ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 139 votes, 4.81 average. Display Modes
Old 02-25-2012, 09:10 AM   #2281
TowPro
Healing time Sucks
 
TowPro's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Compass PA
Oddometer: 2,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by JThompson View Post
I think you misread my post, but if not, please show me the $32 powered mount for the Oregon.
Your correct, I read it to fast and missed you were talking about the Oregon. Sorry. The montana amps rugged mount is $32.95.
__________________
2014 R1200GS - My Naked Street Touring Bike
2000 KTM LC4 640 E - For everything else
TowPro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 09:16 AM   #2282
TowPro
Healing time Sucks
 
TowPro's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Compass PA
Oddometer: 2,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
One good use for the Montana Share would be to put the Factory Profiles on there for those that had to discover the hard way what happens when you do a Reset/Master Reset. So, I have put the original Factory Profiles on the Share. What I want to know is, why you guys didn't backup the files on your Montana before you started playing around? Lesson learned I suppose, eh?
  1. Backup your files!!!
  2. Remove the µSD Card.
  3. Turn unit back on and set the Profile to Recreation
  4. Turn unit off.
  5. Master Reset - hold UPPER LEFTHAND CORNER and Power ON. Continue holding screen until the Message appears.
  6. After reboot takes place select your Language preference.
  7. Turn Off unit and replace your µSD card.


Cheers,
Both of us were in a condition where the montana would not boot so we could change the profile back to Recreation before doing the master reset.


For motorcycle riding, I did setup the motorcycle profile the way I wanted it, then saveed it as ADV. But when mine needed to be "master reset" it was stuck in the automobile profile. I even copied my backed up version of the auto profile back onto the Montana and it still would not boot. Then I removed the automotive profile from GPS and tried to start it, still stuck. Plug it back in and surprisingly there was another automotive profile in the directory (even though I had deleted it).

Oh well.
__________________
2014 R1200GS - My Naked Street Touring Bike
2000 KTM LC4 640 E - For everything else
TowPro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 12:05 PM   #2283
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
One good use for the Montana Share would be to put the Factory Profiles on there for those that had to discover the hard way what happens when you do a Reset/Master Reset. So, I have put the original Factory Profiles on the Share. What I want to know is, why you guys didn't backup the files on your Montana before you started playing around? Lesson learned I suppose, eh?

Oh, and when the Reset message says "Delete All User Data", it is only talking about "User Settings" not your personal data you transferred to the unit. Don't know why Garmin has stuck with such and ambiguous message.

I know I've written this in this forum and a few others but the proper procedure for doing a Master Reset or any Reset is:
  1. Backup your files!!!
  2. Remove the µSD Card.
  3. Turn unit back on and set the Profile to Recreation
  4. Turn unit off.
  5. Master Reset - hold UPPER LEFTHAND CORNER and Power ON. Continue holding screen until the Message appears.
  6. After reboot takes place select your Language preference.
  7. Turn Off unit and replace your µSD card.


Cheers,
I totally agree, and that's what I did to return it to factory.

I sometimes do not explain myself very well....I blame it on old age

My point was I feel there should be a way to restore the unit back to factory (when it came out of the box) without having to go through the backup/restore process on the computer. The reason I feel the Master Reset should put it all the way back to when it came out of the box is what if the end user only read the owners manual and/or never knew to make a backup and messed it up. Someone like my wife would have been out of luck and at the mercy of tech support. Also it would save tech support a lot of hassle if all they had to do was instruct the end user on how to do the Master Reset instead of walking them through all the steps to reconfigure the profile settings.

Anyway, I/we have beat this thing to death and I value the contribution you and others have made to supporting the Montana so apologize for any confusion I may have caused.

With all that said......

For those that are interested, here are the steps I took to bring my 650 back to "out of box" config....

Flash back to 3.40
Delete all files on the unit.
Restore (copy back) all files from my clean backup I had made when I first turned it on.

** That restored it back to fresh out of the box **

I then did the following...

Update back to Ver 3.90

Next step will be to reinstall City Navigator North America NT 2012

Oh, I hope that from all I have posted lately that I have not given the impression that I think the Montana is a bad GPS. I like it and it has a lot of features that I'm sure will come in handy once I get a chance to really use it out in the real world and stop messing around with it like I have been doing

Sorry for being so long winded,

Jon...
__________________
2003 Nighthawk 750
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 12:13 PM   #2284
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,081
Reinstalling CNNA

Well shoot, I just tried to reinstall CNNA 2012 from CD and it's telling me my Product Key is not valid

I double checked my account on the MyGarmin site and I have the correct codes. I had done the free update and tried that code with the same results. I even tried re-downloading the update using the code for it but that also gave me an error.

Since I had made a backup I copied over the map file .img and the .gma file and CNNA 2012 loads.

But I wonder why I could not re-install off my disk or download the update.

Any thoughts why?

Edit
: Are there any other files that need to be restored? I seem to remember a lot more stuff got installed on the unit when I first installed CNNA.

Jon...
__________________
2003 Nighthawk 750
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)

Jon_PDX screwed with this post 02-25-2012 at 12:32 PM
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 06:26 PM   #2285
Lycan1
Grizzly herder
 
Lycan1's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Oddometer: 1,567
installed the Rugged mount on the bike

Mounted the Ram arm and the Rugged Mount. Ran the wire harness under the "Dash" and connected it to the Battery tender lead. Piece of cake!









