ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2012, 05:08 PM   #1
Gustavo.Ramos OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Gustavo.Ramos's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Accross the pond
Oddometer: 751
Question ECU swap??

Is by any chance possible to change the 07 990Adv stock ECU for a 2011 one, and have a properly working bike?

What would be the implications, or other components to the changed/affecteced?

__________________
Growing old is mandatory... growing up is optional!

Raid de L'Amitié 2011 RR (link)
690R
Gustavo.Ramos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 01:50 AM   #2
Spark01
V-Twin
 
Spark01's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Oddometer: 299
most likely this will not work.

The newer has a other part numer and most likely needs a newer mapping to handle this ecu.
Of course you can modify the injection times and ignition value's to a 2007 mapping.
But if i'm correct the 2007 doesn't have a immobilizer and the newer mappings will look for the immobilizer.
So you will not be able to start your bike.
__________________
'10 990SMT
Spark01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 04:16 AM   #3
tahoeacr
Beastly Adventurer
 
tahoeacr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Lake Tahoe
Oddometer: 2,210
I heard that the ECU and harness are different. This came from Dynojet and is the reason their pc V won't work on older 990's. One would ask why bother? If just for mapping youcan copy the tables over.
tahoeacr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 05:22 AM   #4
Peanuts
Beastly Adventurer
 
Peanuts's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Oddometer: 1,487
I think he has a non-runner and is looking for a reliable solution.

There will be a way, but not plug and play otherwise the local scumbags would be buying early 990 ECUs and stealing later bikes
Peanuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 08:06 AM   #5
Gustavo.Ramos OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Gustavo.Ramos's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Accross the pond
Oddometer: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peanuts View Post
I think he has a non-runner and is looking for a reliable solution.

There will be a way, but not plug and play otherwise the local scumbags would be buying early 990 ECUs and stealing later bikes
Thats a good point!

No go then.. or at least in a economic fashion.

Was thinking about swapping as '09s and later seem to be more economic and reliable.
__________________
Growing old is mandatory... growing up is optional!

Raid de L'Amitié 2011 RR (link)
690R
Gustavo.Ramos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 08:42 AM   #6
Peanuts
Beastly Adventurer
 
Peanuts's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Oddometer: 1,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gustavo.Ramos View Post
Was thinking about swapping as '09s and later seem to be more economic and reliable.
Really? Fueling can be fixed with a remap, check out the TuneECU thread.

I am pretty sure the 06 to 08 have no trouble with speedos and immobiliser or anything else........
Peanuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 10:41 AM   #7
Gustavo.Ramos OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Gustavo.Ramos's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Accross the pond
Oddometer: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peanuts View Post
Really? Fueling can be fixed with a remap, check out the TuneECU thread.

I am pretty sure the 06 to 08 have no trouble with speedos and immobiliser or anything else........
Been following the TuneEcu thread, a few hickups related to my laptop have been preventing from digging deeper.

Wasn't aware about immobiliser issues, guess it is another ktm "characteristic"...
__________________
Growing old is mandatory... growing up is optional!

Raid de L'Amitié 2011 RR (link)
690R
Gustavo.Ramos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014