ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 8 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 11-28-2012, 03:05 PM   #61
wayne_l
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Oddometer: 176
The standard GPS maps that my I phone 4s came with has got me out of pretty crazy areas .. and the new split screen and actual pic of the lanes is awsome and mine seems to be accurate within 50 ft ..

it does everything my nuvi 2555 does . I ride a KLR and keep it mounted on a bicycle mount on my bars in a lifeproof case with no issues as of yet .
wayne_l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 04:28 PM   #62
mpatch
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: N Colorado
Oddometer: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayne_l View Post
The standard GPS maps that my I phone 4s came with has got me out of pretty crazy areas .. and the new split screen and actual pic of the lanes is awsome and mine seems to be accurate within 50 ft ..

it does everything my nuvi 2555 does . I ride a KLR and keep it mounted on a bicycle mount on my bars in a lifeproof case with no issues as of yet .
get out of cell coverage and get back to me, there are no "installed" maps on the Iphone, you need a data connection
mpatch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 04:29 PM   #63
mpatch
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: N Colorado
Oddometer: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTBTX View Post
Does anyone know if MotionX or other iPhone GPS apps can feed turn-bu-turn via bluetooth to a headset?

yes
mpatch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 08:09 PM   #64
lhendrik
Truffle Rustler
 
lhendrik's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: New York and Floridoodie
Oddometer: 2,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpatch View Post
get out of cell coverage and get back to me, there are no "installed" maps on the Iphone, you need a data connection
I realize that he was talking about the standard base map app, and true, it has no installed maps, but one can install an app like Navigon and get true offline mapping with turn by turn, etc....just saying...so folks realize that no data connection is needed.
__________________
Normal is just a setting on the dryer.
2009 R1200GS A, 2008 K1200GT
lhendrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 08:54 PM   #65
wilkinsonk
Riff Raff
 
wilkinsonk's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Alexandria, Virginia
Oddometer: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTBTX View Post
Does anyone know if MotionX or other iPhone GPS apps can feed turn-bu-turn via bluetooth to a headset?
IIRC,
MotionX GPS Drive = yes
MotionX GPS = yes

I found the functionality of GPS Drive to be just as good as the older Nuvi unitrs.
wilkinsonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 11:46 AM   #66
Superfish
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Northfield, VT
Oddometer: 133
I've read this thread and any others that I could find but:

My normal mode of operation is to plot my trip on mapsource and then transfer it to my Garmin 2610. I stay on pavement so this has taken me around the country for thousands of miles. Now I find that I can mount my iPad with a RAM mount (seems solid and more vertical so the sun won't be such a problem) and have all the benefits of larger screen and up to date maps. I live in Vermont so I won't really find out if this works until some time in April.

I've tried MotionX drive and like it. But I can't find a way to plot my route and then port it to the iPad. It seems that this only works for MotionX GPS and that doesn't seem to be good for road travel, I didn't buy it.

It's not clear that Navigon can do this either and I like to find out before I spend $50+.

So, any suggestions?? I can export gpx files from MapSource.
__________________
bob
"Live while you're alive"

1983 V65 Magna
1984 700cc Magna
1982 V45 Sabre (Project)
Superfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 12:09 PM   #67
wilkinsonk
Riff Raff
 
wilkinsonk's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Alexandria, Virginia
Oddometer: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superfish View Post
I've tried MotionX drive and like it. But I can't find a way to plot my route and then port it to the iPad. It seems that this only works for MotionX GPS and that doesn't seem to be good for road travel, I didn't buy it.

So, any suggestions?? I can export gpx files from MapSource.

You are correct, GPX importing only works for MotionX GPS, not Drive. I think the apple device need to be jailbroken in order to get converted GPX files into Navigon.
wilkinsonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 12:24 PM   #68
Superfish
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Northfield, VT
Oddometer: 133
My iPad is jail broken, I'll look on those forums also.

I'll be grateful for any other ideas.
__________________
bob
"Live while you're alive"

1983 V65 Magna
1984 700cc Magna
1982 V45 Sabre (Project)
Superfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 05:22 AM   #69
seevtsaab
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Smugglers Notch VT
Oddometer: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superfish View Post
I've read this thread and any others that I could find but:......

......It seems that this only works for MotionX GPS and that doesn't seem to be good for road travel, I didn't buy it.

.
What was it about MotionX GPS that didn't seem good for road travel? I don't get turn-by-turn but I visually follow the track
I created, seems to work OK on te moto - checking the screen becomes more important than road signs.

Granted if I was taking all main roads (ala the cage) Drive is better suited.
seevtsaab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 03:13 PM   #70
nicola_a
Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, AU
Oddometer: 55
Hi everybody,

MotionX is awesome on the bike in Australia (where I'm based) - my cellphone plan has lots of data included so I never need to worry about that stuff.
I'm wondering, what happens with map downloads when I go overseas. I was thinking of getting a TravelSIM which comes with 1GB of 'data'. I'm a bit of a tech idiot with these things --- does using Motion-X GPS use up a lot of data on the phone? Or will I need to download/cache maps for offline use?

Cheers
Nicola
nicola_a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 03:29 PM   #71
EmmEff
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 1,572
The amount of data will depend on how far/wide you intend to travel. I would still recommend using wifi whenever possible to cache maps. It's faster, for one.
__________________
2001 F650GS Dakar
2008 DR-Z 400S
EmmEff is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 05:07 PM   #72
KiloBravo
Armchair Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Alabamistan
Oddometer: 483
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmmEff View Post
It's faster, for one.
+1
And if you have downloaded maps you no longer need, clear them to help with speed.
KiloBravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 08:03 AM   #73
Superfish
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Northfield, VT
Oddometer: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by seevtsaab View Post
What was it about MotionX GPS that didn't seem good for road travel? I don't get turn-by-turn but I visually follow the track
I created, seems to work OK on te moto - checking the screen becomes more important than road signs.

Granted if I was taking all main roads (ala the cage) Drive is better suited.
I have voice turn by turn on the Garmin 2610 and I want it on any thing that I switch to. If I'm going on a trip of a few days or a couple weeks I like to plot (at home) each day as a separate route. Doing that in a tent on an iPad doesn't have much appeal. Since I ride a Honda V-65 Magna I'm pretty much confined to hard surfaces.
__________________
bob
"Live while you're alive"

1983 V65 Magna
1984 700cc Magna
1982 V45 Sabre (Project)
Superfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 04:40 AM   #74
mrfixit54016
Wisconsin Dual Sporter
 
mrfixit54016's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Hudson, WI
Oddometer: 578
Advancing Map Position

When I have used my MotionX app, it seems to follow the track until it gets to the edge of the screen and then my triangle cursor drives right off the map. I have to advance the position of the map myself to bring the cursor back into view.

Is there a way to set the app to automatically follow you while you are moving?
__________________
1994 XR650L farkled
1985 XL600R (sold!)
1985 XR600R tagged
1983 XL100S
1985 ATC250ES
mrfixit54016 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 12:23 PM   #75
EmmEff
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 1,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrfixit54016 View Post
When I have used my MotionX app, it seems to follow the track until it gets to the edge of the screen and then my triangle cursor drives right off the map. I have to advance the position of the map myself to bring the cursor back into view.

Is there a way to set the app to automatically follow you while you are moving?
MotionX Drive or GPS?

I believe this is the "normal" behaviour on MotionX Drive if you're routing and not subscribing to the maps.
__________________
2001 F650GS Dakar
2008 DR-Z 400S
EmmEff is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014