ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-06-2012, 07:47 PM   #1816
MAXVERT
Rough Rider
 
MAXVERT's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Sun Valley Idaho
Oddometer: 989
Akra Map

'07 990A 22,000+ mi. Remus 2 to 1 CPR air filter O2 sensors on.
Akra map for 07/08 thanks Nils KM601AK0702S01
Throttle bodies balanced, TPS spot on.
So far 42-45 mpg. All rides with long stretches over 80mph and some 100+.
It's been in the mid 50's and colder up on the pass.
The bike runs better than it ever has, with beautiful smooth throttle action.

Now if I could only get my 690 to run this smooth.

Keep After It, Max
__________________
Da oggi la strada
senza limiti
MAXVERT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 07:49 PM   #1817
MAXVERT
Rough Rider
 
MAXVERT's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Sun Valley Idaho
Oddometer: 989
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenhaw View Post
Hi Everyone
Been reading most of the posts here, wauv. A lot of work has gone into this.
Have been fidling with a power commander 3 USB but without much luck.
Bought my bike used with the cans but no idea what map is inside the ECU. Have already ordered my cable and cant wait for it to arrive.
Have the same problem as others, stalling and twitchy throttle. The throttle I can live with but the stalling makes me very uncomfortable when riding my bike.
Looking forward to using the TuneEcu and getting in to the discussion
I am in Cannes,France.

Kenneth
Welcome to the OC and good luck with your tuning.

Max
__________________
Da oggi la strada
senza limiti
MAXVERT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 08:24 PM   #1818
Dusty
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dusty's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Bismarck
Oddometer: 1,167
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAXVERT View Post
'07 990A 22,000+ mi. Remus 2 to 1 CPR air filter O2 sensors on.
Akra map for 07/08 thanks Nils KM601AK0702S01
Throttle bodies balanced, TPS spot on.
So far 42-45 mpg. All rides with long stretches over 80mph and some 100+.
It's been in the mid 50's and colder up on the pass.
The bike runs better than it ever has, with beautiful smooth throttle action.

Now if I could only get my 690 to run this smooth.

Keep After It, Max
Hey Max, did you make any changes to the F/L switch or the second throttle plates on that map?
__________________
Originally Posted by d0gWateR
Vagrant, vagabond, transient, hobo, bum. But park a motorcycle next to him and PRESTO! He's an advrider!
Dusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 08:27 PM   #1819
DeepSea
electronically challenged
 
DeepSea's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: East Bay
Oddometer: 173
Offroad mileage?

Max, I'm curious what kind of mileage your averaging offroad.

I'm also running the Akra map, with a 2:1 but with O2 off and getting Low 40's.
But that's only while on the highway. Offroad I'm getting closer to high 20's and more typically low 30's.
__________________
CDR 2012 ------ Too Lazy to write my own RR
Commercial Diving flashlight and tools
It's not me. My bike is Narcoleptic.
Research is what I'm doing, when I don't know what I'm doing.
DeepSea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 08:31 PM   #1820
Dusty
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dusty's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Bismarck
Oddometer: 1,167
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenhaw View Post
Hi Everyone
Been reading most of the posts here, wauv. A lot of work has gone into this.
Have been fidling with a power commander 3 USB but without much luck.
Bought my bike used with the cans but no idea what map is inside the ECU. Have already ordered my cable and cant wait for it to arrive.
Have the same problem as others, stalling and twitchy throttle. The throttle I can live with but the stalling makes me very uncomfortable when riding my bike.
Looking forward to using the TuneEcu and getting in to the discussion
I am in Cannes,France.

