ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Old's Cool > Airheads
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-02-2011, 06:29 PM   #1
lucky6600 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
lucky6600's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Cromwell CT
Oddometer: 502
81’ Airhead turn signals help needed

The rear turn signals on the 81' R100 is in the process of deleting . The whole rear light section has been re-wired, and only the tail light remained. After that, the front won’t work as well. They will all work again if the rear plugged back in. Looking into the wiring diagrams, it looks like the real section is a stand alone section, and it should make no affect to the rest of the circuit.
I might miss something very easy here, so please show me the light.
lucky6600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 04:19 PM   #2
ween
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Oddometer: 16
the turn signal flasher may require more of a load i.e. the rear bulbs, to flash properly. you can add power resistors to take place of the removed bulbs, or possibly try a different flasher.
mark
ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 06:37 PM   #3
fishkens
Further...
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Oddometer: 5,147
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucky6600 View Post
The rear turn signals on the 81' R100 is in the process of deleting . The whole rear light section has been re-wired, and only the tail light remained. After that, the front won’t work as well. They will all work again if the rear plugged back in. Looking into the wiring diagrams, it looks like the real section is a stand alone section, and it should make no affect to the rest of the circuit.
I might miss something very easy here, so please show me the light.
Are you trying to say that you removed the rear turn signal lamps from the circuit and the front turn signals no longer flash as they did when the rear signals were included in the circuit?

Ween is correct in saying the flasher relay will behave differently when lamps have been removed from the circuit. Cars and motorcycles operated like this for decades. The relay requires the load of all the lamps and a change in flashing frequency doubles as an alert to the operator that a turn signal lamp has burned out.

Just curious, do you intend to operate the bike w/out rear signals?
fishkens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 08:21 PM   #4
lucky6600 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
lucky6600's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Cromwell CT
Oddometer: 502
Yea, after i removed the rear turn lamps, the front turn signals dont work. I thought about the load might be required for the relay to operate. Is there any way to go by pass it?

Yes, the front turn signals are located at the bar end now which will be served as both front and back.
lucky6600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 09:13 PM   #5
fishkens
Further...
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Oddometer: 5,147
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucky6600 View Post

Yes, the front turn signals are located at the bar end now which will be served as both front and back.

Ahhhh....

Okay, bar ends. That makes sense now.

Yes, add resistors or try a different relay. Unfortunately, I've never done this so hopefully others will chime in.

Folks who replace turn signals with LED clusters need to replace the flasher too because the LED's don't have the resistance that a incandescent lamp has. It can be done.
fishkens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 06:12 AM   #6
lucky6600 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
lucky6600's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Cromwell CT
Oddometer: 502
Ya... I put LED units at the bar end for trying to decrease the usage for the juice. This is getting challange for some reasons uh .... LOL
lucky6600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 07:07 AM   #7
Grider Pirate
Beastly Adventurer
 
Grider Pirate's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: LV, NV
Oddometer: 1,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucky6600 View Post
Ya... I put LED units at the bar end for trying to decrease the usage for the juice. This is getting challange for some reasons uh .... LOL
LED units, even if you left the rears intact, don't draw enough current to make the stock flasher unit work. There are electronic flasher units available that work regardless of load.
__________________
Please don't tell Mom I'm a pilot. She thinks I play piano in a whorehouse.

http://griderpirate.smugmug.com/
http://www.youtube.com/my_videos?feature=mhum
Grider Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014