ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-12-2012, 07:45 AM   #106
Mad Kaw
purveyor of fine BS
 
Mad Kaw's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: The OK state ;)
Oddometer: 42
Just got back to this. Thanks for the info dede!
__________________
The Republic was healthy until Congress discovered it could tax the producers then leverage those monies to buy the votes of the freeloading zombies.
Mad Kaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 08:22 AM   #107
dede
Lefty
 
dede's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Indiana,USA
Oddometer: 161
About the other post, it looks to me like Dede used way more than just a K13 throttle drum. He's got a dual cable throttle housing that looks like it's from a K13 but the interface to the right side switch assembly needs quite a bit of modification to work on the R12GS bars. Looking at the pic he's got in his post, there's an intermediate aluminum part to make the GS switch bracket mate up. I'll send him a PM for more detail. Being able to run a dual cable throttle assembly is HUGE...[/QUOTE]

You are correct, I used the GT drum and the drum housing, I machined the throttle side off of the GS and the switch box side off the GT until both were flat and then screwed them together with very small flat head screws. The heated grip for the GT was a direct plug in to the GS and works fine.
__________________
The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are
willing to work and give to those who would not. Thomas Jefferson
dede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 04:25 PM   #108
Poolside
Syndicated
 
Poolside's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Oddometer: 11,682
Quote:
Originally Posted by dede View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poolside View Post

Summary of the above post. Mounting the Rostra Cruise on a R12GS:
1. Convert R12GS throttle grip to a 'twin throttle cable system' using two stock R12GS cables and the throttle drum from a 1300GT. One throttle cable connects to the Bowden box as it normally would. The new 'second' throttle cable connects to the Rostra unit.
2. The Rostra unit is equipped with has a throttle cable sticking out the side. Remove that cable and make an aluminum adapter to go from the Rostra unit to the new 'second' GS throttle cable.
3. Cut the 'cable ferrule' off the new 'second' GS throttle cable and solder on a new cable ferrule in order to achieve the desired inner cable length, and fit the cable to the Rostra unit.
4. The three pin plug under the beak contains a VSS signal. The blue w/green stripe works on the Rostra Cruise with the 6400 pulses per mile setting.

Presumably the pull up resistor mentioned above is required in step 4.

I DID NOT add any extra electrical components to my setup! This is on a 2009 R1200GSA non ABS.
Thanks for the clarification!

It might be that the Rostra has a built-in pull up resistor. Or maybe the pull up resistor is 'switched on' with a jumper or configuration setting.


__________________

IICE Air Hotrod your GS  Fuel Injection  Tech Info  Buy  Order List  Installation
Poolside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 07:20 PM   #109
Mad Kaw
purveyor of fine BS
 
Mad Kaw's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: The OK state ;)
Oddometer: 42
I just installed the Rostra CC on my 2005 1200GS. It works perfectly. The "blue/green" wire in the accessory harness under the tank worked perfectly. I tapped it directly with no modification using the grey wire on the rostra servo. It works great.

I have installed this cruise on several other bikes. None of my other bikes had a double throttle cable. They all worked perfectly. I've put over 50,000 miles on bikes using this CC with absolutely no problems. Currently have one on my R1150RT and it works flawlessly. The install of this unit on my 1200GS was much more straightforward. No modified Bowden box and a readily available VSS.

Thanks to all who posted here regarding the VSS signal.
__________________
The Republic was healthy until Congress discovered it could tax the producers then leverage those monies to buy the votes of the freeloading zombies.
Mad Kaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 09:50 AM   #110
dede
Lefty
 
dede's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Indiana,USA
Oddometer: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Kaw View Post
I just installed the Rostra CC on my 2005 1200GS. It works perfectly. The "blue/green" wire in the accessory harness under the tank worked perfectly. I tapped it directly with no modification using the grey wire on the rostra servo. It works great.

I have installed this cruise on several other bikes. None of my other bikes had a double throttle cable. They all worked perfectly. I've put over 50,000 miles on bikes using this CC with absolutely no problems. Currently have one on my R1150RT and it works flawlessly. The install of this unit on my 1200GS was much more straightforward. No modified Bowden box and a readily available VSS.

Thanks to all who posted here regarding the VSS signal.

So tell us, if you didn't modify the Bowden box how does the CC pull the throttle?
__________________
The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are
willing to work and give to those who would not. Thomas Jefferson
dede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 08:11 PM   #111
Mad Kaw
purveyor of fine BS
 
Mad Kaw's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: The OK state ;)
Oddometer: 42
Yep...I used the stock CC cable wheel for a 1200RT, return spring, and lid. They all install perfectly to the 1200GS bowden box. I had to drill a 1/4' hole in the right side of the bowden bow where the RT cruise cable would normally go. Then I used a bicycle cable to a slack tube I built from 1" PVC. In the slack tube I attached the bicycle cable to the Rostra servo cable with a ball chain.

I can post photo's if needed.

The cool thing was no serious surgery require to the bowden box (since the RT Box is essentially identical) and a useable VSS signal is readily available on the GS since it is wired almost identically to the RT...that has a factory cruise.
__________________
The Republic was healthy until Congress discovered it could tax the producers then leverage those monies to buy the votes of the freeloading zombies.
Mad Kaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 09:48 PM   #112
Mad Kaw
purveyor of fine BS
 
Mad Kaw's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: The OK state ;)
Oddometer: 42
Mounted the servo under the instruments on the Horn Bolt



Moved horn above



Switch Pad





After adding the BMW OEM Cruise Control cable wheel and return spring you need to cut the spool retainer on the box lid down to accommodate the new cable wheel. If not then you must use the lid from a 1200RT bowden box.



