ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-27-2012, 09:06 AM   #316
Mr. Canoehead
Taste Gunnels!
 
Mr. Canoehead's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, Too far to the mountains and too cold
Oddometer: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by roger 04 rt View Post
Hey MFF, Good question. The answer is I have never checked my static timing. I guess that I should. All I can tell you is I make a lot of test rides and often drop my head to the tank to listen for knocking. Only once have I heard anything and that was when I programmed a large lambda shift, didn't allow time for adaptation, and put the motor under a high load. That was about 8 months ago, one time.
If you get pinging/knocking, you'll know! The one time I got it after having to fill up with regular, I was shocked by how loud it was. I am used to hearing it in cars but with the exposed cylinders on the BMW, it comes through clear as day even at 50mph with earplugs on. I DO NOT want to hear that again!
__________________
2006 FJR1300A, 2005 GS1150 Adventure, 2002 DR650 SE, a fortune in Farkles.

"No matter how many [internet] opinions you line up, you can't vote nonsense into truth"- Kevin Cameron
Mr. Canoehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 10:52 AM   #317
TuefelHunden
Studly Adventurer
 
TuefelHunden's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Oddometer: 591
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Canoehead View Post
If you get pinging/knocking, you'll know! The one time I got it after having to fill up with regular, I was shocked by how loud it was. I am used to hearing it in cars but with the exposed cylinders on the BMW, it comes through clear as day even at 50mph with earplugs on. I DO NOT want to hear that again!
Canoe, I hear ya on that "you'll know" comment; but in reading a multitude of posts where "ping" was discussed, I'm not so sure it is all that obvious that most riders know much about ping. No matter what you do to the map, AF or ignition, you can still have detonation (ping). I've had my '11 1200GS for right on a year. I run mid-grade 89 ron/mon divided by two because that's what my owners manual says to use. I don't recall a single case of ping. I'm just getting to the point I can feel what gear I'm in in slow turns, but do occasionally get into a lugging situation, a situation I hate and one where detonation usually occurs. Where I'm heading with all of this is the way you operate the throttle, the gear that you are in AND staying away from cheap ass low octane have IMO way more to do with ping than maps.
__________________
Old, but not Dead
TuefelHunden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 11:46 AM   #318
Mr. Canoehead
Taste Gunnels!
 
Mr. Canoehead's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, Too far to the mountains and too cold
Oddometer: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by TuefelHunden View Post
Canoe, I hear ya on that "you'll know" comment; but in reading a multitude of posts where "ping" was discussed, I'm not so sure it is all that obvious that most riders know much about ping. No matter what you do to the map, AF or ignition, you can still have detonation (ping). I've had my '11 1200GS for right on a year. I run mid-grade 89 ron/mon divided by two because that's what my owners manual says to use. I don't recall a single case of ping. I'm just getting to the point I can feel what gear I'm in in slow turns, but do occasionally get into a lugging situation, a situation I hate and one where detonation usually occurs. Where I'm heading with all of this is the way you operate the throttle, the gear that you are in AND staying away from cheap ass low octane have IMO way more to do with ping than maps.
I believe your 1200 has a knock sensor, so if you do get pinging, the ECU will immediately pull timing. That won't help with lugging but at least the problem isn't compounded. Most modern cars have knock sensors, so hearing pinging is getting more and more rare.

In my turbo- and blower- equipped cars, pinging is VERY BAD. I once read that one ping under boost can destroy the apex seals in a Mazda RX-7 turbo.

A friend of mine swears that his '08 1200 will lose power after one tank of regular and it won't come back unless he resets the ECU, which suggests that the 1200 ECU immediately writes spark retard to the tables. He is a pretty knowledgeable guy (aka OCD Engineer, like me), so I have to believe him. It's ironic (and not in a Alanis Morrisette way) - he has a knock sensor, yet he is way more militant about Octane levels than I am because I just have to take it easy for one tank, he has to reset the ECU!

However, I agree with your comments, generally. When I got the pings on my bike, I just ran it at higher RPM in a lower gear until I used up that tank of gas. It only happened when I rolled on the throttle in 6th at low rpm to pass someone. I do have a bad habit of wacking open the throttle at low revs because the PCIII allows me to do so with no lugging (or pinging).
__________________
2006 FJR1300A, 2005 GS1150 Adventure, 2002 DR650 SE, a fortune in Farkles.

