ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS Tracks - Oz and Kiwi Land
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-01-2009, 09:02 PM   #1
Nanin OP
Halfozze
 
Nanin's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Valencia-Spain-Europe / Banora Point-NSW-Australia
Oddometer: 321
How to plug a GPS without battery?

Hi there

I'm hoping that somewhere out there is a clever electrician that will be able to give me a cheap advice.

I've got a TTR600 without baterry so, how could I plug my GPS without spend a fortune?????

Thanx in advance

Adios
Nanin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 09:24 PM   #2
slabbie
Adventurer
 
slabbie's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Fremantle Western Australia
Oddometer: 26
For short trips, go buy a small (10-14Amp hour) 12volt sealed gel battery, mount it safely to the bike and power the gps from that, then re-charge it when you get home. On longer runs, install a small solar panel on the bike, like those small pluging to the car gig plug and keep your battery charged.
If there's an alternator on the bike for lights, it might be possible to connect to that and charge the battery that way.
slabbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 09:35 PM   #3
neilaction
Slightly Less Adventurous
 
neilaction's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Perth, WA.
Oddometer: 6,417
I assume the bike has lights?

The lights may be running off an AC only winding off the stator.

If that is the case, I would get a bridge rectifier and a 12 regulator to first covert the AC into DC and then ensure that your voltage is stable.
A couple of capacitors wouldn't go astray either.
Esay and cheap. ($5, maybe 10)

If the lights run off DC then all you will need is a regulator.

Job done

If the GPS has its own battery then you won't need another one.
Just the above.
__________________
If it can't be fixed with a hammer, its probably electrical.
2009 Honda CBF1000, 1980 Suzuki GS1000ST (Aus spec), Dr6fiddy,
neilaction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 12:37 AM   #4
DMME
Old Fart, Older Bike
 
DMME's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Newcastle NSW, ('STRAYIA)
Oddometer: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by neilaction
I assume the bike has lights?

The lights may be running off an AC only winding off the stator.

If that is the case, I would get a bridge rectifier and a 12 regulator to first covert the AC into DC and then ensure that your voltage is stable.
A couple of capacitors wouldn't go astray either.
Esay and cheap. ($5, maybe 10)

If the lights run off DC then all you will need is a regulator.

Job done

If the GPS has its own battery then you won't need another one.
Just the above.
YEP, what ^ said but the capacitors ar a MUST, Vregs tend to oscillate without some. 10uF on input side 1000uf on output should cover Ya
DMME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 12:45 AM   #5
Nanin OP
Halfozze
 
Nanin's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Valencia-Spain-Europe / Banora Point-NSW-Australia
Oddometer: 321
Thanx mates but all that sounds Japanese to me
Nanin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 01:29 AM   #6
neilaction
Slightly Less Adventurous
 
neilaction's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Perth, WA.
Oddometer: 6,417
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nanin
Thanx mates but all that sounds Japanese to me
mmmm If you were a bit closer I'd say, drop round and we will knock it over in under an hour. Probably got everything on hand.

But you're not and you will need a little knowledge to build a small 12v rectifier/ regulator.

Do you have access to some basic tools like a soldering iron and a multimeter?
__________________
If it can't be fixed with a hammer, its probably electrical.
2009 Honda CBF1000, 1980 Suzuki GS1000ST (Aus spec), Dr6fiddy,
neilaction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 01:41 AM   #7
Nanin OP
Halfozze
 
Nanin's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Valencia-Spain-Europe / Banora Point-NSW-Australia
Oddometer: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by neilaction
mmmm If you were a bit closer I'd say, drop round and we will knock it over in under an hour. Probably got everything on hand.

But you're not and you will need a little knowledge to build a small 12v rectifier/ regulator.

Do you have access to some basic tools like a soldering iron and a multimeter?
Hummmmmmmmm Perth.............. I'd love to ride the bike till there, but is only a dream, I've got no time

No mate I don't have the multimeter and the soldering iron, I may have to get one
Nanin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 01:46 AM   #8
Padmei
enamoured
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Nelson New Zealand
Oddometer: 3,419
Does your GPS not have it's own batteries that you can change? Easiest thing is to carry a pack...

Otherwise the next easiest way unless you want to get your soldering boy scout badge is to do what a previous poster said - buy a rechargable 12v battery that you can recharge after the ride & hook up a basic 12v cigarette lighter socket to it. Your GPS should have or you'll be able to obtain a appropriate lead from the gps that fits into the ciggy lighter socket.

The probs with this tho is the weight of the battery & trying to secure it.

If all this is too much just take it round to a mechanic & they'll tell ya how much it'll cost
Padmei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 01:56 AM   #9
Nanin OP
Halfozze
 
Nanin's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Valencia-Spain-Europe / Banora Point-NSW-Australia
Oddometer: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Padmei
Does your GPS not have it's own batteries that you can change? Easiest thing is to carry a pack...
Yes it has got batteries but what I'm trying to avoid is carry spare batteries and as You said I don't want the extra weight of the 12v battery.

Thanx anyway
Nanin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 02:56 AM   #10
gateman
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Norther NSW, Australia
Oddometer: 1,067
I will try not to sound too rude but maps are good stuff. No battery, no wires and menues and shit that gets us old men cranky and they are very light and fit down your shirt to cut out the wind and they dont tell you to turn left into swamps and stuff. They start good fires too hay. GPS cuts out too much simple adventure. They make you look down and your eyes rattle and you fall off or get lost anyway.
Sorry Im a dinosoreississ. Got to go dinner ready its quiche.
gateman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 03:09 AM   #11
bully1
Beastly Adventurer
 
bully1's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Perth west aussie
Oddometer: 3,965
I have a GPS system on both my bikes but still carry a solar powered paper GPS whenever I travel, (nuthin like being able to look at the big picture)
__________________
'02 GSX 1400 outfit........coming together ( slowly )
'06 HUSKY TE510.............no wearing out front tyres ( pity about the rears )
'06 HUSKY TE610............ lots of power on tap
'92 R100GSPD ( modified)...........slow and easy
bully1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 05:04 AM   #12
zatigs
Happy Wanderer
 
zatigs's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Perth Hills
Oddometer: 108
Nanin, I run a Garmin 76 CSx on my TTR, it is wired straight into the park light circuit as is the Acewell digital instrument panel. The instrument panel power supply runs through a filter to take care of spikes but the gps runs as is as I was too lazy to open the wiring loom up again to patch it into the "clean" power from the filter and it has never had an issue.
zatigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 04:09 PM   #13
Nanin OP
Halfozze
 
Nanin's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Valencia-Spain-Europe / Banora Point-NSW-Australia
Oddometer: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by zatigs
Nanin, I run a Garmin 76 CSx on my TTR, it is wired straight into the park light circuit as is the Acewell digital instrument panel. The instrument panel power supply runs through a filter to take care of spikes but the gps runs as is as I was too lazy to open the wiring loom up again to patch it into the "clean" power from the filter and it has never had an issue.
Do You have any photos?

Ta
Nanin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 01:00 AM   #14
zatigs
Happy Wanderer
 
zatigs's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Perth Hills
Oddometer: 108
Flash caused some glare but they do the job.

zatigs screwed with this post 09-04-2009 at 07:56 PM
zatigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 11:47 AM   #15
mt21
Adventurer
 
mt21's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Oddometer: 49
DC power ?

Hi, I need to be able to power my head-light,
which is a LED and only run's on DC power.

Does anyone know were i can take DC power from this bike TTR600 ????


Please help

Regards MT
mt21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014