Kenneth
Getting the TPS and throttle cables adjusted properly is important, also a reflash of the map and reset the adaptive values and do the 15 min idle... I bet will do wonders for your bike.
All very easy with TuneECU.
__________________
Originally Posted by d0gWateR
Vagrant, vagabond, transient, hobo, bum. But park a motorcycle next to him and PRESTO! He's an advrider!
Dusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 12:21 PM   #1821
kenhaw
2006 Adventure S EU
 
kenhaw's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Cannes, France.
Oddometer: 31
Took the bike apart today to remove the pc 3usb.
While I was at it, I removed the airfilter and saw that my sec throttleblades are not there
Sas has been removed too, so the previous owner did a lot of things, wonder if he messed with the mapping too? Time will tell. Still waiting for my cable
Kenneth
kenhaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 06:20 PM   #1822
MAXVERT
Rough Rider
 
MAXVERT's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Sun Valley Idaho
Oddometer: 989
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dusty View Post
Hey Max, did you make any changes to the F/L switch or the second throttle plates on that map?
No, I'm not that tech savy. I just used the stock akro map
and tried to get the balance and TPS correct.
Which seems to work well, the bike is headed South for the Winter.
Riding to Tierra Del Fuego.

Max
__________________
Da oggi la strada
senza limiti
MAXVERT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 06:23 PM   #1823
MAXVERT
Rough Rider
 
MAXVERT's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Sun Valley Idaho
Oddometer: 989
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenhaw View Post
Took the bike apart today to remove the pc 3usb.
While I was at it, I removed the airfilter and saw that my sec throttleblades are not there
Sas has been removed too, so the previous owner did a lot of things, wonder if he messed with the mapping too? Time will tell. Still waiting for my cable
Kenneth
You'll know what tune is installed when you hook it up to TuneEcu.
Might want to reinstall the 2nd butterflies and start from a known base.

Max
__________________
Da oggi la strada
senza limiti
MAXVERT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 07:52 PM   #1824
Dusty
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dusty's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Bismarck
Oddometer: 1,167
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAXVERT View Post
No, I'm not that tech savy. I just used the stock akro map
and tried to get the balance and TPS correct.
Which seems to work well, the bike is headed South for the Winter.
Riding to Tierra Del Fuego.


Max
Right....funny guy.

Safe travels... i bet your getting to know your way around down there on the otherside of the equator.... have fun and don't forget to twist it!

Scott
__________________
Originally Posted by d0gWateR
Vagrant, vagabond, transient, hobo, bum. But park a motorcycle next to him and PRESTO! He's an advrider!
Dusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 03:18 PM   #1825
nunzo
nunzo
 
nunzo's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: OH-MY-O?
Oddometer: 282
Oops

Sorry for the note, but please understand that I am computer illiterate.

After loading the drivers and setting things in motion for my 08 990 adv, I read the stock map, saved to my c drive successfully. Here is where I got freaked out...I was watching the Akra map load and right about 96% complete, the headlight turned on and the fuel pump reset? or turned on. I disconnected the cable and then tried to fire up the bike to finish off the loaded map with the 15 minute idle trick.

The bike would not turn over almost sounding like it was a bad battery? Incidentally, I keep the bike on a trickle charge at all times and kept the battery charger on during this session.

Did I mess something up with the map download??

Any help would be appreciated since I sure would like to ride this weekend.

Thank
nunzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 03:48 PM   #1826
moto-treks
Back Home
 
moto-treks's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Spokane Washington
Oddometer: 1,762
Quote:
Originally Posted by nunzo View Post
Sorry for the note, but please understand that I am computer illiterate.

After loading the drivers and setting things in motion for my 08 990 adv, I read the stock map, saved to my c drive successfully. Here is where I got freaked out...I was watching the Akra map load and right about 96% complete, the headlight turned on and the fuel pump reset? or turned on. I disconnected the cable and then tried to fire up the bike to finish off the loaded map with the 15 minute idle trick.

The bike would not turn over almost sounding like it was a bad battery? Incidentally, I keep the bike on a trickle charge at all times and kept the battery charger on during this session.

Did I mess something up with the map download??

Any help would be appreciated since I sure would like to ride this weekend.

Thank
Oh man I've never had of that happening.

When downloading a new map I see 100%. I don't remember the ECU resetting. Did you select disconnect from the TuneECU menu before disconnecting the cables and turning off the ignition?

