ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 04-02-2012, 04:50 AM   #46
dlh62c
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Oddometer: 1,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by Countdown View Post
Yes USB is not intended for out door or vibration, 76 has 12 V power input.
External mini-usb power cables do exist. Some have a straight plug, some are at 90 degrees. One uses a glass fuse while others use a blade style.
http://www.powerlet.com/product/mini...rlet-cable/257
http://www.gpscity.com/garmin-usb-power-cable.html

http://www.touratech-usa.com/Store/3432/PN-GC12VUSB/Motorcycle-Mini-USB-GPS-Power-Cable-with-Fuse

daryl

dlh62c screwed with this post 04-02-2012 at 08:47 AM
dlh62c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 08:03 AM   #47
wbbnm
Beastly Adventurer
 
wbbnm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Abq NM
Oddometer: 1,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aanarchy View Post
Is it worth upgrading to the 62s from the 60CSx?

The 62s will cost me $350 and a new Touratech locking mount $150, so $500 to upgrade. That will pay for all the stuff I just ordered for a 2008 450 EXC-R I just bought.
I really like my 08 450 excr. I bought it new. I ride with my 60Cx and a Ram mount and it works great. I use it for single track and hard DS rides. I have had a few crashes where the unit popped out of the mount but no damage. I have the 60 powered directly from the battery downstream from the fuse.

On the down side don't be surprised if you experience some engine oil burning - from the bike not the GPS.
wbbnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 08:28 AM   #48
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,205
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlh62c View Post
External mini-usb power cables do exist. Some have a straight plug, some are at 90 degrees. One uses a glass fuse while others use a blade style.
http://www.powerlet.com/product/mini...rlet-cable/257
http://www.gpscity.com/garmin-usb-power-cable.html
http://www.touratech-usa.com/Store/P...able-with-Fuse

daryl
It's not that cables don't exist. The point is that USB is NOT suitable for outdoor use, period. Several posts around of people frying their GPSs due to using USB for power on the moto.
Get a GPS that has the robust power plug. 60, 76, 78.
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 08:39 AM   #49
dlh62c
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Oddometer: 1,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by 250senuf View Post
It's not that cables don't exist. The point is that USB is NOT suitable for outdoor use, period. Several posts around of people frying their GPSs due to using USB for power on the moto.
Get a GPS that has the robust power plug. 60, 76, 78.
You might want to tell Garmin that. The power cable I use is made by Garmin. I would suggest using dielectric grease on the connection. It helps to prevent oxidation and corrosion of the contacts.

daryl
dlh62c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 11:11 AM   #50
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiritwalker2222 View Post
I'm not even thinking massive rides. I'm thinking I want to head out to my local trails where there are about 1,000 km's of mostly tight single track and ATV trails. I want to be able to load up those tracks and then ride what I feel like that paticular day.
You are correct but the real solution is to make a transparent overlay map (see another thread on this) of all the trails in that specific OHV area. Then use tracks for planned ride on subset of all trails.

The second way is to connect tracks of all the trails together in one long track and Name it ACTIVE LOG then download it into Track Log.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 12:31 AM   #51
MeterPig
Meh
 
MeterPig's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Parker, Colorado...
Oddometer: 17,089
I recently mapped some slow single track at .1 miles. Turns out, not enough points. I am going to go back and map it at 5 second intervals. I am a little concerned of running out of space. We shall see.

I have the 76csx.
__________________
You looked down here...didn't you.
MeterPig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 08:47 AM   #52
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeterPig View Post
I recently mapped some slow single track at .1 miles. Turns out, not enough points. I am going to go back and map it at 5 second intervals. I am a little concerned of running out of space. We shall see.

I have the 76csx.
See my GPS class on: http://www.dualsportwest.com/Gps/GpsOverview lots of setup stuff.

I recomend automatic, & most often. It is smart enough to not save points on straight fast road but save lots of points on slow twisty trail.

It would be very hard to fill the 2,000 point Active Log in one day but there is no size limit on the back up file on your data card. Again see my class.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014