ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Old's Cool > Airheads
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2011, 05:06 PM   #121
wmax351 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Marin County and Berkeley, CA
Oddometer: 743
Its Done!

Thought I'd post an update.

Got it running well now. Took it to the local wrench to get a second set of eyes to look it over, and check out a funky idle issue (Jumpy Timing). Glad I did: It was missing some pinch bolts on the rear axle

Otherwise, it is going well. No problems, no clanking, no disaster waiting to happen.

Finished it just in time to surprise my dad when he returned from teaching a course on malaria in Kenya. Also, just in time for some Fall riding in the Bay Area.

I really appreciate all the help from the ADV and BMW community.
wmax351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 04:29 PM   #122
Cordless
Two Wheel Addict
 
Cordless's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: ABQ, NM
Oddometer: 2,005
I'm still interested in whether you have a 336 cam or not. I have a R75/7 with a damaged cam tip (thus the mechanical advance is inop) and am considering a hotter cam since I have to change the cam anyway.

Does your bike have the 336 and is that the cause of the original problem?
Cordless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 08:09 PM   #123
wmax351 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Marin County and Berkeley, CA
Oddometer: 743
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cordless View Post
I'm still interested in whether you have a 336 cam or not. I have a R75/7 with a damaged cam tip (thus the mechanical advance is inop) and am considering a hotter cam since I have to change the cam anyway.

Does your bike have the 336 and is that the cause of the original problem?
I'm really not sure. Adding the shims fixed it. If you put in a 336 cam, check for clearance, as it is not a stock engine.

You should be able to fix the cam tip. Drill and tap, or you could get a euromotoelectrics crank mounted ignition.
wmax351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 08:22 PM   #124
supershaft
because I can
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: San Francisco Bay area
Oddometer: 7,959
I have never put a 336 in a 750 but I don't see any problems there. You always want to check it before you start it anyway. I have put them in 900's and 1000's with 9.5:1 pistons and .0025" milled off the heads and there is still plenty of room there as is.
supershaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014