User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-01-2013, 10:30 PM   #1
GCCR OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 173
Stripped Exhaust Threads

Newbie here. Just started a teardown on a 82 R65. I was in the process of removing the exhaust nuts that were on pretty snug. I shot it with PBR to break them loose. But after a while, when nuts were removed I noticed the threads on the right cylinder were all but gone. Any tips on repairing them? Thanks.

GCCR
GCCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 10:42 PM   #2
Warin
Retired

Oddometer: 1,660
That is a frequent problem .. you should have cut the nuts in half - far cheaper!

See http://www.motobins.co.uk/motobins-hints-and-tips.php scan down for "Exhaust Port Nuts" for a full description.. suggest your read other bits from that site too.

It is possible to repair them ..but lots of $$$.

Google is your friend .. found http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=236601
Warin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 12:43 AM   #3
batoutoflahonda
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 1,362
check it

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=236601

http://www.price.gmxhome.de/BMW-V2-A...p-Details.html

Save lives. Legalize lane sharing.

Cow eyes don't glow.
batoutoflahonda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 10:20 AM   #4
Jim Day
full manic mechanic

Oddometer: 632

You have to respect the elegance and ingenuity of Walter's solution, but though I personally love it, I find his adapter to be well kinda.... Well..... ugly on the bike.

In itself off the bike it's beautiful, on the bike not so much as it doesn't match, looks small and stuck on. A 10 for it's direct simplicity and effectiveness, 6 for aesthetics as they simply do not match the aesthetics of the engine.