings, look for 'location services' or something like that. You can turn on the GPS and cell tower locating.

Install the app "GPS status & toolbox". When you run it, it should start popping up the satellites that it is seeing, or tell you why it isn't seeing them.
__________________
Hog mountain Weather
worwig is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 09:15 AM   #8
cug
--
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Sunny California
Oddometer: 4,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickypanecatyl View Post
is there some setting I can set so I can at least use the GPS chip in the phone even if there is no cell coverage?
The GPS knows where you are - it probably has the geolocation coordinates down to 3m exact of where you are. What it can't do on its own is show it to you on a map, because it does not have the map on the phone and normally downloads it via the data connection on demand.

So, what do you need? Basically a software that accesses the geolocation your phone already has and that has build in maps that are stored on the phone so it can show you where you are on that map.

There are a wide variety of free and paid Maps application for Android and iOS. I don't have any experience with your phone or Android in general, but the general idea is the same on Android or iOS: you need an "app" with "offline maps data". Take a look at these:

http://techpp.com/2012/03/09/top-android-map-apps/

Maybe that gives you some ideas. Keep in mind that your phone is on the Android 2.3 "Gingerbread" version of the Android OS, so pretty old but also the most common as far as I know. Make sure that the Maps app actually works with that OS and phone before buying anything (if it's paid). Play around with the free apps and see if you find something that works for you.
cug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 10:03 PM   #9
mpatch
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: N Colorado
Oddometer: 777
There are apps that are pretty damn good, off line maps, GPX import/exporting, routes/tracks etc.. (I like motionx) but the reason I havent dumped my stand alone unit is you need to have power to your phone and there arent really any practical weather/dust proof cases that allow charging AND allow full use of the phone.
mpatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 07:12 AM   #10
10/10ths
Road Trip Fool
 
10/10ths's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Bayou country
Oddometer: 840
All the above....

...plus a dedicated GPS does one thing, and does it very well.

Multi-tasking compromises all functions.

Also, GPS can do loop route mapping.
__________________
1997 Ducati Monster 750

2004 Honda RC51

2011 Suzuki GSX1250FA replaced my '04 Wee 2-14
10/10ths is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 07:30 AM   #11
rjsurfer
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Oddometer: 206
Agreed, but cell phone aps like Google Maps have real time traffic (free), updated maps in real time (no paying yearly subscription fees), now have the ability to store map data and lastly if you lose you're GPS signal which happens quite a lot to me in the city it can rely on Cell phone data/tower info to continue to guide you.

For me the ability to carry just one device that handles phone, GPS, camera, weather, remote emergency locating, video player, etc. is priceless,

My 2610 is gathering dust for the last two years.

Ron
__________________
DRZ 400SM
DL-650 Gone but not forgotten
rjsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 09:33 AM   #12
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 48,077
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjsurfer View Post
Agreed, but cell phone aps like Google Maps have real time traffic (free), updated maps in real time (no paying yearly subscription fees), now have the ability to store map data and lastly if you lose you're GPS signal which happens quite a lot to me in the city it can rely on Cell phone data/tower info to continue to guide you.

For me the ability to carry just one device that handles phone, GPS, camera, weather, remote emergency locating, video player, etc. is priceless,

My 2610 is gathering dust for the last two years.

Ron
The 2610 is like 7 years old tech!

Except for maybe a bit of drop-out in the city, modern GPS units have all that, and are still better than a cell phone IMHO.

A GPS from Garmin, the best IMHO, will run about $150 for a non motorcycle specific unit, and has every feature you could want on it, including an MP3 player. I use a waterproof mount for mine, so I can use my car unit on my bike.




$15 for the mount delivered, and that included the waterproof case.

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 10:26 AM   #13
worwig
Lost in Georgia
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Oddometer: 902
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimVonBaden View Post
$15 for the mount delivered, and that included the waterproof case.
Link???????
__________________
Hog mountain Weather
worwig is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 10:46 AM   #14
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 48,077
Quote:
Originally Posted by worwig View Post
Link???????
The price really went down!

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Waterproof-B...item25746de262

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 11:32 AM   #15
mikesova
Beastly Adventurer
 
mikesova's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Gladwin, Mi
Oddometer: 1,732
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimVonBaden View Post
The 2610 is like 7 years old tech!

Except for maybe a bit of drop-out in the city, modern GPS units have all that, and are still better than a cell phone IMHO.

A GPS from Garmin, the best IMHO, will run about $150 for a non motorcycle specific unit, and has every feature you could want on it, including an MP3 player. I use a waterproof mount for mine, so I can use my car unit on my bike.




$15 for the mount delivered, and that included the waterproof case.

Jim
Have you tested its waterproofness?
__________________
2009 Kawasaki KLX250S
2001 Yamaha TW200 (Wife's bike)
2005 Yamaha FZ6
mikesova is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014