ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-02-2012, 10:48 AM   #1
BRUNO BOTELHO OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
BRUNO BOTELHO's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: S. MIGUEL-AZORES
Oddometer: 441
Carb Sync 950 Adventure without SAS and EPC

People, need some help
I'm going to do some carb cleaning and sync to my KTM 950 Adventure.
I have even ordered a carb sync device.
But i have removed the SAS and EPC. Is it still possible to sync the carbs without the SAS and EPC?
How?
Anyone got pictures of the process (sync without SAS and EPC)?

Thank's in advance!
__________________
Ride Safe
Bruno Botelho
KTM LC8 950 ADVENTURE & KTM EXC 400 - "Ready to Race"

www.motoazores.com
BRUNO BOTELHO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 11:32 AM   #2
Johnf3
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: West Texas
Oddometer: 1,021
Very easy. You will have two vacuum hoses coming off the intake manifolds on the right side of the carbs. The other ends should be plugged. Unplug them and attach to your synch device and follow the directions for your particular device.

To access the carb synch adjust screw you have to remove the airfilter.
__________________
'06 950 Adventure S
'10 Husaberg FX 450
'01 KTM 520exc
Johnf3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 11:33 AM   #3
AdvGa
Beastly Adventurer
 
AdvGa's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Atlanta Metro
Oddometer: 1,320
Here's how I did mine with my Carbs:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showt...4#post12665944
AdvGa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 05:28 PM   #4
Scott Baja
el semental negro
 
Scott Baja's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: Missoula MT
Oddometer: 232
Hey AdvGa
I have read over in another thread UK Mouse make the claim to sync at idle. I like you did the sync at 5000 rpms. Is there any kind of concensus on this matter of a carb sync?
Scott Baja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 05:37 PM   #5
Orangecicle
Beastly Adventurer
 
Orangecicle's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Oddometer: 2,063
I use this: http://www.cbperformance.com/catalog.asp?ProductID=572. Works perfectly.
__________________
"I'd like to meet the joker who had the nerve to call this a road!" -- Walter Sigmann
"Loud tires save lives." -- Unknown
Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/brad.horn.9
Orangecicle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 06:19 PM   #6
AdvGa
Beastly Adventurer
 
AdvGa's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Atlanta Metro
Oddometer: 1,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Baja View Post
Hey AdvGa
I have read over in another thread UK Mouse make the claim to sync at idle. I like you did the sync at 5000 rpms. Is there any kind of concensus on this matter of a carb sync?
Sure, I have done this on both I-4's and Twins and have good results with my method.

On paper perhaps, doing it at Idle makes sense, but you have to try it yourself to find out.
AdvGa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 04:45 AM   #7
BRUNO BOTELHO OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
BRUNO BOTELHO's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: S. MIGUEL-AZORES
Oddometer: 441
People, thank you for your help

Quote:
Very easy. You will have two vacuum hoses coming off the intake manifolds on the right side of the carbs. The other ends should be plugged.
I think i know where those are. If i'm not mistaken, these 2 vacuum hoses are the ones that we have to cover when the SAS and EPC is removed.
Am i correct?

Here are the 2 vacuum hoses of my 950, without the SAS and EPC and covered by a rubber cover.I think that's where i have to plug the hoses of the sync device...



__________________
Ride Safe
Bruno Botelho
KTM LC8 950 ADVENTURE & KTM EXC 400 - "Ready to Race"

www.motoazores.com
BRUNO BOTELHO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 06:03 AM   #8
Vassily28
TheFrenchCanadian
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Quebec
Oddometer: 320
When you're on the right of the bike, look under the airbox, you should have 2 hoses or 2 connectors on admisson manifold (between the cylinder and the carbs).

http://www.ktm950.info/how/Orange%20...carb_sync.html

Vassily28 screwed with this post 02-03-2012 at 06:12 AM
Vassily28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 04:27 PM   #9
BoulderGuy
out ridin'....
 
BoulderGuy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Boulder, Co or lost in Mexico....again
Oddometer: 433
Not sure what those photos are but that's not what you sync the Carbs with. Like he said, right side, manifold, brass nipples with blocked off hoses coming off them. Save yourself some headaches and run the hoses to under the seat so you don't have to have the right tank off to sync the Carbs.
BoulderGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 04:52 PM   #10
AdvGa
Beastly Adventurer
 
AdvGa's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Atlanta Metro
Oddometer: 1,320
Here's the Picture of the Vacuum Nipples from here:
http://www.ktm950.info/how/Orange%20...carb_sync.html

AdvGa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 06:47 PM   #11
BRUNO BOTELHO OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
BRUNO BOTELHO's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: S. MIGUEL-AZORES
Oddometer: 441
Quote:
Here's the Picture of the Vacuum Nipples from here:
http://www.ktm950.info/how/Orange%20...carb_sync.html
Thank you very much, it helped me a lot
__________________
Ride Safe
Bruno Botelho
KTM LC8 950 ADVENTURE & KTM EXC 400 - "Ready to Race"

www.motoazores.com
BRUNO BOTELHO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 07:13 PM   #12
AdvGa
Beastly Adventurer
 
AdvGa's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Atlanta Metro
Oddometer: 1,320
You're most welcome...
AdvGa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 04:24 AM   #13
BRUNO BOTELHO OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
BRUNO BOTELHO's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: S. MIGUEL-AZORES
Oddometer: 441
People, need help, again...
I have got already the vacuum gauge, but i'm a little confused about it's use.
I bought exactly one vacuum gauge like the one below:



Can anybody help me and tell me which values should this vacuum gauge indicate for a correct synchronization?
Which values should the needles/arrows indicate in this vacuum gauge for a correct synchronization?
Sorry about these beginner questions, but just want to do the job the best way possible.

Thank's!
__________________
Ride Safe
Bruno Botelho
KTM LC8 950 ADVENTURE & KTM EXC 400 - "Ready to Race"

www.motoazores.com
BRUNO BOTELHO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 06:26 AM   #14
spafxer
Beastly Adventurer
 
spafxer's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Oddometer: 2,527
You are not looking for a "value" of the vacuum on your gauges. You are looking for the needles to read the same vacuum on both the carburetors.

The value you see will change with the RPM you are syncing at too. Again you are looking to make the needles the same at idle and your normal cruising RPM.

the HOW says 7 kg/H vacuum... Although I don't know what the H stands for.
spafxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014