ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-07-2011, 05:48 PM   #31
Bayner
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Penticton, BC
Oddometer: 1,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by YetiGS View Post
He says it's doable. I'm going to send him close up pictures of the connectors when I get home so he can cross-reference them against his supply of BMW connectors and then make up a switch to test. I'll keep y'all posted.
If I was going to try it, I'd look to do the same. Make a switch that just plugs between the stock connectors. No warranty issues, no wiring troubles.
If the computer isn't constantly checking for continuity or has no minimum absolute voltage trigger, you could run into a problem where the brain box assumes the front wheel is locked because it is not seeing a varying signal when you trip a brake switch. I would assume that would not be the case since we are no longer in 1988.

Another effective solution would be to place a switch in the power supply to the ABS pump (if equipped), maybe even the valving depending on how it's wired.

Shielded wiring typically has a metal mesh below the outer plastic skin to reduce electromagnetic interference.
Bayner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 07:19 PM   #32
MonsterJ
I have motopsychosis
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Oddometer: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bayner View Post
Shielded wiring typically has a metal mesh below the outer plastic skin to reduce electromagnetic interference.
Yeti, your bypass switch will be shielded as well, right? Having been an electronics tech on aircraft for 15yrs believe me when I say if something isn't shielded and it should be, expect nothing but headaches and abnormal behavior. A cell phone in your pocket would place it about a foot away from this connection and could really wreak havoc on the inductance signal coming in from the wheel sensor resulting in unpredictable behavior with the ABS while it's on or while you think it's off.
__________________
-Nooner

Temple, TX -> Cape May, NJ -> Mobile, AL -> ECity, NC -> Kodiak, AK -> Mobile, AL -> Sacto, CA -> Cape Cod, MA -> New London, CT -> San Francisco, CA -> Juneau, AK (summer of '13) -> where to next?
MonsterJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 07:51 PM   #33
Motorfiets
Beastly Adventurer
 
Motorfiets's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: North of Jack Daniel's, South of Country Music
Oddometer: 3,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bayner View Post
If I was going to try it, I'd look to do the same. Make a switch that just plugs between the stock connectors. No warranty issues, no wiring troubles.
If the computer isn't constantly checking for continuity or has no minimum absolute voltage trigger, you could run into a problem where the brain box assumes the front wheel is locked because it is not seeing a varying signal when you trip a brake switch. I would assume that would not be the case since we are no longer in 1988.

Another effective solution would be to place a switch in the power supply to the ABS pump (if equipped), maybe even the valving depending on how it's wired.

Shielded wiring typically has a metal mesh below the outer plastic skin to reduce electromagnetic interference.

slow pokes... what do you think I've been doing all night?

p.s. - http://www.maxbmwmotorcycles.com/fic...8&rnd=03192010

__________________
Ben
My Photo's
Motorfiets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 08:59 PM   #34
YetiGS
No Talent Ass Clown
 
YetiGS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 7,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bayner View Post
If I was going to try it, I'd look to do the same. Make a switch that just plugs between the stock connectors. No warranty issues, no wiring troubles.
If the computer isn't constantly checking for continuity or has no minimum absolute voltage trigger, you could run into a problem where the brain box assumes the front wheel is locked because it is not seeing a varying signal when you trip a brake switch. I would assume that would not be the case since we are no longer in 1988.

Another effective solution would be to place a switch in the power supply to the ABS pump (if equipped), maybe even the valving depending on how it's wired.

Shielded wiring typically has a metal mesh below the outer plastic skin to reduce electromagnetic interference.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonsterJ View Post
Yeti, your bypass switch will be shielded as well, right? Having been an electronics tech on aircraft for 15yrs believe me when I say if something isn't shielded and it should be, expect nothing but headaches and abnormal behavior. A cell phone in your pocket would place it about a foot away from this connection and could really wreak havoc on the inductance signal coming in from the wheel sensor resulting in unpredictable behavior with the ABS while it's on or while you think it's off.
It sure doesn't look like shielded wiring does it?

__________________
-Scott-
Semper Fi
'04 BMW R1150GSA, '04 KTM 625 SXC
"You had better bring an extra magazine. Yeti's amped up on weird shit are hard to bring down." Lonestar2112
YetiGS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 09:20 PM   #35
Bayner
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Penticton, BC
Oddometer: 1,457
No it doesn't look like it is. I think the wires would look a bit thicker than that.


edit:
I looked in the Haynes manual and it doesn't indicate shielded wiring for anything but the CANBUS. Of course, who knows how accurate that is...

