ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Fluff > Shiny things
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 12-13-2012, 01:07 PM   #16
Going_Commando
Studly Adventurer
 
Going_Commando's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: New Hampshah
Oddometer: 511
Cisco/linksys is the best. For that size office get one with external antennas or at least a wifi extender if you dont want to do the 2 routers with same ssid route.
Going_Commando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 04:40 PM   #17
PineyMountainRacing OP
Oops....
 
PineyMountainRacing's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: SW Florida / Western NC
Oddometer: 2,174
Thanks for the ideas, I'll check them out. I had a NetGear N600 Dual Channel that was given to me NIB. I tried to use it to replace my older Linksys at home, thinking it would be faster. But every time I try to hook it up it knocks my cable modem off line, or something like that. So I'm back to using the Linksys and I'll.just pick up one of these for the office.
PineyMountainRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 05:15 PM   #18
BerndM
Shiftless One
 
BerndM's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Near Disneyland, in SoCal.
Oddometer: 1,561
Unless you absolutely NEED to use wireless because of physical constraints, you should go with CAT-5 net cable. Once installed you'll never need to think about it again.
BerndM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 09:09 PM   #19
rapidoxidationman
Easily trainable
 
rapidoxidationman's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: The Teton Rockies
Oddometer: 8,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by BerndM View Post
Unless you absolutely NEED to use wireless because of physical constraints, you should go with CAT-5 net cable. Once installed you'll never need to think about it again.

Sent from your Rotary Phone using an etch-a-sketch on dialup?

Seems like a cable takes the "mobile" out of "portable".

Some things in my home are wired (blu ray disc player, desktop computer, etc). Some things aren't (laptop, smartphone, etc.)...
__________________
Quote:
Patrick:
I know I'm feeling badly when I have no interest in speeding
rapidoxidationman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 09:53 PM   #20
~DC~
An Internet Legend
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Oddometer: 492
Quote:
Originally Posted by rapidoxidationman View Post
Sent from your Rotary Phone using an etch-a-sketch on dialup?

Seems like a cable takes the "mobile" out of "portable".

Some things in my home are wired (blu ray disc player, desktop computer, etc). Some things aren't (laptop, smartphone, etc.)...

There are fewer security concerns with a wired network. OP may not have any reason to worry about it though.
~DC~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 04:20 AM   #21
PineyMountainRacing OP
Oops....
 
PineyMountainRacing's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: SW Florida / Western NC
Oddometer: 2,174
Quote:
Originally Posted by BerndM View Post
Unless you absolutely NEED to use wireless because of physical constraints, you should go with CAT-5 net cable. Once installed you'll never need to think about it again.
All of my office computers are connected to a DSL line via a switch and Ethernet cable. I'm changing my voice phones over to a different provider to save $ and as a part of that package ill have a 2nd "economy" Internet, I'm keeping the hard wired system and DSL for business. I just thought it would be nice to have a wireless router on the new line (cable) so if I wanted to use my iPad over the lunch hour I could. I also have an app on my Droid that I use dozens of times per day, was thinking if I accessed it thru a wifi it might be quicker than 3G/4G.
PineyMountainRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 07:52 AM   #22
rapidoxidationman
Easily trainable
 
rapidoxidationman's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: The Teton Rockies
Oddometer: 8,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by PineyMountainRacing View Post
All of my office computers are connected to a DSL line via a switch and Ethernet cable. I'm changing my voice phones over to a different provider to save $ and as a part of that package ill have a 2nd "economy" Internet, I'm keeping the hard wired system and DSL for business. I just thought it would be nice to have a wireless router on the new line (cable) so if I wanted to use my iPad over the lunch hour I could. I also have an app on my Droid that I use dozens of times per day, was thinking if I accessed it thru a wifi it might be quicker than 3G/4G.
I installed this app on my android. You might find it handy to discover if your wireless would actually be faster than 3G/4G or not.. Before I bumped my DSL speed to 5Mbps, the 4G would easily outpace it.
__________________
Quote:
Patrick:
I know I'm feeling badly when I have no interest in speeding
rapidoxidationman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 07:58 AM   #23
Xeraux
Archvillain
 
Xeraux's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Oddometer: 30,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by rapidoxidationman View Post
Sent from your Rotary Phone using an etch-a-sketch on dialup?

Seems like a cable takes the "mobile" out of "portable".

Some things in my home are wired (blu ray disc player, desktop computer, etc). Some things aren't (laptop, smartphone, etc.)...
I have the iMac desktop, Apple TV, BluRay player, XBox, and printer in my home hard wired and like PMR suggested, I just use wireless for the iPad/iPhone/laptop.
__________________
Every saint has a past and every sinner has a future.

