ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-13-2012, 12:30 AM   #16
BuilderBob OP
Adventurer
 
BuilderBob's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Central Florida
Oddometer: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indy Unlimited View Post
Keep good notes and take some pics of the install BuilderBob.
Will do.
__________________
My Blog ----> http://soundquarters.com/bobsblog/
BuilderBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 04:18 PM   #17
hardybaker
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Marquez, Texas
Oddometer: 338
Rostra

Have you started the install yet? I will soon be doing the same Rostra install on my 2012 Vstrom. Many have done this on the older stroms, but the 2012 and completely different throttle bodies. ANY photos or info would be greatly appericated. HB
hardybaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 05:39 PM   #18
BuilderBob OP
Adventurer
 
BuilderBob's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Central Florida
Oddometer: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardybaker View Post
Have you started the install yet? I will soon be doing the same Rostra install on my 2012 Vstrom. Many have done this on the older stroms, but the 2012 and completely different throttle bodies. ANY photos or info would be greatly appericated. HB
Not yet. I've been gathering information about some of the technical bits of the GS so that I know how to get the proper signal for the speed input. BMW's CANBUS system can be a bit fiddly once you start connecting aftermarket stuff to it.

I'd think that the Strom wouldn't be too much different than previous years. You're not connecting anything to the throttle body except the throttle actuator cable. The rest should be pretty much the same.

I'll be posting up once I start the install.
__________________
My Blog ----> http://soundquarters.com/bobsblog/
BuilderBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 11:03 AM   #19
BuilderBob OP
Adventurer
 
BuilderBob's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Central Florida
Oddometer: 70
Hey All,

I haven't abandoned this idea. Just haven't had time to devote to it. I am convinced that it can be done, however, and that the GS can supply its own VSS signal to the Rostra unit. No external device needed.

Today, while installing a mount for my Zumo, I dug around a little under the battery cover, and voila! There it was: The 3-wire plug that will eventually supply the VSS. According to what I've been able to find out, the blue wire carries the VSS signal, but it must be connected to the 12v power supply on the same plug via a 300ohm 1watt resistor in order to supply a signal that the Rostra unit can digest. According to source, the VSS wire then generates approximately 5,000 PPM.

I have no doubt about the viability of this project. Once I get into it, I'll start a new thread to chronicle the whole process.

Here's the plug:

__________________
My Blog ----> http://soundquarters.com/bobsblog/
BuilderBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 08:09 AM   #20
Monroe
...................
 
Monroe's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: midwest
Oddometer: 623
good luck with your project, I'm sure I won't be the only one watching your progress

Steve
Monroe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 03:11 PM   #21
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,095
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuilderBob View Post
I have no doubt about the viability of this project. Once I get into it, I'll start a new thread to chronicle the whole process.
When you do please post the link to the new thread here in case I/we miss seeing the new one.

Thanks,

Jon...
__________________
2003 Nighthawk 750
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 03:23 PM   #22
BuilderBob OP
Adventurer
 
BuilderBob's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Central Florida
Oddometer: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_PDX View Post
When you do please post the link to the new thread here in case I/we miss seeing the new one.

Thanks,

Jon...
Absolutely!
__________________
My Blog ----> http://soundquarters.com/bobsblog/
BuilderBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 02:21 PM   #23
BuilderBob OP
Adventurer
 
BuilderBob's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Central Florida
Oddometer: 70
Well, sorry to disappoint, but it looks like I won't be the guy to make this happen. I went to the BMW dealer yesterday to get the GS serviced for a trip I'm taking this week and left with a new K1600GT. Damn, those sales guys are good.



I'm keeping my KLR though for those occasional forays off the beaten path.
__________________
My Blog ----> http://soundquarters.com/bobsblog/
BuilderBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 05:35 PM   #24
SQ Beemer
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Westwood, CA
Oddometer: 299
Damn, I was keeping up with this thread too...

Nice GT!
SQ Beemer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 05:27 AM   #25
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,095
Nice bike Bob

But that was an expensive way to get cruse control

Enjoy the GT

Jon...
__________________
2003 Nighthawk 750
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 05:16 AM   #26
fosters2
It is what it is
 
fosters2's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Wilmington, DE
Oddometer: 197
That's pretty funny; I just sold my K1600 to Paul in Central Florida (you'll find him over at K1600forums.com).

Then I went and purchased a F800GS. Maybe over the winter, I'll take a stab at the cruise control.
__________________
F800GS
IBA#42277

SOLD - K1600GTL, S1000RR, R1200GSA, K1300GT, R1100, K75
http://www.scfoster.com
fosters2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014