ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Road warriors
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-10-2012, 01:05 PM   #1
LaOutbackTrail OP
Certified Smartass
 
LaOutbackTrail's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Denton, TX
Oddometer: 5,058
Pissed 1995 Speed Triple carb woahs...

Hey guys,

I bought a Triumph S3 a couple years ago. Long story short, it hasn't been ridden and has sat for two years now. Well, the seals between the carbs gave out so I replaced them, which means I separated the carbs. I took the time to "clean" them too, but they were spotless as they were. I did not change any settings, jets, screws, idle or the like. Reassembled and now the bike starts with the choke on, but just sitting there warming it revs up and down, uncharacteristic from before. Take the choke off and it dies. I was able to ride it if I kept the RPMs up and slipped the clutch a bit, almost as if trying to ride with the choke still on. But, the choke lever is very visible and the choke is for sure turned off.

Drained the petrol tank and replaced with new fuel.

Thoughts?
LaOutbackTrail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 02:22 PM   #2
BuddingGeezer
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Benton, AR
Oddometer: 232
Idle up and down. You got an air leak, too lean.
BuddingGeezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 04:21 PM   #3
Oldbutslow
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Oldbutslow's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Allen, TX
Oddometer: 117
I'm not completely sure they share the same carbs, but I had a friend with a Trophy 12 that had problems due to laying up the bike too long. The local Triumph dealer finally threw their arms up and told him it needed new carbs. They couldn't find parts! BTW, I had the orange '95 Speed3. Loved the engine, but it was a beast of a bike. ,BK
__________________
'09 Street Triple R
'08 CRF230L
Oldbutslow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 04:48 AM   #4
anotherguy
Beastly Adventurer
 
anotherguy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: the hills
Oddometer: 5,979
Intake leak.
__________________
A lie has no feet......it can't stand alone.............
Jason Newsted
anotherguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 06:32 AM   #5
kdxkid
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Eastern Shore, MD
Oddometer: 20
also you need to sync the carbs together. You have a master carb where the throttle butterfly is set @ factory and adjustable with an 'idle adjuster knob' or screw. The remaining carbs thorttle plates are connected via linkages to the master carb. The linkages should have an adjustment feature so you can adjust the relative position of the throttle butterflies to one another. It is recommended to do this using vaccuum gauges to get even vaccuum across the 3 carbs.
kdxkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 08:10 AM   #6
LaOutbackTrail OP
Certified Smartass
 
LaOutbackTrail's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Denton, TX
Oddometer: 5,058
Thanks guys I'll re-check the vacuum lines and intake connections. Its just a burden taking the tanks and stuff off for about the 5th time....
LaOutbackTrail is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014