ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > The Rockies It's all downhill from here...
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-11-2012, 12:18 PM   #16
wbbnm
Beastly Adventurer
 
wbbnm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Abq NM
Oddometer: 1,972
The main thing a lot of us use routes for is planning trips on a computer using BaseCamp or Mapsource. We then convert the route to tracks to load on the unit to follow. BaseCamp will convert routes to tracks directly. If you are using Mapsource and good tool is the free 3rd party software WinGDB3.

When I am just trying to follow a track on the unit, I generally prefer to have City Navigator on - minimal clutter.

But as others have said CN is not as useful if you are just out exploring on your own. Different topo maps show different roads and trails. I was surprised recently to find that Topo 100 shows many roads and trails that do not show up in 24k Topos.
wbbnm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 02:21 PM   #17
Raul Duke
DROC
 
Raul Duke's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Woodland Park, CO
Oddometer: 1,771
Keep in mind that the active track log for those units are only 500 pts long - with a total of 20 saved tracks. I think the card memory is like 10k points or something but you cant pull card saved card tracks into the active track log on the unit itself. I guess my point is if you are doing real long trips, you will need to chunk up your tracks if you want to do active track logs.
For long/multi-day rides, what I have found to be better/easier in the long run is to do your own mapset - that is put all of your tracks together into one file from your planning tool of choice (I use Google Earth most of the time now), use GPSBabble to get it into a standard format like .gpx, then use a tool like GPX2IMG to create your very own selectable mapset in Mapsource/Basecamp. Download it to the GPS unit and it can be shown as its own map layer. Depending on how you cast your tracks, you can have routing enabled on your own tracks for thouse of you that like the routing feature.
YMMV
__________________
Help save our trails. Please support:
AMA
BRC
COHVCO
TPA
Raul Duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 03:26 PM   #18
SnowMule
[angry moth noises]
 
SnowMule's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: I LIVE IN A GIANT BUCKET
Oddometer: 18,322
"Active Log" on the 60/76 is 10k track points.

There's also 20 500-point "Saved Tracks", for another 10k points.

So 20k total, active log + saved tracks, capable of being displayed on the device at any one time.

With some setting combination (log track to data card on, and ... whatever setting it is that either loops back from the beginning of the active log or not when that fills up, you want that not wrapping around) you can still write your tracks to the data card and have 20k total track points displayed for your "routes".
__________________
Spewer of the poignant non sequitur
SnowMule is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 04:36 PM   #19
Raul Duke
DROC
 
Raul Duke's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Woodland Park, CO
Oddometer: 1,771
On the 60CSx If you can get the Activelog "Track log" tracks saved on the card to show up on the display, you are a better man than I.


Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowMule View Post
"Active Log" on the 60/76 is 10k track points.

There's also 20 500-point "Saved Tracks", for another 10k points.

So 20k total, active log + saved tracks, capable of being displayed on the device at any one time.

With some setting combination (log track to data card on, and ... whatever setting it is that either loops back from the beginning of the active log or not when that fills up, you want that not wrapping around) you can still write your tracks to the data card and have 20k total track points displayed for your "routes".
__________________
Help save our trails. Please support:
AMA
BRC
COHVCO
TPA

Raul Duke screwed with this post 10-11-2012 at 04:43 PM
Raul Duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 04:51 PM   #20
SnowMule
[angry moth noises]
 
SnowMule's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: I LIVE IN A GIANT BUCKET
Oddometer: 18,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raul Duke View Post
On the 60CSx If you can get the Activelog "Track log" tracks saved on the card to show up on the display, you are a better man than I.
Right, they won't if the active log has 10k points in it already.

But if it's full, the unit's not set to overwrite existing trackpoints, and tracklog to data card is turned on, you still get the "where I've been" data on the memory card. This can be pulled off on a computer.

