ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-28-2012, 12:18 PM   #1
Meritlane OP
Adventurer
 
Meritlane's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: LA,CA
Oddometer: 49
aux lighting switch

I am going to mount some Kolpin or Rigid lights to the F8. I'd love to see some switch mounting solution pictures.
Meritlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 12:34 AM   #2
Loutre
Cosmopolitan Adv
 
Loutre's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Reaver's Shed :o)
Oddometer: 3,217
1200gs Factory Auxiliary light wiring kit on f800gs

here is something we discussed last week
__________________
Keep the smile on your face!
F800GS - The ORANGE ones are faster!!

R1150GSA SE


Loutre is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 07:27 AM   #3
ebrabaek
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: El Paso,NM
Oddometer: 4,473
GPS Master, through BMW socket.... and Denali LED's aux'es. Waterproof switches...

__________________


Erling

ebrabaek screwed with this post 09-29-2012 at 02:45 PM
ebrabaek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 02:33 PM   #4
Meritlane OP
Adventurer
 
Meritlane's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: LA,CA
Oddometer: 49
nice installation, also worth a discussion that I haven't seen is, Rigid led's... are you running spots or floods? Why?
Meritlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 11:33 PM   #5
Nacho911
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Nacho911's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Alberta Rocky Mountains Canada
Oddometer: 453
Get an A7 parasitic switch. Use your existing switch to turn of your aux lights. See at mountain motorrad.ca. They have them. I have it ant it's great
__________________
Nacho911
Nacho911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 11:54 PM   #6
Unstable Rider
Beyond Thunderdome
 
Unstable Rider's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: 10,000 Lakes Minnesota
Oddometer: 2,335
I have one of these, simple, affordable - working great

Tusk Universal On/Off HANDLEBAR mounted Switch | ATV | Rocky Mountain ATV/MC
http://www.rockymountainatvmc.com/p/...-Switch/switch
__________________
.
-“Ah, you're wasting you're time. They can't track us over rocks. Tell them that.......... --Who are those guys?”
Unstable Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 04:42 AM   #7
Dorito
Dreamer and Doer
 
Dorito's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Maryland
Oddometer: 4,861
Highway Dirt Bike Switches

If you happen to have their top clamp:


Or if not:


http://www.highwaydirtbikes.com/HDB_...rtd9tdwq3220nm
__________________
Nothing (ad)ventured, Nothing Gained
Everything you want is on the other side of fear.
Dorito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 09:42 AM   #8
Meritlane OP
Adventurer
 
Meritlane's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: LA,CA
Oddometer: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nacho911 View Post
Get an A7 parasitic switch. Use your existing switch to turn of your aux lights. See at mountain motorrad.ca. They have them. I have it ant it's great

I couldn't find this parasitic switch to see what it's all about but there at great options here. is anyone using the switch that comes with the Rigids?
funny that you can get a nice$10 bar mount switch from Tusk or pay $30 for one from Highway
Meritlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 09:50 AM   #9
PatrickM
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Zephyr Cove, NV
Oddometer: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dorito View Post
If you happen to have their top clamp:


http://www.highwaydirtbikes.com/HDB_...rtd9tdwq3220nm
Totally loving the HDB setup, gives a lot of flexibility. I just happen to have two powerlets hard wired to the battery up top myself (can't remember if it's a 10A or 15A fuse) for heated gear

Care to describe your setup? I saw the "key attachment" but the description is a bit lax on their web page... Arrows, pictures, etc. would be much appreciated!
PatrickM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 09:17 PM   #10
Nacho911
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Nacho911's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Alberta Rocky Mountains Canada
Oddometer: 453
www.autoswitch.com ans your looking for the AS7

__________________
Nacho911
Nacho911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 10:01 PM   #11
greenthumb
b00b
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Okanagan, British Columbia
Oddometer: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nacho911 View Post
www.autoswitch.com ans your looking for the AS7

The concept and functionality of this is awesome!
greenthumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 10:41 PM   #12
JAWracing
n00bsticle
 
JAWracing's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Highlands, NSW, Australia
Oddometer: 16
RIGID LED lights.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meritlane View Post
nice installation, also worth a discussion that I haven't seen is, Rigid led's... are you running spots or floods? Why?
I have used the same switch mounting position on my bike, except I used a round non-illuminated water proof switch (personal choice). Fits perfectly there if you measure it right, and the wires poke up underneath nicely.

I only installed my Rigid DUALLY's a week ago, with the spot option. I used the bike coming home from work at 1am this morning. Amazing beam length, which I have only had before on a 4WD with Xenon driving lights. The lights paid for themselves this morning when I got to see a few kangaroos jumping out onto the road in front of me, so I had time to jump on the brakes instead of plowing into them.
__________________
If you never give up, then you can never fail.
JAWracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 04:04 PM   #13
Meritlane OP
Adventurer
 
Meritlane's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: LA,CA
Oddometer: 49
so if i get the spot versions of the lights will I see kangaroos even though I live in California.

Any other thoughts or reason to choose floods?
Meritlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 05:21 PM   #14
ebrabaek
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: El Paso,NM
Oddometer: 4,473
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meritlane View Post
so if i get the spot versions of the lights will I see kangaroos even though I live in California.

Any other thoughts or reason to choose floods?
With either halogen or hid , the stock has a good flood pattern..... The led foods would mirror that...... Apps will enhance the light pattern
,

I am not even going to delete this... Let it be a warning what happens if you type fast, and your iphone auto corrects you..... when....ehh...uhhmmmmm... your in another language mode..... pfffsstttt...
__________________


Erling

ebrabaek screwed with this post 10-02-2012 at 12:46 PM
ebrabaek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 10:43 AM   #15
Meritlane OP
Adventurer
 
Meritlane's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: LA,CA
Oddometer: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebrabaek View Post
With either halogen or hid , the stock has a good flood pattern..... The led foods would mirror that...... Apps will enhance the light pattern
,
what the heck are you saying?
Meritlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014