ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-15-2012, 04:02 AM   #1
wyrtyr2 OP
n00b
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: N. Wisconsin
Oddometer: 2
Eastern Beaver fuse block

I think my BMW canbus trickle charger is shot. Would running a SAE 2 prong plug though one of open circuits on my Eastern Beaver fuse block and using a non CanBus style battery maintainer work? Or does the fuse block prevent current from running towards the battery? The technical aspects of winter...
wyrtyr2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 05:51 AM   #2
TuefelHunden
Studly Adventurer
 
TuefelHunden's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Oddometer: 591
That would work. Just wire it to the unswitched connectors which would go directly to the battery.

I run an FZ1, similar but not quite so heavy duty as the Eastern Beaver. When putting it in I cut the under seat BMW power plug lead and connected it to an unswitched tap. I've made several pig tails to which all plug into the BMW (Powerlet) plug. One is SAE, one is a cigarette connector, another is a barrel connector to my heated gear. Since I can't think of when I'll be running my tire compressor, charger and heated gear all at the same time, it cuts down on the number of wires I have running around.
__________________
Old, but not Dead
TuefelHunden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 05:52 AM   #3
WoodButcher
Beastly Adventurer
 
WoodButcher's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Oddometer: 1,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyrtyr2 View Post
I think my BMW canbus trickle charger is shot. Would running a SAE 2 prong plug though one of open circuits on my Eastern Beaver fuse block and using a non CanBus style battery maintainer work? Or does the fuse block prevent current from running towards the battery? The technical aspects of winter...
Works on my bike just fine.
__________________
Rusty

2009 BMW R1200GS Adventure
1999 DR650
WoodButcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 06:20 AM   #4
SpeedySteve
Gnarly Adventurer
 
SpeedySteve's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Tucson, AZ
Oddometer: 145
SAE 2 prong works fine for me through my EB as well. I have powered my tankbag through powerlet components (which use an SAE cable as power-in). When on, the SAE cable is powering the tankbag. When not, i just have it velcro-ed to the middle of the handbars. I have it running through unswitched fuzed with a 7amp. I also run my slime pump on this SEA cable. 7 amp seems to be adequate!
__________________
2012 BMW GSA - yeehaw! 5 years of drooling, finally did it.
2003 SV650s
SpeedySteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 06:24 AM   #5
El Gato
Studly Adventurer
 
El Gato's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Los Gatos, CA
Oddometer: 649
Quote:
Originally Posted by WoodButcher View Post
Works on my bike just fine.
Same here. No problems running my Optimate charger through an unswitched port on the the EB.
__________________
---
El Gato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 01:55 PM   #6
solohvs
somewhere around the bend
 
solohvs's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: South East Pennsylvania
Oddometer: 173
Good Stuff

The Eastern Beaver stuff is fantastic.

The last few bikes I owned all had a couple products from EB and I never had a problem with any of it.
Good Stuff.
solohvs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014