That was easy
__________________
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=595530
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=702314
Uhaul, it's part of the KTM experience.
09 KTM 990 Adv
Lycan1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 08:07 PM   #2286
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,081
Nice clean install

Jon...
__________________
2003 Nighthawk 750
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 04:30 AM   #2287
GH41
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Oddometer: 809
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_PDX View Post
Nice clean install

Jon...
But it is upsidedown. Isn't the security screw tough to get to? GH
GH41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 05:39 AM   #2288
Lycan1
Grizzly herder
 
Lycan1's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Oddometer: 1,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by GH41 View Post
But it is upsidedown. Isn't the security screw tough to get to? GH
With The Ram Mount, you just spin it around and tighten the screw first then position the unit any way you like. It was suggested that the power connector being "up" made it better in bad weather. I still have to cut the excess off the 4 screws that connect the Rugged Mount to the Ram ball so that they don't catch on the arm when moving it around at right angles.
__________________
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=595530
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=702314
Uhaul, it's part of the KTM experience.
09 KTM 990 Adv
Lycan1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 07:31 AM   #2289
cablebandit
Web Adventurer
 
cablebandit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: State College PA
Oddometer: 663
Well with it being "rugged" I would think it would handle water fine. Having it upside down would drive me nuts.
__________________
IBA #33260
cablebandit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 07:35 AM   #2290
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,669
Quote:
Originally Posted by cablebandit View Post
Well with it being "rugged" I would think it would handle water fine. Having it upside down would drive me nuts.
I think I might have suggested that having the connectors up would prevent water from pooling into the area, but I run mine in Portrait mode so there's no danger of water pooling on the connectors that way.

Having the mount upside down would annoy me too, and if the mount fails from water, then 1 - it's under warranty for a year and 2 - it's cheap.

I'd just buy another if it failed.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 08:16 AM   #2291
TRZ Charlie
That's MR. Asshole
 
TRZ Charlie's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Fayetteville, AR
Oddometer: 14,225
This is for those of you that already have this unit, can you tell me if there is an advantage one over the other? I am of course trying to compare the 600 vs the 650 vs the 650T?

About me and my habits.

I have my own camera and an iPhone with a camera, no need for another.
I tend toward free maps from gpsdepot and the like but realize that I will require a newer version of City Navigator.
Routing is how I like to navigate (not opposed to tracks, it's just my preference).
I HATE units that auto recalculate and I think I am correct in reading that this feature can be turned off?

I currently have a 276c and will likely have it a long while but I am trying to drag myself into this current generation of GPS tech. One concern I have is that all of my friends and I share maps. In order to circumvent recalculations by the our units (from using different CNNA maps) we all use the 2010.1 CN version.

How many problems am I going to incur by switching to the new unit? Will my routes be recalculated when someone shares a route with me? Can I truly turn off auto re-calculation?

Ok, go ahead. Beat me up, but enlighten me as you do so.

TRZ Charlie screwed with this post 02-26-2012 at 10:09 AM
TRZ Charlie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 10:11 AM   #2292
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,877
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_PDX View Post

Any thoughts why?

Edit
: Are there any other files that need to be restored? I seem to remember a lot more stuff got installed on the unit when I first installed CNNA.

Jon...
Just connect your unit to your computer and go to your MyGarmin site and do an Unlock maps.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 10:31 AM   #2293
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,081
Dan,

Oops.....I forgot to post a followup. I got it figured out.

Maps are all unlocked. Did not need to reinstall on my PC since moving the map and unlock file back the the Montana took care of it. On the Mac, since I had not installed from the DVD yet, once they were installed I did the on-line unlock and I was good to go.

I found out the reason I kept getting a "not valid" product code error was because I had already used that 8-digit code when I first did the install. So unlocking on-line is the only way to do it after that.

Jon...
__________________
2003 Nighthawk 750
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)

Jon_PDX screwed with this post 02-26-2012 at 09:56 PM
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 10:42 AM   #2294
cablebandit
Web Adventurer
 
cablebandit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: State College PA
Oddometer: 663
Charlie,

All your routes will be calculated by the Montana internally. Hopefully this will change in the future. That said it's very easy to take you route in Basecamp and make a track of it. The just have the track visible on the Montana while you use the route. That way you'll still get turn by turn directions, but you can also see the track YOU want to follow and just follow that when the calculated route deviates from what you want.
__________________
IBA #33260
cablebandit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 11:53 AM   #2295
AdvRonski
They call me......Ronski
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Wishing I was back in Grand Junction, now in MN
Oddometer: 655
I have a question about custom maps on the Montana. I created several custom maps for the White Wash area near Moab, and was hoping to be able to switch between them when needed. However, all the custom maps show up as a single group in Map Info. Is there a way to create 2 or more groups of Custom maps, by adding a second folder in the Montana directory?
Also, a feature that I miss from the 60Cx is the ability to store a gpx file for each day's tracks on the sd card. Just a nice back-up feature to make sure you don't lose a track, even if you fat-finger a track delete by accident.
__________________
Ronski
Enduro Racer & Google Earth Adventurer
AdvRonski is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014