User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-14-2013, 12:06 PM   #1
curiousthomas OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 33
A curious journey - 1

Hey everyone, first post here, please be gentle :)

When I graduated high school I was hungry for adventure. I wanted to drive the perimeter of the US over the summer after my senior year. At the time I allowed my friends and family to talk me out of it. It would be dangerous, and I didn't have the means on my own to make it without their support. I worked that summer (lifeguarding) instead, saving up as much cash as I could before going away to college in the fall of 2003.

I did have the luxury of choosing my focus for higher learning. I chose graphic design... Having developed a love of photography, with an artistic and technologically adaptable brain it seemed like the perfect fit. And it was.

I have been working in the visual arts and communication industry since 2005 and graduated in Portland Oregon in the spring of 2007. I have chosen career over my personal life at every point along the way. That's not to say I'm a hermit... Just that I've been sprinting on that treadmill of life knowing that if I work hard enough good things will happen.

3 months ago I had a breakthrough.

After working for a small, local ad agency here in Olympia Washington for 4 years, I met a person who ran a very successful law firm. He was in need of a marketing director, and offered me nearly double my previous salary to go to work for him. I was ready for the challenge and hungry for the cash so I jumped ship just after thanksgiving 2012.

I had so much to be thankful for.