ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-03-2012, 09:38 AM   #1
moto-treks OP
Back Home
 
moto-treks's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Spokane Washington
Oddometer: 1,771
Installing a CPR air filter on my 990

The CPR Rottweiler air filter had been sitting around on my workbench for too long and it seemed like I would never have time to put it on. Then, yesterday, my wife announced she was going to visit her mom over the 4th - free time

A quick call to the tuner insured he could get me in and I started the install last night

Here is the stock configuration






and what it's going to look like



After a few hours I had the stock air box removed and the fuel injectors reinstalled.

__________________
Moto Trek'n to New York via the Trans Labrador Hwy, South America

Moto-Treks
moto-treks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 11:14 AM   #2
moto-treks OP
Back Home
 
moto-treks's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Spokane Washington
Oddometer: 1,771
SAS removal

I had thought I would just leave the SAS plumbing installed for now but when removing the stock air box I found out the the pump is attached to it So.......



It's gone now. For those of you removing the SAS, remove the rear cylinder plate first. Why? because the front cylinder plate is such a PIA to replace that if you try and do it first you will most likely decide it's not worth the effort I had to keep telling myself, the other plate is already removed - ya got to figure out how to get this one off
__________________
Moto Trek'n to New York via the Trans Labrador Hwy, South America

Moto-Treks

moto-treks screwed with this post 07-04-2012 at 07:44 AM
moto-treks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 12:05 PM   #3
moto-treks OP
Back Home
 
moto-treks's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Spokane Washington
Oddometer: 1,771
Setting up the base plate

Next it was time to setup the baseplate. The crankcase breather check valve and Temp Sensor need to be installed onto the Rottweiler baseplate.



Once the baseplate is mounted on the bike I rerouted the crankcase breather cutting about 1.5 inches off before it would match up to the check value. Then I tied to connect the temp sensor wire.



But it's not long enough. I've checked everywhere and there is no way for me to get the extra inch or two needed to connect the connector to the Temp Sensor
__________________
Moto Trek'n to New York via the Trans Labrador Hwy, South America

Moto-Treks
moto-treks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 01:03 PM   #4
EatinDirt
WannaB Thumpin
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: The Desert
Oddometer: 19
Your in way to deep now you can't stop and go back cuz I want those other filters....
EatinDirt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 02:05 PM   #5
moto-treks OP
Back Home
 
moto-treks's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Spokane Washington
Oddometer: 1,771
Quote:
Originally Posted by EatinDirt View Post
Your in way to deep now you can't stop and go back cuz I want those other filters....
Oh man don't I know it

I lengthened the wire for the Temp sensor about five inches and it fits great. Just hope adding the extra wire doesn't change the way the ECU reads the temperature.



After I had the connector installed I check the clearance with the secondary throttle. It didn't touch but was a little too close for me so I rotated the Temp Sensor 180 degrees in the base plate and now there is plenty of space between the connector and the secondary throttle arm.

This is how I ended up installing the Temp Sensor in the base plate.



Baseplate all ready to go - just need to add the filter

__________________
Moto Trek'n to New York via the Trans Labrador Hwy, South America

Moto-Treks

moto-treks screwed with this post 07-04-2012 at 04:18 PM
moto-treks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 07:49 PM   #6
moto-treks OP
Back Home
 
moto-treks's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Spokane Washington
Oddometer: 1,771
PIA SAS Plate

Here is the location of the front cylinders SAS plate. A real PIA to get at.

__________________
Moto Trek'n to New York via the Trans Labrador Hwy, South America

Moto-Treks
moto-treks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 08:10 PM   #7
moto-treks OP
Back Home
 
moto-treks's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Spokane Washington
Oddometer: 1,771
And Installed

And here it is all oiled up and installed









And all buttoned up - lots of room in there but I will need to take the top cover off to clean the filter



I didn't know if I needed to install a resistor in place of the SAS pump so for the first test I plugged the SAS pump in, hit the starter button and she fired right up

Next was to plug in TuneECU and switch the SAS off. After that I removed the SAS pump and again, she fired right up with no FI errors

Finally, since I'm guessing I'll be getting more air I loaded the map for a 2011 R Akrapovic slip-on, did the 15 minute idle reset and I was ready for a test ride.

All I can say is the bike ROCKS it has a lot more power over the whole RPM range.

