ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Old's Cool > Airheads
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-16-2012, 07:46 AM   #1
Daveu OP
R100Rider
 
Daveu's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Pacific Northwest
Oddometer: 8
Question Adding electrical accesories to R100R

I'm trying to add a GPS mount to a '92 R100R. Next phase is tapping into the bikes wiring harness.
It looks like the GPS harness I'm using has some voltage regulation box, with an LED, so I would prefer to have that powered only when the ignition is on, or as a "plan B", have it switched. No sense draining the battery when not running...

So, looking for suggestions on best/cleanest location to tap into the wiring harness for "ignition on" only power, or if there is a supplier or after-market option for using one of the switch blanks on the instrument cluster of the 92 R100R.

Would prefer to not use the bmw accessory socket. Both because I'd rather have the wires tucked in out of sight, and I'd like to keep the socket available for electric vest.

I have the wiring diagrams from the shop manuals, but more realistically need information where on the actual bike location wiring would be a good location. of the 4 fuses, 3 seem to be switched by the ignition, its mostly a matter of picking one circuit, either at the fuse box or elsewhere in the harness.

thanks
Daveu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 07:55 AM   #2
jackd
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: North Cowichan
Oddometer: 2,898
I spliced my GPS power feed off the back of the ignition switch on my R100GS - I picked up on the pin from my parking light circuit - I can sit there with the engine turned off and still use the device.
jackd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 08:36 AM   #3
craydds
Beastly Adventurer
 
craydds's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Oddometer: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daveu View Post
So, looking for suggestions on best/cleanest location to tap into the wiring harness for "ignition on" only power, or if there is a supplier or after-market option for using one of the switch blanks on the instrument cluster of the 92 R100R.
Check with Eastern Beaver... http://easternbeaver.com/Main/Produc...fuseboxes.html . He has very good wiring solutions for accessories, lights, horns, etc.
__________________
ABC #12947
'75 R90S
craydds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 09:09 AM   #4
ignatz72
call me iggy
 
ignatz72's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Mid-South, M-town
Oddometer: 626
Powerlet actually makes a handlebar mounted socket that has a Ram mount hole for a GPS. Bonus is that it wires directly to the battery - no splice required. Just put one on my XR650L and love it.

Doesn't solve the switched power idea, but you could easily add a switch to the Powerlet harness rather than hacking your bike harness.
__________________
Current: 93 R100GS, 03 XR650R
Prior: 73 CB350, 77 R100/7, 83 R100RT, 04 XR650L
I love every motorcycle I've owned and even some that I haven't.
ignatz72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 09:11 AM   #5
Daveu OP
R100Rider
 
Daveu's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Pacific Northwest
Oddometer: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackd View Post
I spliced my GPS power feed off the back of the ignition switch on my R100GS - I picked up on the pin from my parking light circuit - I can sit there with the engine turned off and still use the device.
Sounds reasonable. Time to pull the ignition switch to tap in there. I like the idea you can still use GPS with switch in "Park".
Daveu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 09:28 AM   #6
Daveu OP
R100Rider
 
Daveu's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Pacific Northwest
Oddometer: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by ignatz72 View Post
Powerlet actually makes a handlebar mounted socket that has a Ram mount hole for a GPS. Bonus is that it wires directly to the battery - no splice required.
Powerlet handlebar socket is intriguing. "switching" could be accomplished by unplugging the GPS from Socket. This option also also allows easier swapping to other powered items on/near handlebars (not that the electrical system on those era bikes could handle a lot of electrical add ons). Still could be the justification for upgrading the charging system with something like the Motorrad Omega 450.
Socket means no need re-wire if I change brands of GPS (just adapting it to the powerlet plug. Not piggybacking on existing fuse, I could run straight to battery and put a separate fuse in-line. Would need to find suitable location to mount the socket.
To get really fancy, could have relay switch on the socket based on taping off the park tap of the ignitions switch, so the socket is dedicated circuit but is only live when ignition on, or in park. But that could also just mean more parts to fail..

Good feedback, nice to think of options I hadn't originally considered.
Daveu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 10:06 AM   #7
craydds
Beastly Adventurer
 
craydds's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Oddometer: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daveu View Post
To get really fancy, could have relay switch on the socket based on taping off the park tap of the ignitions switch, so the socket is dedicated circuit but is only live when ignition on, or in park. But that could also just mean more parts to fail
You are on the right track, but making things too complex. Use a powerlet socket as suggested by Ignatz. Wire the powerlet socket to the eastern beaver fuse panel. The wiring harness to the fuse panel has a built-in relay for on/off functions of accessories. When you understand how the eastern beaver fuse panel functions, you may decide that it is a good way to go.
__________________
ABC #12947
'75 R90S

craydds screwed with this post 05-16-2012 at 11:56 AM Reason: corrections
craydds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 11:05 AM   #8
Hawk Medicine
Coyote's Brother
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: NOR CAL
Oddometer: 3,303
Just so you'll know...

I'm running a small PC680 battery and have me Garman 550 wired directly to the battery. My GPS uses so little power, that even with my small battery, leaving the GPS turned on for a day or two means nothing to the battery.

