ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-31-2006, 08:50 AM   #61
AntonLargiader
Beastly Adventurer
 
AntonLargiader's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Oddometer: 4,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdcyclist
...the Audiovox unit has an upper limit on VSS pulses/mile of 8k.
The GS sensor is probably around 80k per mile. Not even close!!
__________________
Anton Largiader largiader.com BMWRA.org
AntonLargiader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2006, 07:10 PM   #62
daGeeeze
Geeezed lightning
 
daGeeeze's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Baneberry, TN
Oddometer: 1,887
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdcyclist
As I recall, the groove only wraps around the front of the twist grip tube. I suppose if you could make a housing cover with a return cable provision and the tube was groovy enough then a push-pull throttle system could be retrofitted.

This issue irritated me to no end since the Bowden cable box was set up for the return cable but the throttle assembly didn't have any way to make it work. Seems stupid to me...
What about the possibility of just eliminating the BMW throttle grip assembly and buy something designed for a "pure" dirt bike and butting it up against the switchgear on the right grip? I've seen some pretty compact ones but never looked really closely. Definitely though they were double cable.

As a side note there are some cables made for push/pull work but they're heavy thick and expensive. Doubt they'd make for a good solution. I've never had a return ability in my cars and trucks so I wouldn't worry too much about that part.
__________________
"The idea of putting a jet engine on a motorcycle is so stupid it appeals to me." - Jay Leno

Pat aka Geeeze
daGeeeze is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2006, 09:08 PM   #63
Crilly
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Oddometer: 718
The reason I asked about it turning off going down hill is because some of the new bikes turn off the ignition when the throttle is closed. But by the poping of the GS i guess they do not. My Buell and V-rod would shut the cruse control off. Thats is why I went with the proxcimity switch.
Crilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 08:29 PM   #64
rprade
Adventurer
 
rprade's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 65
I know I am late on this thread, but I m working on a cruise control for my K1200S and will be on my soon delivered R1200GSA. I chose the Rostra electronic cruise control to avoid the need for a vacuum accumulator for a vacuum actuator. The K1200S and the R1200GS have a connector near the front of the bike for connection to the GPS accessory. This connector has three wires:

Brown = ground (pin 1)
Blue/Green = TAA (pin 2)
Red/White = switched power (pin 3)

I will be hanging a scope off of the TAA lead next weekend, but I am fairly sure it is a conditioned speed pulse from the ZFE (chassis control module). This would be used by a GPS employing dead reckoning, not currently used by BMW. The Rostra unit also looks at an engine tach pulse and disengages the cruise control in the event of throttle runaway.

The Rostra has all of the electronics and a throttle servo in one module and can be purchased for about $200. Here is a link to Rostra controls website.
__________________
Randy Prade
Aurora, CO
Alaska - Arctic Circle 2007

Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards.
rprade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 08:47 PM   #65
johnjen
Mod-U-Later
 
johnjen's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2001
Location: Seattle
Oddometer: 15,325
This thread has HoW written all over it...

JJ
__________________
The hidden harmony is found with joy, while the obvious brings indifference.
The farther you enter into the Truth the deeper your conviction for truth must be.
There is understanding of the world precisely to the degree that there is understanding of the Self.

WingMakers.com
Collected Works of the WingMakers Volume 1 pg. 590
johnjen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 03:40 AM   #66
AntonLargiader
Beastly Adventurer
 
AntonLargiader's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Oddometer: 4,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by rprade
I will be hanging a scope off of the TAA lead next weekend, but I am fairly sure it is a conditioned speed pulse from the ZFE (chassis control module).
Yes indeed, TAA is a conditioned speed signal. I hadn't realized it was there on the earlier Hexheads but it is. The GS should have it as well.
__________________
Anton Largiader largiader.com BMWRA.org
AntonLargiader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 08:40 AM   #67
daGeeeze
Geeezed lightning
 
daGeeeze's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Baneberry, TN
Oddometer: 1,887
sweet. I'd heard about this but hadn't see details.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rprade
The K1200S and the R1200GS have a connector near the front of the bike for connection to the GPS accessory. This connector has three wires:

Brown = ground (pin 1)
Blue/Green = TAA (pin 2)
Red/White = switched power (pin 3)

I will be hanging a scope off of the TAA lead next weekend, but I am fairly sure it is a conditioned speed pulse from the ZFE (chassis control module). This would be used by a GPS employing dead reckoning, not currently used by BMW. The Rostra unit also looks at an engine tach pulse and disengages the cruise control in the event of throttle runaway.

The Rostra has all of the electronics and a throttle servo in one module and can be purchased for about $200. Here is a link to Rostra controls website.
Great news. Plus I also have that unit already; just no time to install it or expiriment with it. Any plans on cable handling?

Thanks and keep us posted please!
__________________
"The idea of putting a jet engine on a motorcycle is so stupid it appeals to me." - Jay Leno

Pat aka Geeeze
daGeeeze is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 10:29 AM   #68
rprade
Adventurer
 
rprade's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by daGeeeze
Great news. Plus I also have that unit already; just no time to install it or expiriment with it. Any plans on cable handling?

Thanks and keep us posted please!
My GS won't be here until the end of the month, but I am starting on the K1200S this weekend. That will allow me to resolve some of the issues such as interfacing the brake (and clutch, if possible), power, tach pulse, and control switching. Hopefully resolving those issues will make the install on the GS a little easier.

