ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 139 votes, 4.81 average. Display Modes
Old 10-25-2012, 10:50 AM   #5701
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,688
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_PDX View Post
Maybe you all know this already but I didn't so I thought I would pass along what I discovered.

While I was playing around with Basecamp on my PC I noticed my iPhone was showing up under devices. When I clicked on it all my phone images showed up on the map.



I did not know Basecamp would do that. And the more I zoom in the more images start showing up in the map.

If you click on them it gives the GPS location and will let me mark them as a way point.

I figured images I take with the Montana would do this but was surprised the iPhone images did

Jon...
I don't see my iPhone under devices... and it is connected. Do you have any Garmin software installed on the phone?
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 10:52 AM   #5702
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,688
Quote:
Originally Posted by cablebandit View Post
You have the shaded relief turned on on the Montana.
I think what he meant was that the map on the gps, as seen in Basecamp, gave DEM data but the one installed on the computer did not. At least that's how I understood the problem. Not that I have a solution, mind you.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 07:38 PM   #5703
jconly
Gnarly Adventurer
 
jconly's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: NYC
Oddometer: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
First, can we assume you meant, "Show on Map" vs. "View Map"? Second, how many points are in your Track/s that is "disappearing at one point"?

Have you tried navigating the Track rather than just following one that you have set to "Show on Map"?

Cheers,
Correct assumption yes...
And what i meant by dissapearing at one point.. I meant that the entire track would just disappear randomly from the map.
I haven't tried navigating it no, because I'm navigating a direct route, and am using the track underneath as a more accurate breadcrumb. For some reason today, it showed up just fine, and held all day. I don't think theyre excessively big at all either. They're the track files from the TET, split into days. Only one set to be shown on map at once.

On a side note, is there a way to calculate the distance between points on a track? Or from your current location to the end of that track? That is, not just a direct line, but one that follows that path?
jconly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 06:20 AM   #5704
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by cablebandit View Post
You have the shaded relief turned on on the Montana.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
I think what he meant was that the map on the gps, as seen in Basecamp, gave DEM data but the one installed on the computer did not. At least that's how I understood the problem. Not that I have a solution, mind you.
Yes that's what I meant.

All viewing was done in Basecamp. I checked my Montana just now and in the map setup / advanced it has "shaded relief" set to "auto".

It would be nice if the map loaded on the computer would show the DEM data too. I was hopping there was a setting in Basecamp to enable that feature.

Jon...
__________________
2003 Nighthawk 750
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 06:32 AM   #5705
woodsatyr
Kitty Boy
 
woodsatyr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: NE FL
Oddometer: 438
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconly View Post
Correct assumption yes...
And what i meant by dissapearing at one point.. I meant that the entire track would just disappear randomly from the map.

This happens on mine too. I'll look at the map and the track I just drove will be gone. It'll start showing up again and disappear in random sections. It becomes a problem when you're trying to navigate a track that has disappeared.
woodsatyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 06:44 AM   #5706
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
I don't see my iPhone under devices... and it is connected. Do you have any Garmin software installed on the phone?
Nope as far as I know there is no Garmin software installed on the phone.

iPhone 4s - IOS 5..1.1
Windows 7 - Basecamp 4.0.2

I have a lot of images on the phone so it took awhile to load them. But the phone it's self showed up within 1-2 min's after I plugged it into the computer.

Here is a screen shot



Just for fun I plugged in one of my cameras and it also shows up. But..... Basecamp tells me that there is no data available even though there is a DCIM folder.

I suspect since the images on the camera do not have any location data embedded in them like the iPhone does Basecamp just ignores those images.

But that's just a guess.

Hope that helps,

Jon...
__________________
2003 Nighthawk 750
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)

Jon_PDX screwed with this post 10-31-2012 at 06:45 AM
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 10:44 AM   #5707
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_PDX View Post
Nope as far as I know there is no Garmin software installed on the phone.

iPhone 4s - IOS 5..1.1
Windows 7 - Basecamp 4.0.2

I have a lot of images on the phone so it took awhile to load them. But the phone only showed up within 1-2 min's to show up after I plugged it into the computer.

Here is a screen shot



Just for fun I plugged in one of my cameras and it also shows up. But..... Basecamp tells me that there is no data available even though there is a DCIM folder.

I suspect since the images on the camera do not have any location data embedded in them like the iPhone it Basecamp just ignores those images.

But that's just a guess.

Hope that helps,

Jon...
None of my iPhones are displayed in BaseCamp. I am running the latest firmware and versions on WIN XP.
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 11:05 AM   #5708
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,877
My iPhone 4 w/ iOS5 showed on my Windows 7 BC. But now I'm all Mac and of course no Mass Storage Mode allowed for iPhones (at least not my iPhone 5).

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 12:12 PM   #5709
BogeyMan
Gnarly Adventurer
 
BogeyMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: North Bay Area, CA
Oddometer: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
My iPhone 4 w/ iOS5 showed on my Windows 7 BC. But now I'm all Mac and of course no Mass Storage Mode allowed for iPhones (at least not my iPhone 5),
True, but the easiest way to pull images off the iPhone (any version) on the Mac is via Image Capture. When you import, you can import all or just selected and choose whether to leave on the phone or delete.
__________________
'06 BMW R1200GS - '11 Husaberg FE570S - http://photos.boggis.com
BogeyMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 12:24 PM   #5710
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,877
Quote:
Originally Posted by BogeyMan View Post
True, but the easiest way to pull images off the iPhone (any version) on the Mac is via Image Capture. When you import, you can import all or just selected and choose whether to leave on the phone or delete.
I'm an iPhoto user. Does the same thing.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 01:59 PM   #5711
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 8,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post
None of my iPhones are displayed in BaseCamp. I am running the latest firmware and versions on WIN XP.

iOS 6
BC 4.02
WIN 8 (just got it loaded up)

I can see my iphone and the pics on the map in Basecamp.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 02:07 PM   #5712
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 8,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
I'm an iPhoto user. Does the same thing.

Cheers,
As does LR4.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 04:49 PM   #5713
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,688
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
My iPhone 4 w/ iOS5 showed on my Windows 7 BC. But now I'm all Mac and of course no Mass Storage Mode allowed for iPhones (at least not my iPhone 5).

Cheers,
I guess that's my problem too - I'm using a Mac. I have Windows machines here too but I don't think it's worth using Windows just for that reason.

I usually use Picasa to import photos from my phone.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 12:06 PM   #5714
ChadHahn
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Tucson, AZ
Oddometer: 209
Whenever I plug in my iPhone Nikon Transfer opens up and I can download the pictures from my iPhone with that. I think it also works with the Canon picture software I have. If you have digital camera the software for managing photos will probably work for getting pictures off your iPhone.

Chad

P.S. This is on a Mac

ChadHahn screwed with this post 10-27-2012 at 05:45 PM
ChadHahn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 01:03 PM   #5715
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
My iPhone 4 w/ iOS5 showed on my Windows 7 BC. But now I'm all Mac and of course no Mass Storage Mode allowed for iPhones (at least not my iPhone 5).

Cheers,
Yup, just tried on my Mac and it does not show like it does under Win-7.

Interesting there is no Mass Storage mode for iPhones on the Mac. You would think Apple would allow that for one of their products.

So is there a way to import photos I took on my phone into BC on the Mac? I'm assuming any photos I take with the Montana will show up on the Mac or does the lack of Mass Storage mode also come into play with the Montana on the Mac?

Jon...
__________________
2003 Nighthawk 750
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014