ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush > Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc)
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-26-2008, 11:08 PM   #16
JohnEric
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Oddometer: 17
I accidentally wacked the sensor when putting my front wheel back on but I saw no flaws on the sensor. No speedometer. Put a new cable on and it works fine. Its rediculously expensive by the way. Eric
JohnEric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2008, 08:46 AM   #17
KTMarty OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
KTMarty's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Renton,WA
Oddometer: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pax
Did you take your front wheel off or make changes to your front wheel or tire?

Last summer I had a similar issue and eventually determined the guy who had mounted my front tire had turned the wheel around. Argh...so simple. Anyhow, wheel turned around correctly and it worked.

-Pax
No I did not take off the wheel. Just unconnected the plug.

Have not yet gone over to my buddies house and check continuity on his bike plan on doing it this weekend some time. Will keep everyone updated on what I find out. Stay tuned.

Happy T- DAy
__________________
Marty

2010 KTM 450EXC (FSL)
06 KTM 950 Adventure (Orange)


Fire Road Closure Report

Dual Sport Tire price comarison

2008 Idaho ride

Camp Chair
KTMarty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 05:09 PM   #18
KTMarty OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
KTMarty's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Renton,WA
Oddometer: 321
Sensor was bad

Just wanted everyone to know that I finally the installed a new sensor and everything is working perfect.

Thanks for all the suggestions.
__________________
Marty

2010 KTM 450EXC (FSL)
06 KTM 950 Adventure (Orange)


Fire Road Closure Report

Dual Sport Tire price comarison

2008 Idaho ride

Camp Chair
KTMarty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 06:43 PM   #19
utahrpm
Gnarly Adventurer
 
utahrpm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Oddometer: 140
You installed a new sensor, as in new speedo cable complete? Or can you just replace the sensor? On my 640 Adventure, the wires were broken inside the cable where the sensor wires attach to the wires up to the display.
__________________
'04 KTM 950 Adventure "S"
'03 KTM 640 Adventure
'02 KTM 520 EXC (dual sported)
'07 KTM Super Duke 990
'04 Ducati ST4S ABS
'99 Ducati 900SS
'76 BMW R90S
'67 BMW R60/2 w. Ural sidecar
'79 Triumph Bonneville
'71 Triumph Bonneville
'64 HD FLH "Duo-Glide"
'38 Indian Chief long-term project
utahrpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 10:13 PM   #20
KatoomDownUnder
Safer off a horse than on
 
KatoomDownUnder's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: North of the Parramatta river
Oddometer: 955
I have just gone through a similar drama with my 08 990 adv. after 4 days of pulling their hair out my local dealer got word from Austria that it would be the actual ABS switch on the dash. This is after replacing the speedo, ABS sensors and doing all the diagnostics.
Still considering how technical these bikers are today it's not suprising for these sorts of problems to occur.
Least mine is still under warranty
__________________
Na cnuic tha lomnochd
's tha duilleach Foghair
mar bhrat air la\r,
am fearann caillte
dan tug na seo\id ud gra\dh,
a sheas an aghaidh
feachd uailleil Iomhair
's a ruaig e dhachaigh
air chaochladh smaoin


You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
KatoomDownUnder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 07:03 PM   #21
Art Vandelay II
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Oddometer: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by KatoomDownUnder
I have just gone through a similar drama with my 08 990 adv. after 4 days of pulling their hair out my local dealer got word from Austria that it would be the actual ABS switch on the dash. This is after replacing the speedo, ABS sensors and doing all the diagnostics.
Still considering how technical these bikers are today it's not suprising for these sorts of problems to occur.
That's really scary. I parked my 2008 Adventure for a few weeks. Everything worked fine, then got it out the garage yesterday for a ride and I noticed the ABS was going haywire. The ABS shut itself off a few seconds, then I noticed the speedo wasn't even close to being accurate. Next thing I know the speedo went to 0. Seeing as how I was passing cars I was pretty sure I was going faster than 0 MPH. After that I also noticed the odometer isn't working either.

I don't have a clue what to do to fix this. Unfortunately the dealer I bought mine from went out of business and the nearest one to me now is 45 mins away. All the cables look good on the outside and all the fuses are fine. So yeah, I have no idea what to do now.
Art Vandelay II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 05:26 PM   #22
Paulinator
n00b
 
Joined: May 2011
Oddometer: 4
2008 KTM Adventure S Speedo not working

Speedo reads 0 and miles don't turn.
Everything else works.

Changed sensor and cable, and still didn't work.
Took speedo off my bike and put on buddies bike, and it worked.
Took speedo off my buddies bike and put it on my bike, and it didn't work.
No, I've never taken front wheel off bike.

Anybody got a fix?
Paulinator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 05:58 PM   #23
cpmodem
Orange Caveman
 
cpmodem's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: masa yee yah tee 59 14' 9" N / 135 26' 42" W
Oddometer: 7,103
I think you've pretty much narrowed it down to the unit itself, if I'm reading you correctly. You might be able to get a speedo shop to fix it. Your other choice seems to be a new unit.

Took speedo off my bike and put on buddies bike, and it worked.
Took speedo off my buddies bike and put it on my bike, and it didn't work.