I used a standard copper tubing compression fitting to retain the cables. It was a 1/8" NPT to 1/4" compression fitting. The ferrel will fit the cable sheathing and hold it in the box and slack tube





Slack tube for cable - 1 inch PVC with 1/8 to 1/4 compression fitting to retain cable to and fro.



I used a bicycle cable to connect the BMW bowden box to the slack tube. The Rostra servo cable connects to the other end of the slack tube and a ball chain is used to connect the two. Not much slack is needed...just enough to allow the cable wheel in the Bowden box room to rotate easily.

You may be able to interface the Rostra directly to the BMW cable wheel but I didn't try. I post these pics merely for reference.

Also the way I mounted the switch pad was by drilling a hole through the handle bars and using a 5MM bolt and nut to fasten it to the bar.

This was pretty much the mechanical end of the install.
__________________
The Republic was healthy until Congress discovered it could tax the producers then leverage those monies to buy the votes of the freeloading zombies.
Mad Kaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 07:02 AM   #113
dede
Lefty
 
dede's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Indiana,USA
Oddometer: 161
Interesting, so you did modify the Bowden Box just with stock parts, that's were I was confused. Evidently the VSS signal wire you tracked down is the same one that terminates as a three wire connector under the beak of my 09. Although it was much easier for me to mount my CC box were the ABS unit goes I had considered the same location you used but did not consider that orientation. I was trying to come up with a mount that would work on my brother's ESA, ABS model as well as mine. Nice job.
__________________
The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are
willing to work and give to those who would not. Thomas Jefferson
dede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 06:26 PM   #114
Mad Kaw
purveyor of fine BS
 
Mad Kaw's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: The OK state ;)
Oddometer: 42
Well yes technically I "modified" it. But it was nothing like the mod I had to do to my R1150RT bowden box for same install. THAT was major surgery! But hey it worked. This GS install was much more straight forward. All ya have to do is add the OEM cruise cable wheel...return spring...and corresponding box lid (or just cut the spindle retainer off on YOUR lid). Very simple.

The VSS signal on the GS makes it much easier. On my 1150RT I had to install a magnetic coil pickup and magnets in the bolt heads of the brake rotor. This GS is much "cleaner".

Another option I've seen guys mount the Rostra servo in the void on the left side of the rear shock...IF the bike has had the venerable "canisterectomy". Mine has had the canister removed but we decided to mount the servo under the beak for several reasons.

PS: I am soooo glad you found that little blue/green VSS wire. People that have never installed one of these on a bike don't understand how significant that is is. KUDOS for finding it!
__________________
The Republic was healthy until Congress discovered it could tax the producers then leverage those monies to buy the votes of the freeloading zombies.
Mad Kaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 06:34 PM   #115
Mad Kaw
purveyor of fine BS
 
Mad Kaw's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: The OK state ;)
Oddometer: 42
Addendum: The bicycle brake cable I used was too stiff in the bowden box and created a problem when throttling off...the bike didn't quite return to idle.

So I pulled the 1/16th inch bicycle cable and replaced it with 1/16 inch wire cable from a hardware store that was more supple. I had to solder a round end on it to fit the cable wheel. But it worked! The more supple cable created no drag in the box and the system works perfectly now.
__________________
The Republic was healthy until Congress discovered it could tax the producers then leverage those monies to buy the votes of the freeloading zombies.
Mad Kaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 02:44 AM   #116
Poolside
Syndicated
 
Poolside's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Oddometer: 11,682

Nice work MK!

It's good that the VSS signal works as-is with the Rostra controller.


__________________

IICE Air Hotrod your GS  Fuel Injection  Tech Info  Buy  Order List  Installation
Poolside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 08:26 AM   #117
Denase
Denase
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 26
Cruise

OK I have the Rostra and I am about ready to start the install on my 2008 R1200GSA. Does anyone know the part numbers for the RT cable spool and return spring? I think there is also something else I need to order also. If you don't know the numbers do you have a source?

Thanks
Denase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 08:30 AM   #118
Denase
Denase
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 26
Blue Green wire location

I am a little confused about the location of the blue green vss wire? One post says it is under the beak, another says under the tank. Is that wire run through both locations?

Thanks
Denase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 08:44 AM   #119
rattis
Studly Adventurer
 
rattis's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: East of the seas of Kattegat
Oddometer: 876
Thumb Pictorial pls

MK great job for us who lack your wisdom how about a pictorial, pretty please.
__________________
I wish I had bought a GSA a long time ago
and now I drink Orange Crush as well, double up now, a 990Adv and a 950 SER
rattis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 09:04 AM   #120
Denase
Denase
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 26
Parts ordered

OK I ordered the parts from BikeBandit. A cruise control spool and return spring for a 2008 1200RT. All of 13.00 including shipping. When you connect the Rostra using the VSS signal only, not using the tach signal. Does the RPM over rev protection feature still work? Or is the tach wire required for that feature?

Thanks
Denase is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014