If, after I depart this vale, you ever remember me and have thought to please my ghost, forgive some sinner and wink your eye at some homely girl.
Xeraux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 01:53 PM   #24
Going_Commando
Studly Adventurer
 
Going_Commando's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: New Hampshah
Oddometer: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by rapidoxidationman View Post
I installed this app on my android. You might find it handy to discover if your wireless would actually be faster than 3G/4G or not.. Before I bumped my DSL speed to 5Mbps, the 4G would easily outpace it.
My 4g connection is ~35 mb/s. So it is definitely better than dsl. Then again, I have 100mb/s service at home.
Going_Commando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 10:37 AM   #25
NikonsAndVStroms
Beastly Photographer
 
NikonsAndVStroms's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: The Hub of the Universe
Oddometer: 38,574
Bump.

Same situation, need a router for a small business, in a small office but with lots of walls so a powerful one would be best. And it's been almost 5 months which in the tech world means new products are probably out.

Also I saw airport as suggestions....I had a nightmare with one, it would need rebooted daily which is not acceptable for this place.
__________________
Motorcycles save lives


"It's the game of life. Do I win or do I lose? One day they're gonna shut the game down. I gotta have as much fun and go around the board as many times as I can before it's my turn to leave."
NikonsAndVStroms is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 08:51 PM   #26
KSJEEPER
Beastly Adventurer
 
KSJEEPER's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Kansas City area
Oddometer: 4,352
I like hanging an access point(s) off of a router with the radio turned off.

The typical wireless router is pretty weak with regards to output, but you can simply use it as a router, and hang as many AP's as you want off that router (radio turned off) and broadcast whichever SSID"s you want. Provide Guest capability if desired, or separate 2.4 and 5ghz SSID's if you want.

I've been running an Amped Wireless at home, much more power thank the typical little Linksys wifi router. And dual band. Lighting up 5ghz can make a big difference, if you are around other businesses or have other 2.4ghz running in your space.

My home security network and cameras are all 2.4, and I saw a marked improvement in going dual band.
__________________
2002 KLR650 - 2007 HD Electra Glide
'It doesn't matter how big a ranch ya' own, or how many cows ya' brand,the size of your funeral is still gonna depend on the weather.' Harry Truman
"Death smiles upon us all, a U.S. Marine smiles back"
KSJEEPER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 08:51 AM   #27
janeuner
Get Some
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Illinois
Oddometer: 1,337
The E3000 refurbs sold out recently. Too bad.

I just set up one of these TP-LINK devices as a dedicated access point. I was happy with the feature set and performance. Unless I see a bad sample in the next month or two, it is now my goto recommendation.

I always preferred the router-as-ap setup because they are cheaper, more flexible, and they easily double as a gigabit switch.

As always, YMMV.
__________________
'06 Suzuki Boulevard C50
'92 Suzuki GS500E (sold)
janeuner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 09:06 AM   #28
NikonsAndVStroms
Beastly Photographer
 
NikonsAndVStroms's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: The Hub of the Universe
Oddometer: 38,574
Quote:
Originally Posted by janeuner View Post
The E3000 refurbs sold out recently. Too bad.

I just set up one of these TP-LINK devices as a dedicated access point. I was happy with the feature set and performance. Unless I see a bad sample in the next month or two, it is now my goto recommendation.

I always preferred the router-as-ap setup because they are cheaper, more flexible, and they easily double as a gigabit switch.

As always, YMMV.
How is the range? This will only need to go for 20 feet but there will be 4-6 walls between it and the furthest terminal.
__________________
Motorcycles save lives


"It's the game of life. Do I win or do I lose? One day they're gonna shut the game down. I gotta have as much fun and go around the board as many times as I can before it's my turn to leave."
NikonsAndVStroms is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 09:19 AM   #29
janeuner
Get Some
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Illinois
Oddometer: 1,337
Installed in the center of the house in the basement. Netflix worked outside the house up to about 15 yards. Fairly certain it would be usable through 4 sheetrock walls. Not sure beyond that.
__________________
'06 Suzuki Boulevard C50
'92 Suzuki GS500E (sold)
janeuner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 10:48 AM   #30
NikonsAndVStroms
Beastly Photographer
 
NikonsAndVStroms's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: The Hub of the Universe
Oddometer: 38,574
I decided to just say screw it and go on site with an old extended range G router. N has even more range so if it works then a good N will be fine . I just keep looking around and without any data points it's hard to guess this all while basically blind to the wall thickness etc.

Thanks for your help guys.
__________________
Motorcycles save lives


"It's the game of life. Do I win or do I lose? One day they're gonna shut the game down. I gotta have as much fun and go around the board as many times as I can before it's my turn to leave."
NikonsAndVStroms is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014