Other than asking the experts here for advice I'd

1) Check my battery to insure it's in good condition and fully changed. How old is it?
2) If battery is good; Pull the fuse on the headlight.
3) Connect TuneECU to the bike
4) Read the map to see what was installed.
5) If map is the one you want then disconnect TuneECU.
6) Turn off ignition
7) Wait for a few seconds and try to restart.

However, it sounds like your battery may have a problem if it doesn't turn the bike over normally.
__________________
Moto Trek'n to New York via the Trans Labrador Hwy, South America

Moto-Treks
moto-treks is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 08:19 PM   #1827
Vicks
I love sand !!!
 
Vicks's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Abu Dhabi, UAE
Oddometer: 2,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by nunzo View Post
Sorry for the note, but please understand that I am computer illiterate.

After loading the drivers and setting things in motion for my 08 990 adv, I read the stock map, saved to my c drive successfully. Here is where I got freaked out...I was watching the Akra map load and right about 96% complete, the headlight turned on and the fuel pump reset? or turned on. I disconnected the cable and then tried to fire up the bike to finish off the loaded map with the 15 minute idle trick.

The bike would not turn over almost sounding like it was a bad battery? Incidentally, I keep the bike on a trickle charge at all times and kept the battery charger on during this session.

Did I mess something up with the map download??

Any help would be appreciated since I sure would like to ride this weekend.

Thank
Any error codes thrown up ?
__________________
'07 KTM Adv990S - Gone to a good home
'10 KTM 530Exc-Rally, some items for sale
No myriad hues of laser lights, no bottles that are oozing with nectars from heaven
No beautiful body soft and warm to the touch but, i have a very small desire
Give me a dark... long... winding road, three gears to go and my Hellas on fire !!
Vicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 05:13 PM   #1828
Imachimper
Newer than Noob
 
Imachimper's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Oddometer: 128
Got my cable today from DSW After backing up my current (stock ) setup, I plan on replacing it with a newer R map. Any advice out there for this switch? 2011 2012 ???

2010 990 ADV with stock cans.
Imachimper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 05:19 PM   #1829
nunzo
nunzo
 
nunzo's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: OH-MY-O?
Oddometer: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vicks View Post
Any error codes thrown up ?

No error codes after I downloaded the map. I ended up letting the bike charge all night and it fired up this AM. Ran the 15 minute idle trick and then took for it's first ride with the Akro map. All I can say is that I am amazed that I rode by bike for so long with the stock map. YES I AM AN IDIOT!!

The snatchy throttle has been almost eliminated compared to previous map. Definitley a rich mixture that I can smell in the exhaust...no more popping on decel. The 4K RPM rollon has been dramatically improved..no more stumbling. At small throttle openings (2k rpm) there is now a small hesitation, unless you accelerate hard and then you blow through it.

One new thing I noticed after my 65 mile inaugural ride...the bike stalled twice when decelerating (slowing to a stop light)...almost like the rpm's fell off to nil?

I defintiely have to ride the bike differntly with the new map. Overall I am happy it went OK. Next step fine tuning the low rpm hesitation. Any ideas? Throttle Bodies needing synched?

Thanks for the help.
nunzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 06:02 PM   #1830
Sirwrexalot
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Sirwrexalot's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Oddometer: 108
Finally

Just another new guy with a cable BUT Shootis sent me his file which seems to be a hybrid of sorts between the 2011 and the 2007 Stock maps with the butterflies set at no less than 25 and HOLEEE SHEEIT !!!! I love my new bike ...

The new map made my KTM seems like a different machine.. Smoooth., Not as twitchy. My wife even noticed the difference..

Doesnt seem as fast but like I said I would be glad to give up a few ponies for smooth and this is pretty dang nice.

I was at the point of possibly selling the KTM because I really didnt like the way it rode. but NOT NOW. this is how they should all run in my opinion. I only put about 60 miles on it but so far so good.

Thanks to James and everyone else that has been kind enough to share a map and inspire a newbie like me to dig a little deeper to make the 990 even better,
Sirwrexalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014