ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Equipment
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-23-2012, 04:15 PM   #1
formulals1 OP
Semi-Adventurer
 
formulals1's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: NB, Texas
Oddometer: 288
Y connector for a RAM systems

I've always wanted a Y connection for my RAM systems setup so I made one for myself. For example a GPS and SPOT can be next to each other with only one handlebar mount. This one is a prototype but seems strong enough for real use and will field test it at some point. I'm hoping all the joints aren't too much for off road use.

Just wondering if other folks out there would also want to make use of a Y connection like this?

Here is a rough setup example:



formulals1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 04:17 PM   #2
Contevita
Cigar Adventurer
 
Contevita's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Gulfport, MS
Oddometer: 2,353
Hell yeah, I could use one of those too. Nice job!
Contevita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 04:26 PM   #3
sdpc2
Just another Rally Rat
 
sdpc2's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Somers, NY
Oddometer: 1,082
I went look on the RAM web site

about a year or two ago looking for exactly that. I was shocked that they didn't already make one. So HELL YEAH!
__________________
'12 R1200GS Rallye Edition, '04 R1150 RT,'98 DR350SE,
'99 R1100GS,'77 R100S

I lower my passenger pegs for those riders that have gone before me
sdpc2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 07:22 PM   #4
Flashmo
Whatever...
 
Flashmo's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Vagabond Hippie
Oddometer: 2,539
You guys talking about this?

http://www.rammount.com/CatalogResul...5/Default.aspx


It's been around for years.
Flashmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 08:07 PM   #5
formulals1 OP
Semi-Adventurer
 
formulals1's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: NB, Texas
Oddometer: 288
Kinda' but not really. I'm pretty sure it's not intended as a Y connection. Plus the balls screw in and could unscrew and have the connection slip. It's short of big and clunky for the task too ( for me).
formulals1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 04:55 AM   #6
a2ronm
Gnarly Adventurer
 
a2ronm's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Somewhere North of Charleston, SC
Oddometer: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flashmo View Post
You guys talking about this?

http://www.rammount.com/CatalogResul...5/Default.aspx


It's been around for years.
That is what I use, I have my smartphone mounted above my GPS off my dash base.



Would be nice if it was smaller 'footprint'.

a2ronm screwed with this post 11-24-2012 at 05:02 AM
a2ronm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 09:44 PM   #7
OldPete2112
Adventurer
 
OldPete2112's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Southern Vancouver Island
Oddometer: 86
Hmm, been using one for years to split my head tube mount on my zx14.

Have the Zumo 665 and radar detector mounted with it, put it in a fore and aft position with short arm low for Zumo and mid arm higher for detector.

Did you make yours from Delrin or something? No compression value to cushion the gear on the mount like a Ram ball. Nice job machining, but wonder haw it will hold up over time. Interesting.

OP


Its better to travel well than to arrive.
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
OldPete2112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 04:03 AM   #8
worwig
Lost in Georgia
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Oddometer: 902
Just replace the bolt in the arm with this:
http://www.rammount.com/CatalogResul...5/Default.aspx
Attach another arm to that.
__________________
Hog mountain Weather
worwig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 05:11 AM   #9
a2ronm
Gnarly Adventurer
 
a2ronm's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Somewhere North of Charleston, SC
Oddometer: 387
I'm going to try that.....thanks!
a2ronm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 06:02 AM   #10
formulals1 OP
Semi-Adventurer
 
formulals1's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: NB, Texas
Oddometer: 288
Cool, I like the other mountings shown here too. Options are good! I designed this in CAD and had it built of ABS plastic from a 3D printer (the industry I'm in so it was easy for me) to fit my needs. Designed to be compact (small footprint) and and quickly configurable with flexible options. Yes, no rubber on the ball as that might get too close to a Patent issue. Also, too many rubbery joints could add too much flex to the system. That rubber also helps get some bite at the joint at the same time I bet, though.

formulals1 screwed with this post 11-25-2012 at 06:09 AM
formulals1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 08:38 AM   #11
HaChayalBoded
Brooklyn Bored
 
HaChayalBoded's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: BRC \ NYC
Oddometer: 7,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by formulals1 View Post
Kinda' but not really. I'm pretty sure it's not intended as a Y connection. Plus the balls screw in and could unscrew and have the connection slip. It's short of big and clunky for the task too ( for me).
Those are not screw on balls, they're solid. I had one.
HaChayalBoded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 08:42 AM   #12
HaChayalBoded
Brooklyn Bored
 
HaChayalBoded's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: BRC \ NYC
Oddometer: 7,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by formulals1 View Post
Cool, I like the other mountings shown here too. Options are good! I designed this in CAD and had it built of ABS plastic from a 3D printer (the industry I'm in so it was easy for me) to fit my needs. Designed to be compact (small footprint) and and quickly configurable with flexible options. Yes, no rubber on the ball as that might get too close to a Patent issue. Also, too many rubbery joints could add too much flex to the system. That rubber also helps get some bite at the joint at the same time I bet, though.
It's not really rubber, it's vinyl dye. You can dip yours in the liquid rubber used for tool handles. That would give it more grip and a little more vibration control.
HaChayalBoded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 08:25 PM   #13
mle52
Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: slaton, tx
Oddometer: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by worwig View Post
Just replace the bolt in the arm with this:
http://www.rammount.com/CatalogResul...5/Default.aspx
Attach another arm to that.
Exactly what i was looking for, spent a lot of time on ram site and and never found this
mle52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014