"No matter how many [internet] opinions you line up, you can't vote nonsense into truth"- Kevin Cameron
Mr. Canoehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 12:44 PM   #319
TuefelHunden
Studly Adventurer
 
TuefelHunden's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Oddometer: 591
I think it does have a knock sensor too, but am not sure. The lugging is an I/O problem, Ignorant / Operator. Still trying to train that dumb ass who sits in my saddle What my point is is that for some very smart people, it is part of the MC experience to get down into the minutia of tuning maps. Motorcycling is way more than putting in gas, hitting the starter and droning down the road. You can, though, compensate for a whole bunch of flaws by adapting your skills to the bike. For a lot of us real old geezers, we remember when that was almost the only option you had.
__________________
Old, but not Dead
TuefelHunden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 03:07 PM   #320
cycleman2
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Oddometer: 521
Pinging that you hear is certainly bad, but the pinging that you don't hear is equally bad. It's not uncommon for low level pinging to be happening and the operator doesn't hear it. That is the real advantage of a knock sensor.
__________________
1971 R50/5 Cafe Project
2013 DL650 Adv
cycleman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 03:19 PM   #321
Core10metal
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Core10metal's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Dirty Jersey...actually, clean north Jersey
Oddometer: 250
I have 2012 GSA with 18000 and I get pinging when I work the throttle. Dealer predictably told me its normal and his bike does it too. But he has also said that with every problem I've had. I found that for some reason when I wear ear plugs the problem goes away :P
Core10metal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 04:01 PM   #322
def
Ginger th wonder dog
 
def's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: The woods and mountains of Alabama
Oddometer: 9,598
Core 10? I used to work in Chicago where a number of downtown buildings were faced in Core ten. The concrete at the base of these buildings also took on the same patina as the building itself.
def is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 04:55 AM   #323
fred flintstone
Studly Adventurer
 
fred flintstone's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Above 7600 ft.
Oddometer: 525
Roger, Mr. C, et al,
Quick update here, the AFR meter I had ordered turns out to be the wrong one for my model PCIII, and the right one is NLA. So I have shut down experimentation on the GSA, spending the waning hours of this riding season tuning the PCIII on my FJR1300 (now improved with loud pipes, I feel so much safer).

Roger if you could maybe make a recommendation? And that would be what is the base configuration of the LC1 or other Innoavative products needed for basic data acq capabilities? It turns out the general state of knowledge of PCIII FJR ECU interaction is as pitiful as the GS, even more so, and some actual data would be good. On those models you disconnect the O2 sensor completely so that plug is just sitting there waiting for a wideband...

Thanks to everyone involved for a great discussion.

AJ
fred flintstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 02:43 PM   #324
roger 04 rt
Beastly Adventurer
 
roger 04 rt's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Oddometer: 2,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by fred flintstone View Post
Roger, Mr. C, et al,
Quick update here, the AFR meter I had ordered turns out to be the wrong one for my model PCIII, and the right one is NLA. So I have shut down experimentation on the GSA, spending the waning hours of this riding season tuning the PCIII on my FJR1300 (now improved with loud pipes, I feel so much safer).

Roger if you could maybe make a recommendation? And that would be what is the base configuration of the LC1 or other Innoavative products needed for basic data acq capabilities? It turns out the general state of knowledge of PCIII FJR ECU interaction is as pitiful as the GS, even more so, and some actual data would be good. On those models you disconnect the O2 sensor completely so that plug is just sitting there waiting for a wideband...

Thanks to everyone involved for a great discussion.

AJ
AJ,

Since I've got the GS-911 for the R1150, it pairs fairly well the the LC-1. The GS-911 can log data points for everything the Motronic tracks, about 14 items including RPM, TPS, Spark, Injection and all the sensors. Then I use the LC-1 to log realtime O2 data. I don't know what I'd do if I didn't have the GS-911.

