ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-06-2012, 05:21 AM   #1
Knobbiethrower OP
ADV in ADK
 
Knobbiethrower's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Where I am
Oddometer: 1,173
Fuzeblock FZ1 mounting

Looking for ideas/suggestions for location and mounting this fuseblock on a 990 adv

http://blackdogadvbikes.com/black-do.../275-1152.html

Thanks in advance!
__________________
2013 KTM 990 Baja
2011 Husaberg FE 570
2005 Service Honda CR 500AF
Knobbiethrower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 07:05 AM   #2
Dagwood_55
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dagwood_55's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: The Ozarks
Oddometer: 1,312
I put mine in the glove box between the tanks.
__________________
Live long, love much, laugh often, and
Ride, Ride, Ride.....
Dagwood_55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 07:22 AM   #3
mOtO_man
Adventurer
 
mOtO_man's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Oddometer: 11
my Fuzeblock mount

I put in on the right of the bike. Had to cut out some plastic on the inside of the right fairing for it to fit. The benefit of it being here is that it can easily be accessed and viewed. It did not go in the glove compartment because all the wires would have had to be removed to remove the glovebox....a pain for doing maintenance.



mOtO_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 07:29 AM   #4
Motard_Menace
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Motard_Menace's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Phoenix
Oddometer: 300
The nine-fifty I just purchased has the fuse block behind the upper headlight/fairing assembly. There is quite a bit of room up there. It is similar to the pics posted but the previous owner fasted it with zip ties on the inside of the bracket. I will try to get some pics later and ad them to the this post for reference.

Here is a pic for the placement of the fuse block that was on my bike when purchased. Not as fancy as the ones on here but an old CanBus setup.

Photobucket




Motard_Menace screwed with this post 02-07-2012 at 12:06 PM Reason: Added Pic
Motard_Menace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 02:05 PM   #5
PS-RagE
Studly Adventurer
 
PS-RagE's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Northern Ontario
Oddometer: 574
I also put mine in the glovebox:



__________________
A. Dale McLean
aka PS-RagE

2007 Beta REV3 270
2012 KTM 350 EXC-F
2014 KTM 1190 Adventure R
PS-RagE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 02:42 PM   #6
torinreality
metaconscious
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Oddometer: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by mOtO_man View Post
...It did not go in the glove compartment because all the wires would have had to be removed to remove the glovebox....a pain for doing maintenance.
I put mine in the glovebox, too, but I went to some effort to ensure I could remove the Fuzeblock without unwiring anything. Unfortunately the bike's in storage, so I can't post pictures right now, but here's a description of what I did:

1) Cut a hole in the bottom of the glovebox...bigger than the short dimension of the Fuzeblock ,but smaller than the long dimenion. This means the Fuzeblock will slip through the hole, but only sideways.
2) Fabricate an aluminum mounting plate that's bigger than the Fuzeblock in only the long dimension. Thus the mounting plate will also slip through the hole, but also only sideways. The extra aluminum along the two Fuzeblock sides gives me something to mount to the glovebox.
3) Mount Fuzeblock to plate with stock Fuzeblock mounting points (underneath).
4) Bolt mounting plate to bottom of glovebox using Dzus fasteners (with standard sportbike bodywork clips that grab the plastic glovebox bottom).

I'll try to take pictures and post them. If you're interested in the above and my description doesn't make sense, message me.
torinreality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 02:45 PM   #7
torinreality
metaconscious
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Oddometer: 57
I love the Fuzeblock, BTW. So awesome to be able to change circuits from switched to "always on" and back again.
torinreality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 09:59 AM   #8
Narsisco Lopez
Addlepated
 
Narsisco Lopez's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Golden (Showers), Colorado
Oddometer: 2,219
Got my Aerostich/Rowe Electronics PDM-60 last month, but haven't mounted it yet... can't decide between in the storage box or in the fairing.