Bayner screwed with this post 03-07-2011 at 09:26 PM
Bayner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 08:57 PM   #36
Burnszilla
BurnsMoto.com
 
Burnszilla's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Redwood City, California
Oddometer: 1,292
Yeti and I are working on finding the parts. We found one side and just need the other. I would offer two kits. One with a connector to a switch on the frame below the seat or you can just buy the connectors with wires alone and wire it to your own switch anywhere you want on the bike.
Please be patient as I'm on the road for most of March.
Burnszilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 09:10 PM   #37
bodhizafa
How hard can it be?
 
bodhizafa's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Louisville, Co.
Oddometer: 630
This won't mess with the computer? I had a problem with my rear ABS sensor (got hit pretty hard and didn't work after) and it messed with other things, I remember the turn signals not turning off, can't remember what else.
__________________
I'll have one if you do.....
bodhizafa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 09:21 PM   #38
Burnszilla
BurnsMoto.com
 
Burnszilla's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Redwood City, California
Oddometer: 1,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodhizafa View Post
This won't mess with the computer? I had a problem with my rear ABS sensor (got hit pretty hard and didn't work after) and it messed with other things, I remember the turn signals not turning off, can't remember what else.
We will research and test everything before going to market with this. I don't want to break anyone's bike and be sued.
Burnszilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 07:03 AM   #39
Motorfiets
Beastly Adventurer
 
Motorfiets's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: North of Jack Daniel's, South of Country Music
Oddometer: 3,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodhizafa View Post
This won't mess with the computer? I had a problem with my rear ABS sensor (got hit pretty hard and didn't work after) and it messed with other things, I remember the turn signals not turning off, can't remember what else.
with the ABS unplugged the auto-off turn signal feature does not work... weird I know...
__________________
Ben
My Photo's
Motorfiets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 07:42 AM   #40
bodhizafa
How hard can it be?
 
bodhizafa's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Louisville, Co.
Oddometer: 630
Lets cross our fingers and hope this works out
__________________
I'll have one if you do.....
bodhizafa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 11:43 AM   #41
jessehere
Ridin'
 
jessehere's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: Jersey(EXIT 10)
Oddometer: 772
It would be easy to shim out the abs sensor on the front wheel with a few washers. That would fault out the abs. I think the speedo reads the rear wheel sensor. (IIRC) I did it on my F650gs Dakar. It doesnt take much, as the abs sensor gap is very tight. I think it is like 0.4 mm

All you would need is some small washers and a torks driver. easily reversable

jessehere screwed with this post 03-09-2011 at 12:02 PM
jessehere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 05:36 PM   #42
Motoriley
Even my posing is virtual
 
Motoriley's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Deepest darkest burbs of Montreal
Oddometer: 2,650
ABS swutch

Sounds great. Would love to be able to switch the ABS off for a whole day at a time!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnszilla View Post
We will research and test everything before going to market with this. I don't want to break anyone's bike and be sued.
__________________
04 Toyota Sienna, new wipers for 2011!!
Electricity (120 AC), Indoor Plumbing, new kitchen tap for 2010!!!
Color tube TV, Microwave Oven (yes she rotates!),Washer & Dryer,Paved Driveway,
Website - http://www.apormc.com/
Vids - http://www.youtube.com/user/Motoriley?feature=mhum
Motoriley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 01:37 PM   #43
Burnszilla
BurnsMoto.com
 
Burnszilla's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Redwood City, California
Oddometer: 1,292
I may have found the matching connectors. Finding out from 'my guy' if they are the correct ones and if I can purchase them.

Can someone find a good switch that can be easily mounted for this? Or provide me with the diameter of the frame tube below the seat.

Options: Frame tube mount below the seat? Forward mount near the gauges?
Burnszilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 04:24 PM   #44
grndzr0
its Ground Zero
 
grndzr0's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Montana
Oddometer: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motorfiets View Post
with the ABS unplugged the auto-off turn signal feature does not work... weird I know...

From what i have noticed, the auto off blinkers only work over a certain speed. I am assuming that the blinkers use the ABS wheel sensors to tell how fast you are going.
__________________
2010 F800gs (Mine) 2011 F650gs (Wifes)
grndzr0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 05:01 PM   #45
Burnszilla
BurnsMoto.com
 
Burnszilla's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Redwood City, California
Oddometer: 1,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by grndzr0 View Post
From what i have noticed, the auto off blinkers only work over a certain speed. I am assuming that the blinkers use the ABS wheel sensors to tell how fast you are going.
I hardly use my signal lights when dirt riding.
Burnszilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014