For cable handling, I am going to look at parts data tomorrow and see what can be done to turn the GS throttle cable splitter into one like the RT uses. I am hopeful that the parts can be ordered to convert the GS splitter. I will not try to add the second cable back up to the throttle grip, but would like to interface the cruise servo to the cable splitter in the same fashion as on the RT.
__________________
Randy Prade
Aurora, CO
Alaska - Arctic Circle 2007

Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards.
rprade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 01:39 PM   #69
bonox OP
Tryin Hard
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: sydney
Oddometer: 2,933
bonox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 08:44 AM   #70
lemonhart
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Oddometer: 31
Audio Vox cruise control install

I am in the middle of installing a AudioVox ccs 100 and and was wondering.
Did anyone ever come up with a definitive answer as to whether this does in fact work as a VSS signal for the cruise control?
Also if it works does that mean you don't need to tap into the coil and if you still do where is the best place to do it?
TIA

Quote:
Originally Posted by rprade
I know I am late on this thread, but I m working on a cruise control for my K1200S and will be on my soon delivered R1200GSA. I chose the Rostra electronic cruise control to avoid the need for a vacuum accumulator for a vacuum actuator. The K1200S and the R1200GS have a connector near the front of the bike for connection to the GPS accessory. This connector has three wires:

Brown = ground (pin 1)
Blue/Green = TAA (pin 2)
Red/White = switched power (pin 3)

I will be hanging a scope off of the TAA lead next weekend, but I am fairly sure it is a conditioned speed pulse from the ZFE (chassis control module). This would be used by a GPS employing dead reckoning, not currently used by BMW. The Rostra unit also looks at an engine tach pulse and disengages the cruise control in the event of throttle runaway.

The Rostra has all of the electronics and a throttle servo in one module and can be purchased for about $200. Here is a link to Rostra controls website.
lemonhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 05:06 PM   #71
Poolside
Syndicated
 
Poolside's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Oddometer: 11,726

Quote:
Originally Posted by lemonhart
Did anyone ever come up with a definitive answer as to whether this does in fact work as a VSS signal for the cruise control?
...

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdcyclist
...the Audiovox unit has an upper limit on VSS pulses/mile of 8k.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AntonLargiader
The GS sensor is probably around 80k per mile. Not even close!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by rprade
The K1200S and the R1200GS have a connector near the front of the bike for connection to the GPS accessory. This connector has three wires:

Brown = ground (pin 1)
Blue/Green = TAA (pin 2)
Red/White = switched power (pin 3)

I will be hanging a scope off of the TAA lead next weekend, but I am fairly sure it is a conditioned speed pulse from the ZFE (chassis control module).
Quote:
Originally Posted by AntonLargiader
Yes indeed, TAA is a conditioned speed signal. I hadn't realized it was there on the earlier Hexheads but it is. The GS should have it as well.
It looks like the VR sensor is too 'fast' for the Audiovox. Go for seeing about using the TAA signal.


__________________

IICE Air Hotrod your GS  Fuel Injection  Tech Info  Buy  Order List  Installation
Poolside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 01:15 AM   #72
kpavey
K12Sman
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Oddometer: 5
TAA signal

So did you manage to get the VSS to work with the cruise kit? Has anyone measured the VSS signal, and can characterise it? Square wave, 5V, analogue, with variable pulse width wrt speed?
kpavey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 05:06 PM   #73
Poolside
Syndicated
 
Poolside's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Oddometer: 11,726

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpavey View Post
So did you manage to get the VSS to work with the cruise kit? Has anyone measured the VSS signal, and can characterise it? Square wave, 5V, analogue, with variable pulse width wrt speed?
This is a guess, but it isn't a wild guess. The TAA signal is probably a digital signal, with a variable frequency wrt speed.

In the case of the BMW motos, it is a 'manufactured' signal based on a the sinusoidal signal from Variable Reluctance wheel speed sensor.

Some automobiles use the term VSS to describe the signal from the pickup on the transmission output shaft.


With a couple of different checks with a good digital meter you can probably get a good enough 'picture' of the signal to know if it will work with the cruise control.


__________________

IICE Air Hotrod your GS  Fuel Injection  Tech Info  Buy  Order List  Installation
Poolside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 11:21 AM   #74
dede
Lefty
 
dede's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Indiana,USA
Oddometer: 162
With a couple of different checks with a good digital meter you can probably get a good enough 'picture' of the signal to know if it will work with the cruise control.


[/QUOTE]

Poolside; Please describe in layman's terms the tests you refure to here, I have the unit hooked up and passing the testing cycle but don't know how to check the pulse count. I am using the three prong plug under the beak on a 2009 GS as described in a nearlier post with a Rostra CC. I need the pulse count to set the dip switches to the proper range. The only reading I get with a digital meter set to VDC is 12V.
__________________
The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are
willing to work and give to those who would not. Thomas Jefferson
dede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 12:33 PM   #75
Poolside
Syndicated
 
Poolside's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Oddometer: 11,726

Quote:
Originally Posted by dede View Post

Poolside; Please describe in layman's terms the tests you refure to here, I have the unit hooked up and passing the testing cycle but don't know how to check the pulse count.

I am using the three prong plug under the beak on a 2009 GS as described in a nearlier post with a Rostra CC. I need the pulse count to set the dip switches to the proper range. The only reading I get with a digital meter set to VDC is 12V.
We'll give it a try.

First, I have no idea what "passing the testing cycle" might mean.

What does the meter read on VAC with the wheel spinning?

Most digital meters have a frequency counter, does your meter have one?


__________________

IICE Air Hotrod your GS  Fuel Injection  Tech Info  Buy  Order List  Installation
Poolside is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014