Narsisco Lopez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 11:21 AM   #9
Katoom119
Mmmm....Orange Kool-aid
 
Katoom119's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Knoxville, TN
Oddometer: 1,755
So, if I've read everything correctly, you wire the fuseblock into the ACC1 (the always on) or directly to the battery and then everything else (GPS, Aux lights, etc.) wire into the fuseblock. Right?
__________________
Those who dance are considered crazy by those who do not hear the music.
I am not the same having seen the moon shine on the other side of the world. - Radmacher

5 Cylinders vs. Moab..........My East Tennessee.........Internships may go to Hell and I will go to Alaska
Katoom119 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 04:25 PM   #10
torinreality
metaconscious
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Oddometer: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Katoom119 View Post
So, if I've read everything correctly, you wire the fuseblock into the ACC1 (the always on) or directly to the battery and then everything else (GPS, Aux lights, etc.) wire into the fuseblock. Right?
Wire the Fuzeblock directly to the battery, so you're not limited to the ACC1 amperage. Use a heavy wire. Then all other accessories/farkles wire into the Fuzeblock. I didn't rewire anything stock, but only used the Fuzeblock for the new electrical farkles (gps power, heated grips, voltmeter, aux lights, heated clothing socket, etc.).
torinreality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 05:27 AM   #11
Knobbiethrower OP
ADV in ADK
 
Knobbiethrower's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Where I am
Oddometer: 1,173
Thanks to all for the ideas/responses. Which color wire is the ACC1?
__________________
2013 KTM 990 Baja
2011 Husaberg FE 570
2005 Service Honda CR 500AF
Knobbiethrower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 04:32 PM   #12
CharlieFox
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: SLC, Utah
Oddometer: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by torinreality View Post
I put mine in the glovebox, too, but I went to some effort to ensure I could remove the Fuzeblock without unwiring anything. Unfortunately the bike's in storage, so I can't post pictures right now, but here's a description of what I did:

1) Cut a hole in the bottom of the glovebox...bigger than the short dimension of the Fuzeblock ,but smaller than the long dimenion. This means the Fuzeblock will slip through the hole, but only sideways.
2) Fabricate an aluminum mounting plate that's bigger than the Fuzeblock in only the long dimension. Thus the mounting plate will also slip through the hole, but also only sideways. The extra aluminum along the two Fuzeblock sides gives me something to mount to the glovebox.
3) Mount Fuzeblock to plate with stock Fuzeblock mounting points (underneath).
4) Bolt mounting plate to bottom of glovebox using Dzus fasteners (with standard sportbike bodywork clips that grab the plastic glovebox bottom).

I'll try to take pictures and post them. If you're interested in the above and my description doesn't make sense, message me.
Have taken any pics of your install?
CharlieFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 09:04 AM   #13
m800mm
Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Oddometer: 74
My plan is to put it in the glove box on velcro, and use male/female
bullet connectors so for service just unplug them. Also I'm thinking
color coded wires. What do you think.
m800mm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 06:11 PM   #14
Dagwood_55
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dagwood_55's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: The Ozarks
Oddometer: 1,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by m800mm View Post
My plan is to put it in the glove box on velcro, and use male/female
bullet connectors so for service just unplug them. Also I'm thinking
color coded wires. What do you think.

That's basically what I did, tho I used a 6 prong connector (I have 5 acc's to the fuzebox) I ordered somewhere off the internet instead of the individual bullet connectors. I did not run all the grounds to the fuzebox, but instead ran them to a central location on the engine behind the tanks, then ran another gound to the battery. That kept me from running 5 more wires into the fuzebox/glove box and cut way down on the birds nest syndrom.
__________________
Live long, love much, laugh often, and
Ride, Ride, Ride.....
Dagwood_55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 07:31 PM   #15
mreimler
Adventure Crasher
 
mreimler's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: Shakopee, MN
Oddometer: 336
After the canister-ectomy, I made a small bracket and mounted the fuse block where the air pump used to be. Easy access and out of the way.
mreimler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014