If your speedo worked on your buddy's bike, there can't be anything wrong with his sensor, cable, ECU or wiring.
__________________

-cp

DISCLAIMER: All observations made in this post are mine and based solely on my own anecdotal experiences, and may contain large doses of facetiousness. YMMV, of course. You are "on your own", and I take no responsibility if someone tries anything in this post and gets into trouble with the law, damages their person or property, or goes blind. Take everything you read or hear "anywhere" butt especially on the Web with a large dose of salt.


cpmodem screwed with this post 05-27-2011 at 11:19 AM
cpmodem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 09:45 AM   #24
gefr
Life is a trip
 
gefr's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: East Med, Greece
Oddometer: 3,819
That is really strange.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulinator View Post
Took speedo off my bike and put on buddies bike, and it worked.
Anybody got a fix?
Is the position of the sensor damaged or something? You could check it with your friend's. Err! your friend has an S or a 950? Do you install the sensot properly or wrong side close to the rotor bolts. You do have the rotor bolts that trigger the sensor? The only thing it could be is the first sensor got damaged and the second wrongly installed?? can't think of smthg else. Keep us posted.
Cheers.
gefr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 09:57 AM   #25
cpmodem
Orange Caveman
 
cpmodem's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: masa yee yah tee 59 14' 9" N / 135 26' 42" W
Oddometer: 7,103
__________________

-cp

DISCLAIMER: All observations made in this post are mine and based solely on my own anecdotal experiences, and may contain large doses of facetiousness. YMMV, of course. You are "on your own", and I take no responsibility if someone tries anything in this post and gets into trouble with the law, damages their person or property, or goes blind. Take everything you read or hear "anywhere" butt especially on the Web with a large dose of salt.

cpmodem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 11:40 PM   #26
chrish4ku
Studly Adventurer
 
chrish4ku's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: San Leandro, CA
Oddometer: 759
Still Broke

So Paulinator's 2008 S is still broke. Zero on the speedo, $330 spent at dealer troubleshooting, installing a new cable w/ sensor. Money wasted!

My head unit does the same thing on his bike (reads zero)
His head unit on my bike works.

It ain't the dash unit (check)
It ain't the sensor or cable (check)

I mean these bikes have NO ABS, and there are only 3 other wires as posted above and they seem to have 12V power via us checking with a voltmeter.

OK - fire up the suggestions..............
__________________
_______________________
Chris
I don't normally ride on the street,,,but when I do,,I prefer lane splitting.
2011 KTM 990 Adventure / KTM 500 EXC
Chris' Sat Tracker
chrish4ku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 05:49 PM   #27
farmerger
Snowed in Adventurer
 
farmerger's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Chase, BC
Oddometer: 515
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrish4ku View Post
So Paulinator's 2008 S is still broke. Zero on the speedo, $330 spent at dealer troubleshooting, installing a new cable w/ sensor. Money wasted!

My head unit does the same thing on his bike (reads zero)
His head unit on my bike works.

It ain't the dash unit (check)
It ain't the sensor or cable (check)

I mean these bikes have NO ABS, and there are only 3 other wires as posted above and they seem to have 12V power via us checking with a voltmeter.

OK - fire up the suggestions..............
I'm looking at a wiring diagram for a 950 so assuming its the same still for the 08 990 the blue/yellow wire from the head unit is the positive/power for the speed sensor. I'm no electrical wiz but my guess would be that the sensor is creating an electromagnetic field with the power from this wire. The sensor wiring does not show a ground so I'm guessing one of the other two wires is the return for this electromagnet. The third wire would then be the one that actually sends the pulses generated in the sensor to the head unit. In short, if you are getting 12V between either of the three wires and a ground to the bike then something is amiss.

My first guess would be that there is a broken or shorted wire between the head unit connector and the speed sensor connector, its the only thing you haven't switched yet.
__________________
Crashin' like Ewan!

Billy Connolly - "If women are so bloody perfect at multitasking, how come they can't have a headache and sex at the same time?"
farmerger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 09:13 PM   #28
chrish4ku
Studly Adventurer
 
chrish4ku's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: San Leandro, CA
Oddometer: 759
Good explanation - I'll have to investigate this as we have eliminated all other options...
__________________
_______________________
Chris
I don't normally ride on the street,,,but when I do,,I prefer lane splitting.
2011 KTM 990 Adventure / KTM 500 EXC
Chris' Sat Tracker
chrish4ku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 03:42 AM   #29
fuji79
islander
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: singapore
Oddometer: 5
re: degreaser.

hi. i'm riding a '04 950 adv...i came across a similar problem. it started with the numbers on the speedo jumping here and there, not giving the correct speed. it ended with it not showing anything but a big "0". what i did was i sprayed the sensor with some aerosol degreaser, and hosed it off. it worked fine after that. i've been doing it ever since then, whenever the problem arises. it seems like a simple enough solution...too simple in fact. but it worked for me. i hope this helps.
fuji79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 12:14 PM   #30
Art Vandelay II
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Oddometer: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulinator View Post
got a fix?
I ended up taking mine to another dealer. Turns out one of the front wheel spacers was missing on my wheel. Which caused the wheel to shimmy back and forth. That eventually destroyed the sensor and even damaged the cable. So I had to replace both.

The odd thing is I never felt the spacer missing while at speed so I never knew it was missing. I did notice a weird feeling at very low speeds, but it felt like a fork was sticking. I had never felt anything like that before so I couldn't even describe it to the mechanic. I never thought to take the wheel off and check for that myself because the front wheel had never been off on my bike. So it came from the factory missing a spacer. Lovely.
Art Vandelay II is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014