ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-24-2013, 05:45 PM   #1
xsf18cdf OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Location: Weatherford, TX
Oddometer: 94
Question Problem mounting my Motoverland Tail rack....

I was mounting it- very straightforward- 2013 F800. I came to the last bolt and it seemed more snug from the get-go than the others. I finally reached a point that the bolt quit progressing downward into the threads and just kept turning. Did the nutsert inside come loose?.....any ideas?

Thanks,

Gary
xsf18cdf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 05:50 PM   #2
Vandal 62
KCCO
 
Vandal 62's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Wrong side of the tracks, ON Canada
Oddometer: 173
E mail Dave directly at Motooverland first. Best customer service and products I have encountered in a long time. He will help you for sure.

Paul
Vandal 62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 05:52 PM   #3
duffs
It's been useful
 
duffs's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Location: Battersea (London) UK
Oddometer: 1,200
Sounds like something stripped... maybe Dave from MOD can help you?
__________________
Ride reports: Europe 2014 | Alps 2013 | Fryslân 2012
2012 F 800 GS Trophy 2014 R 1200 GS TE

Blog: Gelände Straßetastic! Facebook Tumblr
Ride reports, photos, tips, experiences, general twaddle
duffs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 06:12 PM   #4
xsf18cdf OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Location: Weatherford, TX
Oddometer: 94
I think the nutsert is freespinning. The problem is the bolt will not back out now.
xsf18cdf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 07:33 PM   #5
ebrabaek
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Grand Valley, Colorado
Oddometer: 4,677
You will need to take off the top plastic, so you can gain access to the nut. Most likely the bolt was cross threaded, and the nut is now spinning. You might need to retap the nut after you gain access. When you install the rack again. Begin all 4 bolts just a little before you Torque'em.
__________________


Erling
ebrabaek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 09:43 PM   #6
toowheels
on a mission...
 
toowheels's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Oddometer: 952
Quote:
Originally Posted by xsf18cdf View Post
I was mounting it- very straightforward- 2013 F800. I came to the last bolt and it seemed more snug from the get-go than the others. I finally reached a point that the bolt quit progressing downward into the threads and just kept turning. Did the nutsert inside come loose?.....any ideas?

Thanks,

Gary
Hi Gary just saw your email...and your post so I figured I'd answer here since all the info is here anyhow and it's good for everyone to see.

First off sorry to hear about the problem. I know how much it sucks to go to install something and it goes wrong!

Yes the rivnut/ rivet nuts/ nutserts is the problem.

I've heard about it in maybe 1 in 100 installs.

There have been a few threads on it.

This one has a trick that may work for you:
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=783341

edit**I've just been thinking about the above trick more and before you hammer it down try to leverage the bolt up by the head while you try to unthread the bolt. Maybe the claw end of a hammer if you have the sapce? I'm hoping that by pulling up on the rivnut it will catch enough for you to undo the bolt.**

http://advrider.com/forums/showthrea...hlight=rivnuts

More sources for replacement:
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=712208

Those should give you an idea to help you get it sorted.

DO ask your dealer if they have seen it and if they can help you out.

It shouldn't happen to a new bike!!

When you do get the bolt out check it and let me know if the threads are messed. I'll send you a replacement one.

Also a note to everybody if any bolt stops threading in smoothly stop immediately, back out the bolt and chase the threads. NOT blaming you Gary! Just want to emphasize the relatively fragile nature of the rivnuts.

Please let me know how it works out too.

Dave
P.S. Thanks for buying our parts!!
__________________
Moto Overland [MOD] -Skid Plates, Top racks, Tool Boxes etc for Adventure bikes
www.motooverland.com

toowheels screwed with this post 02-24-2013 at 11:55 PM
toowheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 09:05 AM   #7
xsf18cdf OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Location: Weatherford, TX
Oddometer: 94
Thanks Dave. The bike is due its first service. I'll print this and let him have a go at it.

Thanks,

Gary
xsf18cdf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 09:07 AM   #8
xsf18cdf OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Location: Weatherford, TX
Oddometer: 94
Dave, forgot to ask. It it difficult to replace the rivnut- for the dealer? I'm just wondering if he doesn't warrant it how many stacks of bills I'll be handing over.

Thanks,

Gary
xsf18cdf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 10:19 AM   #9
toowheels
on a mission...
 
toowheels's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Oddometer: 952
Quote:
Originally Posted by xsf18cdf View Post
Dave, forgot to ask. It it difficult to replace the rivnut- for the dealer? I'm just wondering if he doesn't warrant it how many stacks of bills I'll be handing over.

