ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Old's Cool > Airheads
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-16-2012, 07:34 PM   #1
wiznas OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Virginia
Oddometer: 18
Broken Turn Signal Switch - '83 R65

Hey all, I've been an airhead owner for about 4 blissful days, got my first little problem to work out. Previous owner is supposed to send me the Haynes manual but I have yet to see it. Any wisdom would be greatly appreciated, trying to get it inspected and registered asap.

The problem is I sheared off part of the electronic switch inside, so now the lever your thumb uses can't grab the sliding contact switch. You can see the broken piece and where it goes in the picture.

https://picasaweb.google.com/1179483...99698398196770

Is there a way to remove just this brown plastic piece? If so I could maybe make another one, or I could replace just that piece if there was a place that sold them. I only saw the complete assemblies (lights, horn, signals) for 100 bucks or so. ouch.

Tomorrow I'll try drilling a small hole and inserting a machine screw to take the place of the broken nib. But replacing the whole shabang would be ideal, this plastic is old and brittle.

Thanks for any input!
wiznas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 07:37 PM   #2
Uncle Pollo
happy cachiporra
 
Uncle Pollo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Albuquerque, Neue Messico
Oddometer: 47,374
I mad my own switxhes for 20 bucks. Left a.d right indicators separate. Not pretty but works and cozts 5 dollars to replace.
Uncle Pollo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 04:32 AM   #3
ME 109
Beastly Adventurer
 
ME 109's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Albury Australia
Oddometer: 1,913
Get a new one, or a s/hand one.
Fix it today.........fix it next week...........and the week after......etc, etc.
__________________
Lord of the Bings
ME 109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 10:13 AM   #4
Wirespokes
Beemerholics Anonymous
 
Wirespokes's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Location: Jackson's Bottom Oregon
Oddometer: 7,828
Your link didn't work for me, so I can't suggest a fix. But I'll bet there's a way to make it work.

From your description I don't really understand what broke. There's the whole switch assembly, and out of the front there's a flat metal post that swivels for the signals, with a plastic piece screwed to it. Did the plastic end break off?

Or did the metal piece break off or come out?
__________________
Wanted: Dead, smashed, crashed or trashed gauges
BMW GAUGE REPAIRS - TACH*SPEEDO*CLOCK*VOLT METER *PODs & LIGHT BOARD*
Wirespokes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 03:17 PM   #5
wiznas OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Virginia
Oddometer: 18
Link modified,
https://picasaweb.google.com/1179483...COn7lc3zrJadXg

yes the plastic sliding piece broke (which the lever comes in contact with). I couldnt figure out a way to save or rebuild the plastic piece without worrying about it breaking again, so I soldered on two switches instead. A bit rough looking but it'll hold me til I can afford a new switch cluster.

wiznas screwed with this post 10-19-2012 at 03:39 PM
wiznas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 08:43 PM   #6
Wirespokes
Beemerholics Anonymous
 
Wirespokes's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Location: Jackson's Bottom Oregon
Oddometer: 7,828
I'd have tried super glue to replace that nub.

As for the toggles, you know - a double pole toggle would have eliminated the need for two switches. Three positions - wire it so you've got left, off, and right.
__________________
Wanted: Dead, smashed, crashed or trashed gauges
BMW GAUGE REPAIRS - TACH*SPEEDO*CLOCK*VOLT METER *PODs & LIGHT BOARD*
Wirespokes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 05:05 AM   #7
Uncle Pollo
happy cachiporra
 
Uncle Pollo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Albuquerque, Neue Messico
Oddometer: 47,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by wiznas View Post
Link modified,
https://picasaweb.google.com/1179483...COn7lc3zrJadXg

yes the plastic sliding piece broke (which the lever comes in contact with). I couldnt figure out a way to save or rebuild the plastic piece without worrying about it breaking again, so I soldered on two switches instead. A bit rough looking but it'll hold me til I can afford a new switch cluster.
make a tab out of aluminum and hang the switches from the instrument cluster screw , between the handlebar assembly and the cover.

That is what I have .... no one can see them and they are easy to get to.
Uncle Pollo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 01:44 PM   #8
wiznas OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Virginia
Oddometer: 18
Spokes, I first bought a 3 way switch to do a cleaner solution, but after playing with it a little, there just wasnt enough travel to make it user friendly, I kept skipping over the middle stop. There's a good bit of pressure on those nubs, superglue was tempting and might have worked but I was worried about it popping far from home.

Pollo, that's a good idea to have them outside, it's pretty cramped in under that cluster with my new switches.


Thanks for all the advice!
wiznas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 04:12 AM   #9
Pharoah
Grouchy Smurf
 
Pharoah's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Alliston, ON
Oddometer: 24
I had the same part break on my R80 this summer when I had my little incident. I was able to crazy glue it together and so far no problems.
Pharoah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014