The LC-1 comes with a Bosch LSU 4.2 O2 sensor, Wideband Controller, AFR Gauge, serial cable (need to buy serial to USB cable), calibration switch and LED status lamp. All you really need is a cable to connect to your ECU O2 input if you want Closed Loop and some very basic junction box to terminate and wire the cables together (there's a thread called Wideband O2 Installation Overview). It also comes with AFR logging software. So basically you buy the LC-1 and a $5 plastic junction box and apart from the wiring job, that is everything.
roger 04 rt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 04:49 PM   #325
Mr. Canoehead
Taste Gunnels!
 
Mr. Canoehead's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, Too far to the mountains and too cold
Oddometer: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by roger 04 rt View Post
AJ,

Since I've got the GS-911 for the R1150, it pairs fairly well the the LC-1. The GS-911 can log data points for everything the Motronic tracks, about 14 items including RPM, TPS, Spark, Injection and all the sensors. Then I use the LC-1 to log realtime O2 data. I don't know what I'd do if I didn't have the GS-911.

The LC-1 comes with a Bosch LSU 4.2 O2 sensor, Wideband Controller, AFR Gauge, serial cable (need to buy serial to USB cable), calibration switch and LED status lamp. All you really need is a cable to connect to your ECU O2 input if you want Closed Loop and some very basic junction box to terminate and wire the cables together (there's a thread called Wideband O2 Installation Overview). It also comes with AFR logging software. So basically you buy the LC-1 and a $5 plastic junction box and apart from the wiring job, that is everything.
I have the same LC-1 and was wondering if the datalogger is worth the extra $$. I might be better off just buying a GS911.

Sent from my Droid Tablet using Tapatalk
__________________
2006 FJR1300A, 2005 GS1150 Adventure, 2002 DR650 SE, a fortune in Farkles.

"No matter how many [internet] opinions you line up, you can't vote nonsense into truth"- Kevin Cameron
Mr. Canoehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 05:08 PM   #326
fred flintstone
Studly Adventurer
 
fred flintstone's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Above 7600 ft.
Oddometer: 525
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Canoehead View Post
I have the same LC-1 and was wondering if the datalogger is worth the extra $$. I might be better off just buying a GS911.

Sent from my Droid Tablet using Tapatalk
Yeah I did not realize the GS911 was doing all the heavy lifting on the DA side on Roger's RT. I may have to negotiate further with Santa.
fred flintstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 07:42 PM   #327
roger 04 rt
Beastly Adventurer
 
roger 04 rt's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Oddometer: 2,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Canoehead View Post
I have the same LC-1 and was wondering if the datalogger is worth the extra $$. I might be better off just buying a GS911.

Sent from my Droid Tablet using Tapatalk
I owned my LC-1 for a few months before I realized the datalogger for O2/AFR was an integral part of it. You just install the free logworks software, attach a cable from the LC-1 to a PC and you're good to go.

Even if you don't have a GS-911, you can learn a great deal about how your bike is running by logging the AFR.
roger 04 rt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 10:19 PM   #328
GS-Jake OP
Live to Ride Adventurer
 
GS-Jake's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Brisvagas. Once was God's country!
Oddometer: 352
I started this thread 6 years ago almost to the day and it now has 31,500 views and still going. I didn't realise that this was such an on going problem.

I've moved on, not everyone else has. Unfortunately that 1150 is sold, still have the Ducati, looking at a new 1200 this year I think

Regards
__________________
2013 BMW R1200 GS Adventure - Tripple Black
2005 BMW R1150GS Adventure - Gone
2009 Ducati 1100 Multistrada Sold
I just do what the voices tell me
GS-Jake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 11:12 AM   #329
JohnGS1100
Gnarly Adventurer
 
JohnGS1100's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Location: GREECE
Oddometer: 128
I want ask a very important question :

Can i use monotronic MA 2.4 (from 1100s) on my gs 1100 ? The original one is monotronic 2.2

Thanks
JohnGS1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 11:36 AM   #330
GS Addict
Pepperfool
 
GS Addict's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Sunshine Coast B.C.
Oddometer: 3,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnGS1100 View Post
I want ask a very important question :

Can i use monotronic MA 2.4 (from 1100s) on my gs 1100 ? The original one is monotronic 2.2

Thanks
Pinouts are different, in a word - no
__________________
Old enough to know better....
Young enough to try it again
GS Addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014