ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-01-2012, 10:23 AM   #1
GrimerX OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Oddometer: 12
Experience with AdvDesigns FuzeBlock

http://www.advdesigns.com/fuzeblock.html
I have a deposit down on a 2012 GSA and one of the first things that will need to be set up is my gerbings gear. This looks nice for wiring but was wondering if anyone has first-hand experience with it.

I need to ask them what the total allowed amperage is.

Also, any suggestion for a good place to mount it?

Thanks,

-Ian
GrimerX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 10:28 AM   #2
pm_wizard
Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Oddometer: 65
I had one on my VFR800, and have nothing but praise for the design and execution. I put it under the seat and ran gloves, jacket, Zumo 550 and an extra plug (use to be determined).

It went when I sold the VFR and I regret being in so much of a hurry to delive rto the buyer as I meant to keep the fuzeblock.

John
pm_wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 11:28 AM   #3
bigbadandugly
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: San Francisco
Oddometer: 393
I have a 2012 GS and mounted my FuzeBlock just above the battery against the tank where the manual is supposed to go. I removed the manual holder. You just have to make sure the height adjustment crossbar on the seat doesn't crush it.

I can't comment on the capacity but I have my Power Commander+Autotune running off it as well my Denali lights and PIAA 1100 LED lights with a GPS soon coming.

bigbadandugly
bigbadandugly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 08:17 PM   #4
kevin g
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 106
30 Amps Total

If my memory is correct the total is 30 amps for the Fuzeblock and 10 amps for an individual circuit. The ability to choose between switched or always connected to the power is great. I did not mount mine under the seat, I found space up front on the left side.

Check out this thread for how I mounted it: http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=812460

There is a switched connector up under the beak for a GPS that I am using to switch the Fuzeblock. The connector that mates to it is about $15 at the dealer.
kevin g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 08:33 PM   #5
El Gato
Studly Adventurer
 
El Gato's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Los Gatos, CA
Oddometer: 649
I don't have any experience with the FuzeBlock but if you want an alternative since it appears to be backordered (again) I'd heartily recommend the Eastern Beaver PC-8. It can be ordered with 30A or 50A harness and a diode already soldered in to protect the Canbus system. I've intalled this on two bikes now, including my current '12 GSA and it's a fantastic unit.
__________________
---
El Gato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 08:46 PM   #6
RobStar
Still On Training Wheels
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Las Vegas Baby!
Oddometer: 433
I'm running the FuzeBlock on my wife's 650GS twin and the Centech on my 1200GSA. Both are very good products. If I were to do it over again I'd put the FuzeBlock on the 1200GSA. The design of the FuzeBlock is a bit cleaner.

This goes without saying but I'm going to say it anyway; be sure to bring extra fuses in various amperage ratings. You can buy a couple of variety packs for cheap. We were in Capital Reef NP and I had fuses but not low enough amperage to use.

RobStar
__________________
Robert
Las Vegas

2010 1200GS Adventure
RobStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 09:32 PM   #7
aGremlin
Studly Adventurer
 
aGremlin's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: New Zealand!
Oddometer: 516
I've got one accessory hub under the tool tray, upside down glued to it.

The second sits under the tank just forward and above the air intake, in the centre of the bike...
__________________
Warning: My post quality varies according to my mood. If I sound sane give it a few minutes and I'll be back to normal
aGremlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 03:34 PM   #8
mcstark
KaTooM convert
 
mcstark's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Bflo, NY
Oddometer: 974
I have an 1150GS, so no comment on where to mount it. A previous poster is correct: 30A total and 10A for one circuit. It's an excellent product.

The manufacturer's site is here: www.fuzeblocks.com.
__________________
Regards,
Mark

2004 KTM 950 Adventure
mcstark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 05:11 PM   #9
Dorito
Dreamer and Doer
 
Dorito's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Maryland
Oddometer: 5,008
Pdm60

You might want to check this one out too


http://www.rowe-electronics.com/modules

ADV Vendor
__________________
Nothing (ad)ventured, Nothing Gained
Everything you want is on the other side of fear.
Dorito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 01:55 AM   #10
GrimerX OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Oddometer: 12
Thanks!

Thanks, also for install locations and pointers to alternatives. If it's 30A/10A then it may not work for me -- heated clothing. Will check those out when I get a chance. I'm on a trip and internet is spotty (man, I didn't much I had come to rely on it!). Trip is good but looking forward to getting back and finding my new bike waiting for me

-Ian
__________________
1982 Suzuki GS 1100G (Retired)
2002 Honda CBR 954
2013 1200 GSA
GrimerX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 09:58 AM   #11
mcstark
KaTooM convert
 
mcstark's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Bflo, NY
Oddometer: 974
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrimerX View Post
Thanks, also for install locations and pointers to alternatives. If it's 30A/10A then it may not work for me -- heated clothing. Will check those out when I get a chance. I'm on a trip and internet is spotty (man, I didn't much I had come to rely on it!). Trip is good but looking forward to getting back and finding my new bike waiting for me

-Ian
What heated gear do you have? I run my Tourmaster Synergy jacket through my Fuzeblock and don't have any problems. The jacket draws 7 amps.
__________________
Regards,
Mark

2004 KTM 950 Adventure
mcstark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 04:02 PM   #12
GrimerX OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Oddometer: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcstark View Post
What heated gear do you have? I run my Tourmaster Synergy jacket through my Fuzeblock and don't have any problems. The jacket draws 7 amps.
Gerbings. They use a 15A fuse, and jacket+pants draw up to ~13.5A.

So far I'm liking the PC-8 but still looking.

-Ian
__________________
1982 Suzuki GS 1100G (Retired)
2002 Honda CBR 954
2013 1200 GSA
GrimerX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 09:46 PM   #13
nickgindy
Doing it Wrong
 
nickgindy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Oddometer: 2,381
Love mine. Hasn't blown any fuses yet.
__________________

Each and every day is in memory of IMPD Officer Perry Renn. E.O.W July 5, 2014. "I will always get out of my car."
2003 Sv650s; 2012 BMW F650GS; 1999 Suzuki Dr 350se
http://www.youtube.com/fetuss10
nickgindy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 11:11 PM   #14
KMC1
There is no spoon.
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Greater SLC
Oddometer: 2,321
I want circuit breakers!!!!

I'm sick of worrying that I have enough of THE RIGHT fuses with me in the event I'm tracing a short!
__________________
Obama says adding $4 trillion to debt is unpatriotic: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1kuTG19Cu_Q&sns=em

An Overview of the United States National Debt: http://www.davemanuel.com/us-national-debt-clock.php
KMC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 07:33 AM   #15
mcstark
KaTooM convert
 
mcstark's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Bflo, NY
Oddometer: 974
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrimerX View Post
Gerbings. They use a 15A fuse, and jacket+pants draw up to ~13.5A.

So far I'm liking the PC-8 but still looking.

-Ian
Yeah, that would be a problem. I like the solid-state unit mentioned above. The 15A circuit would take care of you.
__________________
Regards,
Mark

2004 KTM 950 Adventure
mcstark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014