OTOH, unless the bikes in the garage, the GPS goes where I go. No sense tempting those having weak morals!
__________________
Hawkdude

Hate rots the pocket that carries it.
Hawk Medicine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 04:04 PM   #9
ignatz72
call me iggy
 
ignatz72's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Mid-South, M-town
Oddometer: 626
The powerlet harness is fused already, BTW. I'll edit with a direct link when I'm on the real computer...

Powerlet 1/8" to 1" Bars (they also have one for 1-1/8" to 1-1/4" bars, not sure which the R100R has):
http://www.powerlet.com/product/hand...ts-gadgets/347

One mounted on my XR650L:
From XRL


Pricey, yes; but worth it. Standard BMW accessory plugs fit Powerlet sockets, no adapter needed.
__________________
Current: 93 R100GS, 03 XR650R
Prior: 73 CB350, 77 R100/7, 83 R100RT, 04 XR650L
I love every motorcycle I've owned and even some that I haven't.

ignatz72 screwed with this post 05-16-2012 at 04:55 PM
ignatz72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 05:10 PM   #10
Daveu OP
R100Rider
 
Daveu's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Pacific Northwest
Oddometer: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by ignatz72 View Post
The powerlet harness is fused already,
Powerlet 1/8" to 1" Bars (they also have one for 1-1/8" to 1-1/4" bars, not sure which the R100R has):
http://www.powerlet.com/product/hand...ts-gadgets/347

Pricey, yes; but worth it. Standard BMW accessory plugs fit Powerlet sockets, no adapter needed.
For now, the single powerlet looks like what I need, especially with in line fuse. I can add an eastern beaver 3 circuit fuse block later, but unless I upgrade the alternator, can't see needing that many sockets or power taps needed at the same time. I already have the bmw standard socket next to battery side panels.

I may just get the socket and adapt a handlebar mount, the R1001 has its plastic "dash" with the two blanks for switches covering prime front and center bar mounting area. Hmm, custom machine an adapter to fit the powerlet socket into one of those switch blanks. Will edit this post to include a before photo to make it clearer.
Daveu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 05:53 PM   #11
Daveu OP
R100Rider
 
Daveu's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Pacific Northwest
Oddometer: 8
Hmm, this forum doesn't store photos, have to be at a public URL.
This advrider thread includes photos of a 92 R100R Dash:
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=471110

Using the switch socket might work. Powerlet lists drilling an 11/16 hole for the socket, and the switch blank is just 1/64 over 11/16 wide. Might get a little more wiggle room, or have the switch hole to powerlet socket rise a little above the dash and get wider to provide a little more material to the adapter.
Daveu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 01:28 AM   #12
batoutoflahonda
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Easton Wa
Oddometer: 1,357
Try to think ahead tho. If you are going to add more accessories, which is where I'm at, you may be better off mounting a fuse box some where.

For instance, I'm running GPS, heated clothing both off the battery. The dyna points thing is running off, I think the black wire on the coil which is switched (I installed the thing and can't remember. How sad is that?). But I'm also planning on an Acewell speedo and Baja Designs race light, and a power outlet for charging the cell and ipod. Also, some one added heated grips and I have no idea how they are wired. So I got fuses and wire every where.

Point being, you don't want to start tapping into the switched wiring which was only intended to run a couple OEM things without upgrading the wiring gauge. I'm going to clean up my mess with a fuse a box that is powered or grounded (depending on how the wiring is) from a switched source.
__________________
It's eight and a half gallons of gas; and an engine. What more do you need?-- BMW R80G/S

Save lives. Legalize lane sharing.

Cow eyes don't glow.
batoutoflahonda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 05:44 AM   #13
craydds
Beastly Adventurer
 
craydds's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Oddometer: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by batoutoflahonda View Post
Try to think ahead tho. If you are going to add more accessories, which is where I'm at, you may be better off mounting a fuse box some where.
+1 ... plan your work, then work your plan; also, give yourself room for things to evolve. I have a GPS, radar detector, battery tender, powerlet, horn, headlights, and a USB connection; and it's all so simple and clean. Centech and others make fuse panels; I like the ease of the Eastern Beaver wiring harness and fuse panel - it's plug and play.
__________________
ABC #12947
'75 R90S
craydds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 11:08 AM   #14
Daveu OP
R100Rider
 
Daveu's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Pacific Northwest
Oddometer: 8
Current plan is powerlet outlet on bars, inline fused direct to battery. One bar/tankbag device plugged in at a time. This is can easily be adapted to plug into eastern beaver fuse panel if I need to add that in future, and add more circuits.

I'm aware (from house wiring) , that sometimes the limiting factor is your overall capacity (the master fuse/breaker in your panel), and sometimes the limitation is space for additional circuits.
Right now, with the stock, 17 amp total output from alternator, I'm trying to not exceed that capacity, so purposely limiting the ease of adding circuits/devices.

Besides, part of the appeal of the motorcycle is to get away from all the electronic gadgets. Which is why its taken me this long to even consider a motorcycle mounted GPS (but I've gotten addicted the usefulness while driving a cage, especially around where I live, where street signs are often small, missing or hidden by vegetation).

So, yeah, while fabricating the switch blank to powerlet socket adapter, I'll probably make two, since I have two unused switch blank slots on my bike, but one will just get stashed for now, until I upgrade charging system, and then want to add additional circuits.
Daveu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014