If you're using the tracklog as a route and following it, why's it matter if you can see "where-i've-been"?
__________________
Spewer of the poignant non sequitur
SnowMule is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 05:29 PM   #21
Raul Duke
DROC
 
Raul Duke's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Woodland Park, CO
Oddometer: 1,771
My point is the way I usually use a GPS when I have a planned route is I want to upload a route or track that I want to follow - I Know where Ive been, I dont usually need to look backwards.
The fact is you will only be able to have 500 pts on a uploaded saved track file. If you are trying to upload a track file, it cannot be over 500 pts per file - if you try and force it, it will dumb it down for you.
For instance, if you had a file from your card tracklog - say previous track history for a full day you wanted to ride again - (I assume it would be over 500 points) When you try to upload that entire track back to the unit from Mapsource it will actually dumb it down to max 500 points when you try to upload it to the unit as 1 file track file. Which means you either have to break up the bigger track file into 500 pt sections for a maximum of 20 files if you want to retain track detail. For longer rides, this is a huge PITA if you ask me. I really like seeing detailed tracks/routes, not dumbed down estimates of once detailed tracks.
Active log shows where you have been - which doesnt help me when I am doing a multiday ride where I need lots of detailed tracks of where I need to go - which is why I personally go the mapset route. The only limitations you have is memory itself - which I think it caps at like 2gb or something for map imgages. I actually have a mapset for all of the NFS singletrack in CO on my GPS at all times. Try to do that with 20 500pt track files.

Here was another thread on ADV about the same thing...
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=193111



Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowMule View Post
Right, they won't if the active log has 10k points in it already.

But if it's full, the unit's not set to overwrite existing trackpoints, and tracklog to data card is turned on, you still get the "where I've been" data on the memory card. This can be pulled off on a computer.

If you're using the tracklog as a route and following it, why's it matter if you can see "where-i've-been"?
__________________
Help save our trails. Please support:
AMA
BRC
COHVCO
TPA
Raul Duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 05:33 PM   #22
RideFreak
Green Chile Eater
 
RideFreak's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: County Lockup, NM
Oddometer: 5,818
the 20 track/500 point limit isn't a big issue unless you are on multiday rides. I can comfortably get about 3 days off road out of the 20/500 constraint.
__________________
Chris
"Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but to rather skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting ... Holy Shit, what a ride!"
CL Adventure Ride 2013 /CL Revisited 2014 / 700 Miles of Scenic Utah Backcountry / MY VIDEOS
RideFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 05:46 PM   #23
Raul Duke
DROC
 
Raul Duke's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Woodland Park, CO
Oddometer: 1,771
It will also depend on how detailed (how close together) your points are. I tend to take/use very detailed tracks because I make compiled maps with my tracks. If you are just riding roads or known places you prob do not need lots of detail and you could get away with fewer points.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RideFreak View Post
the 20 track/500 point limit isn't a big issue unless you are on multiday rides. I can comfortably get about 3 days off road out of the 20/500 constraint.
__________________
Help save our trails. Please support:
AMA
BRC
COHVCO
TPA
Raul Duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 12:37 AM   #24
KMC1
There is no spoon.
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Greater SLC
Oddometer: 2,432
Some great info on here!

I just bought a 60CSX a couple days ago, and am in the process of setting it up. Great info on things like using google earth and stuff. I'm just starting out with it, so this is all new to me. I really appreciate all this discussion!
__________________
Obama says adding $4 trillion to debt is unpatriotic: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1kuTG19Cu_Q&sns=em

An Overview of the United States National Debt: http://www.davemanuel.com/us-national-debt-clock.php
KMC1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 07:54 AM   #25
NMTrailboss
Team Dead End
 
NMTrailboss's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Oddometer: 5,954
What is the advantage of navigating a trip using tracks instead of using the routes created on Mapsource/Basecamp? I've always used routes with no issues, but maybe I'm missing something here.
__________________
NMTrailboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 08:37 AM   #26
RideFreak
Green Chile Eater
 
RideFreak's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: County Lockup, NM
Oddometer: 5,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by NMTrailboss View Post
What is the advantage of navigating a trip using tracks instead of using the routes created on Mapsource/Basecamp? I've always used routes with no issues, but maybe I'm missing something here.
Routes tend to reduce the detail of the intended path with long straight sections between points. If you're not using routable maps and have your way planned, I don't see their advantage. If there's allot of pavement and you need to find stuff like fuel, food etc... routes might be a good idea although personally I don't like to rely on auto routing to find such things as fuel, its only going to work as long as the data is relevant and up to date.

Tracks really help when you have allot of trails and dirt roads in the vicinity of the ride or you're finding something in the middle of nowhere which happens allot around here.