Tomorrow I'm off for a custom tune
__________________
Moto Trek'n to New York via the Trans Labrador Hwy, South America

Moto-Treks

moto-treks screwed with this post 07-04-2012 at 07:52 AM
moto-treks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 05:55 AM   #8
cjracer
AWD please!!
 
cjracer's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Mukwonago, WI
Oddometer: 3,951
Wonderful Report. Thanks for posting. Very helpful.
__________________
My 2006 950S thread. 2006 950s update
New product updates here! Wordpress BLOG
click www.cjdesignsllc.com for the full line of products. FREE STUFF!!
cjracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 08:45 AM   #9
bikyto
Dans le doute...gaz!
 
bikyto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Oddometer: 2,139
If I may, the breather tube could get kinked as it is hooked up onto the bottom plate and is too long. Rerouting or shortening is necessary in my experience.

Great pix
Cheers!
__________________
The race is long and, in the end, it's only with yourself...
bikyto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 08:46 AM   #10
moto-treks OP
Back Home
 
moto-treks's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Spokane Washington
Oddometer: 1,771
More benefits

In addition to the increase in HP you also get to reduce the weight of your moto by removing all of this



and replacing it with this



for a total loss of 5 lbs
__________________
Moto Trek'n to New York via the Trans Labrador Hwy, South America

Moto-Treks
moto-treks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 09:11 AM   #11
moto-treks OP
Back Home
 
moto-treks's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Spokane Washington
Oddometer: 1,771
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikyto View Post
If I may, the breather tube could get kinked as it is hooked up onto the bottom plate and is too long. Rerouting or shortening is necessary in my experience.

Great pix
Cheers!
Good point - I had to cut mine 4 times before it was the right length

__________________
Moto Trek'n to New York via the Trans Labrador Hwy, South America

Moto-Treks
moto-treks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 09:15 AM   #12
bikyto
Dans le doute...gaz!
 
bikyto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Oddometer: 2,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by moto-treks View Post
Good point - I had to cut mine 4 times before it was the right length
__________________
The race is long and, in the end, it's only with yourself...
bikyto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 04:11 PM   #13
Helajames
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: San Diego CA
Oddometer: 25
I just got one for my 2010 990R, going to do the Sas removal at the same time, can you tell me where you found the KTM specific info on the tune ecu? Very interested in this too! Great info!

Jim
Helajames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 04:15 PM   #14
moto-treks OP
Back Home
 
moto-treks's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Spokane Washington
Oddometer: 1,771
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helajames View Post
I just got one for my 2010 990R, going to do the Sas removal at the same time, can you tell me where you found the KTM specific info on the tune ecu? Very interested in this too! Great info!

Jim
Here's the big thread on TuneECU for the 990. For the maps for the their TuenECU website
__________________
Moto Trek'n to New York via the Trans Labrador Hwy, South America

Moto-Treks
moto-treks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 10:24 PM   #15
moto-treks OP
Back Home
 
moto-treks's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Spokane Washington
Oddometer: 1,771
Tune done

Tune done and again WOW! I can't believe what a difference this filter makes. The 990 has all sorts of power from 3k to redline.

Some details.

My 990 is a 2010 Adv with a Remus Revolution TI 2 into 1 exhaust. I had been running the 2011 R map which helped the top end when compared to the standard ADV map. When I installed the CPR filter I knew I would be getting more air so I loaded the European 2011 R "Akropovic" map (KM601EU1180232Map.hex). These maps are known to put extra fuel into the system and on inspection in TuneECU, it did.

Nels, from 2 Wheel Dyno works, put the bike on the dyne and after a few runs said the fuel map was really very good for the setup. He decided to leave it as is and "smooth" out the ignition advance. After working on that he needed to add a bit more fuel based on ignition adjustments. Then he said, I got about 10 more HP with that change, take it for a test ride and let me know what you think.

Well, just putting the CPR on made a huge difference in power and the modifications Nels made to the map was another big boost

I rode 280 miles to get to Nels and another 100 after so I had time to do a before/after seat-of-the-pants comparison and what a difference the new map makes. The 990 pulls so strong now it's simply amazing. Passing is effortless - just open the throttle.

Tomorrow I take the moto off-road so I'll see how that work - I'm betting I'll need a bit more throttle control

If you're installed the CPR on your 990, I would load the Akropovic map. I guessing that if you're not running a 2 into 1, then you will need to add fuel too. I'd also suggest you take the bike to a Dyno and get a custom Tune if for no other reason then to ensure that you are not hurting the motor.
__________________
Moto Trek'n to New York via the Trans Labrador Hwy, South America

Moto-Treks
moto-treks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014