ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Fluff > Ask Baldy, blame AceRph
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-26-2011, 04:58 AM   #1
ReactorTrip OP
glows in the dark
 
ReactorTrip's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: East Tenn
Oddometer: 556
Spotwalla embedding?

I thought iframe worked when I tested earlier this week, but it's not working now. I guess it was disabled.

Is there anyway we can get a spotwalla embed custom code? So we can embed our spotwalla trips.

It's pretty easy to do in the admin cp under Custom BB Codes.

Title: Spotwalla

BB Code Tage Name: spotwalla

Replacement: (had to do this in CODE tags because the iframe disappears.

Code:
 




Example: [spotwalla]2d0e4dd6b0b608b3e[/spotwalla]

So basically you just take your id for your trip and inserted between spotwalla tags and presto, embedded spotwalla on the board.
__________________
http://www.twowheelvinyl.com
North America and USA Sticker Maps
Custom Vinyl Stickers can be done as well
ReactorTrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 05:02 AM   #2
ReactorTrip OP
glows in the dark
 
ReactorTrip's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: East Tenn
Oddometer: 556
Ok, it looks like the code tags let it work, weird...


HTML Code:
<iframe
        src='http://spotwalla.com/embed.php?id={param}&width=600&height=600&scale=on&zoom=default'
        width='600'
        height='600'
        scrolling='false'
        frameborder='0'>
  Embedding failed because inline frames are not supported by your browser or the web server.
</iframe>
__________________
http://www.twowheelvinyl.com
North America and USA Sticker Maps
Custom Vinyl Stickers can be done as well
ReactorTrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 08:05 AM   #3
Jamie Z
Beastly Adventurer
 
Jamie Z's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: almost Memphis
Oddometer: 7,622
You came up with a different solution than I did. I noticed that the Spotwalla embed link doesn't appear to do anything useful.

Here's what I've found works.

[iframe src='EMBED LINK' width='600' height='600' scrolling='auto' frameborder='0']Embedding failed because inline frames are not supported by your browser or the web server.[/iframe]

Replace the EMBED LINK with the embed URL on the Spotwalla Trip page. And of course replace the brackets with < and >.

In my case, it looks like this:

[iframe src='http://spotwalla.com/embed.php?id=2b974dc4b27210522&width=600&height=600&scale=on&zoom=default' width='600' height='600' scrolling='auto' frameborder='0']Embedding failed because inline frames are not supported by your browser or the web server.[/iframe]

And produces this:



Jamie
__________________
I'm the Tent Space Guy Sign up to host fellow travelers here.

Budget Travel the Jamie Z Way
Jamie Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 06:38 PM   #4
DirtyDog
Lust for dust.
 
DirtyDog's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Tulsa... it's OK
Oddometer: 7,273
my test

So why do you leave the "Embedding failed because inline frames are not supported by your browser or the web server" text in there?

I changed the dimensions a bit to better accommodate an east-west route.

Direct link to Spotwalla page: HERE

__________________
And when you asked for light, I set myself on fire
And if I go far away I know- you'll find another slave
DirtyDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 01:10 PM   #5
Jamie Z
Beastly Adventurer
 
Jamie Z's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: almost Memphis
Oddometer: 7,622
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtyDog View Post
So why do you leave the "Embedding failed because inline frames are not supported by your browser or the web server" text in there?

I changed the dimensions a bit to better accommodate an east-west route.
I got the tag from another website (probably the Spotwalla site) and just left it as is.

Good idea on changing the dimensions to better fit your route.

Jamie
__________________
I'm the Tent Space Guy Sign up to host fellow travelers here.

Budget Travel the Jamie Z Way
Jamie Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2011, 12:09 PM   #6
1200gsceej
Beastly Adventurer
 
1200gsceej's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: San Francisco Peninsula
Oddometer: 1,204
Changing Dimensions - don't get too big!

Watch out on the width - you can make it too big and get a scroll bar.
IMHO that makes it far more awkward to read the post and look at your map than just having to zoom in/out.
Could be larger than the 600 width JamieZ used; maybe go 800?
But whatever width DirtyDog used was too wide (again, IMHO).
-ceej

PS
See Spotwalla thread here: http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=703780
__________________
My bike: Yellow '05 1200GS - on the Spotwalla ADV location page as CJ3.
My solo trips: SF to Colorado and back 2011 and 2013, SF-LA loop, Pinnacles and Carmel Valley loop
With Ol'Badger: http://www.2guysonbikes.com
And remember: Beauty is in the behind of the holder.

1200gsceej screwed with this post 07-10-2011 at 08:38 PM
1200gsceej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 04:02 PM   #7
Fantastic Mister Fox
Adventurer
 
Fantastic Mister Fox's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: Bristol, UK
Oddometer: 25
I'm fairly certain it's a problem with my laptop but at the moment all the embeded maps ob this thread and the one on my website (http://www.mudandknobblies.co.uk/sta...p/where-are-we) are showing up blank.

The bar at the top is there with history and % fill options but where the map should be is totally blank.

It doesn't work on chrome or IE on my laptop but works fine on Mrs Fox's laptop. any help please??
__________________
www.mudandknobblies.co.uk - Going round the world on CCM SR40 motorcycles.
Fantastic Mister Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 07:58 AM   #8
scarysharkface
30-125
 
scarysharkface's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Lakland
Oddometer: 12,839
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1200gsceej View Post
Watch out on the width - you can make it too big and get a scroll bar.
IMHO that makes it far more awkward to read the post and look at your map than just having to zoom in/out.
Could be larger than the 600 width JamieZ used; maybe go 800?
But whatever width DirtyDog used was too wide (again, IMHO).
-ceej

PS
See Spotwalla thread here: http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=703780
No matter what width I set I still get the same size small box, which is too small to be of any use. The page is here:

http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=915856

Any clues/help are appreciated!

Thanks,
John
__________________

The road to Hell is paved...
Save $5 on a Smugmug subscription when you use my coupon:
yBr7OofIPuOP6
KLR takes a circular route to Big Bend '13 http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=887449
scarysharkface is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014