NMTB, everything I've ever gotten from you is in tracks?
__________________
Chris
"Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but to rather skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting ... Holy Shit, what a ride!"
CL Adventure Ride 2013 /CL Revisited 2014 / 700 Miles of Scenic Utah Backcountry / MY VIDEOS
RideFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 08:50 AM   #27
wbbnm
Beastly Adventurer
 
wbbnm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Abq NM
Oddometer: 1,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by NMTrailboss View Post
What is the advantage of navigating a trip using tracks instead of using the routes created on Mapsource/Basecamp? I've always used routes with no issues, but maybe I'm missing something here.
Routes tend to do some really strange things unless you really have your act together. I don't. Every time I have tried to use a route something bad happens.

First the route is recomputed on the unit and it might not come out the same as on the computer. You have to have the road avoidances and preferences match. If you miss a turn the route wants to recalculate and this can lead to some wild gyrations. Routing wants to autozoom the screen in and out. These last two can be turned off.

Routing wants to rotate the screen to show what to do when you get to a turn. This unnerving when trying to ride.

Anyway I gave up and use tracks. I only use routing for ad hoc changes.

We were on a ride last week and one of the guys created an ad hoc route to get us back to town. The route took us in the exact opposite direction of where we wanted to go because he had his preferences set to avoid dirt roads. They guy didn't realize it since he was using Track Up orientation. I was too far behind him to get him to stop.
wbbnm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 09:24 AM   #28
NMTrailboss
Team Dead End
 
NMTrailboss's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Oddometer: 5,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by RideFreak View Post
Routes tend to reduce the detail of the intended path with long straight sections between points. If you're not using routable maps and have your way planned, I don't see their advantage. If there's allot of pavement and you need to find stuff like fuel, food etc... routes might be a good idea although personally I don't like to rely on auto routing to find such things as fuel, its only going to work as long as the data is relevant and up to date.

Tracks really help when you have allot of trails and dirt roads in the vicinity of the ride or you're finding something in the middle of nowhere which happens allot around here.

NMTB, everything I've ever gotten from you is in tracks?
Chris,

Yes, everything I've sent you is in tracks because I'm sending you actual tracks of trips I've already ridden and kept active track logs of. When I'm planning a new trip/ride though, I usually draw it out as a route. I have never used any auto-routing functions or routable maps (only using Mapsource 100K Topo) so when I draw a route, I just follow the bright purple line across the map on the GPS! Maybe this is too simple, but it seems to work OK for me. I'm referring to mostly off road here...not cross country on highways and interstates where I could see the auto-routing being a good feature. It seems that when I've tried to navigate by tracks that they are much harder to see on the screen than the bright, purple route. I am not using the turn-by-turn directions at all...just following the route/track line on the GPS map screen. I was just curious if there was something about using tracks that I haven't learned yet and could use in the future.
__________________
NMTrailboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 09:30 AM   #29
NMTrailboss
Team Dead End
 
NMTrailboss's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Oddometer: 5,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by wbbnm View Post
Routes tend to do some really strange things unless you really have your act together. I don't. Every time I have tried to use a route something bad happens.

First the route is recomputed on the unit and it might not come out the same as on the computer. You have to have the road avoidances and preferences match. If you miss a turn the route wants to recalculate and this can lead to some wild gyrations. Routing wants to autozoom the screen in and out. These last two can be turned off.

Routing wants to rotate the screen to show what to do when you get to a turn. This unnerving when trying to ride.

Anyway I gave up and use tracks. I only use routing for ad hoc changes.

We were on a ride last week and one of the guys created an ad hoc route to get us back to town. The route took us in the exact opposite direction of where we wanted to go because he had his preferences set to avoid dirt roads. They guy didn't realize it since he was using Track Up orientation. I was too far behind him to get him to stop.
Are you using City Navigator or 24K or some map that auto-routes? Using 100K Topo, I've never had issues with routes doing strange things or recomputing on the unit. They seem to transfer to the GPS exactly the way I drew them on Mapsource. The maps on Mapsource aren't always accurate so sometimes the routes are off because of that, but that is no fault of the GPS or routes themselves.

I must have my GPS set up with simple functions. My screen never rotates at an upcoming turn, it only rotates when I turn the bike in a different direction.
__________________
NMTrailboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 10:00 AM   #30
James Adams
Misplaced
 
James Adams's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: stuck in traffic
Oddometer: 9,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by RideFreak View Post
Routes tend to reduce the detail of the intended path with long straight sections between points. If you're not using routable maps and have your way planned, I don't see their advantage.
The Garmin US Topo 24K maps are routable (trails included). I use this all the time on my 62--it's one of my favorite things about it.
__________________
2009 KTM 505xc-f Rally
James Adams is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014