Thanks,

Gary
Hi Gary,

No they are very easy if they have the tool (and rivnut) to do it. They are by no means exclusive to our bike either. BMW use on a lot (all?) models. The biggest challenge will be getting the bolt out. Try the edit I suggested above.

On the links above there are sources to buy them and make your own tool to install them. You don't have to buy the tool! The linked explanations show you exactly how to make one and they work the same way. It's pretty simple really. Very thorough explanations, especially #2:

http://www.aulro.com/afvb/projects-t...tool-pics.html

http://www.fjr1300.info/howto/rivnut-tool.html

http://www.ridgelineownersclub.com/f...%2C+DIY+Rivnut

Good luck!

Dave
__________________
Moto Overland [MOD] -Skid Plates, Top racks, Tool Boxes etc for Adventure bikes
www.motooverland.com
toowheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 10:36 AM   #10
toowheels
on a mission...
 
toowheels's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Oddometer: 952
Yes it's not necessarily a warranty issue. (hey where did itsatdm's post go?)
It could've been the rivnut that was flawed or it could've been the bolt. The bolts do get a rough check when they are put together with the top racks and in my experience it's more to do with the rivnut.

That being said maybe we'll start testing each and every bolt to be sure!

Some dealers are more willing than others so feel it out first.

1. Have they had it happen? (you're "setting the table" here)
2. If so how did they fix it? Do they have the tool? rivnuts?
3. Is it a warranty thing? If not how much will it cost me?

If it costs (too much) and they have the parts :
4. Can I buy the right size rivnut from you?

Then do it yourself.

As I said try to get the bolt out first. Anything you can do to make it fast and easy for the dealer (if you're getting them to do it) will mean less of a headache for them. It's really time they need (want) to charge for.

BTW if you can get the bolt out then try to tap it first, then use the tool to re tighten the rivnut. If that fails (or seems weak) then replace it.

Dave
__________________
Moto Overland [MOD] -Skid Plates, Top racks, Tool Boxes etc for Adventure bikes
www.motooverland.com

toowheels screwed with this post 02-25-2013 at 10:41 AM
toowheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 11:41 AM   #11
Mtl_Biker
Studly Adventurer
 
Mtl_Biker's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Montreal, Canada
Oddometer: 582
Dave,

I haven't installed the top rack and skid plate you sold me yet (picking my bike up on March 8th), but between the beautiful quality finish and design of your products and the exceptional customer service I see you deliver time after time, I must say I am real happy to be among your clients.

Best regards,

Eldor
Mtl_Biker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 09:10 PM   #12
73datsun
Gnarly Adventurer
 
73datsun's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Minneapolis
Oddometer: 287
Guess which dummy just did the same thing?

Brand new bike. Had less then 20mi on it. Went to install my bad ass MotoOverland tail rack, first three bolts went in like butter. Fourth one started to bind. Oh, I'll just give it one more turn.

So after swearing, sweating and twisting, I finally got the bolt out.

Prior to finding this thread, I decided to try to Helicoil. Well that didn't work.

Guess I should have done some digging here, first.

Local hardware store (not a big box), didn't have replacement M8 x 70 (think this was the size) bolts, any other suggestions? I'll look forward to figuring out this rivit nut b.s. when I get back in town.
73datsun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 11:26 AM   #13
toowheels
on a mission...
 
toowheels's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Oddometer: 952
I hate hearing this happening to people!!

Nothing worse than trying to install something new on your bike (new bike no less) and it won't work!!

I visually inspect each bolt and randomly check them with a nut too so I know it's not the hardware.

The front bolts are M8 x 60mm and the rear one M8 x 70mm, both stainless flat head socket cap screws of course.

We get a lot of our hardware from Fastenal so check them out. You can check stock online too for a location near you.

Link to one:
http://www.fastenal.com/web/products...Id=&rfqLineId=

Please email me if you need help/questions!

dave(at)motooverland(dot)com

Dave
__________________
Moto Overland [MOD] -Skid Plates, Top racks, Tool Boxes etc for Adventure bikes
www.motooverland.com
toowheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 12:07 PM   #14
73datsun
Gnarly Adventurer
 
73datsun's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Minneapolis
Oddometer: 287
Great. Fastenall is a Minnesota company. Turns out they have a storefront not far from my house.

The bash guard went on spectacularly. No screw ups there.

Thanks for an excellent product, I really dig your stuff.
73datsun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014