ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 12-30-2012, 05:45 PM   #1
dogjaw OP
plays well alone
 
dogjaw's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: between the Ozarks and the Ouachitas
Oddometer: 2,868
Nuvi 550 equivalent?

Ram mount on my 550 snapped, now I am GPS-less; the price on the discontinued 500 line is higher now than when they were new. I loved the features of the 550, didn't feel the need for the bells of the higher models; what model should I be looking for now?
__________________
By God, Woodrow; it's been one hell of a party.
dogjaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 05:37 PM   #2
mcnut
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Bakersfield CA & Sammamish WA
Oddometer: 1,360
A used Nuvi 550, Zumo 220 or maybe a new Zumo 350?

Bruce
mcnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 02:38 AM   #3
glynb
Relentless Underachiever
 
glynb's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: N/W Louisiana
Oddometer: 771
Quote:
Originally Posted by dogjaw View Post
Ram mount on my 550 snapped, now I am GPS-less; the price on the discontinued 500 line is higher now than when they were new. I loved the features of the 550, didn't feel the need for the bells of the higher models; what model should I be looking for now?
I just bought a new Nuvi 550 with Ram mount at GPS City for about $230.00, so they're still available.
__________________
glynb
02 Honda ST1100 "STella"

"Pour yourself some backbone, and shaddup!"
Movie- Colt .45
glynb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 12:46 PM   #4
River Pilot
"Razor Six"
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Cheyenne, Wyoming
Oddometer: 62
Good morning Dogjaw,

Briefly looking at your post, it appears the Ram Mount broke and not the device itself. You can buy a new mount from Ram. If it was a mount direct from Garmin, you can buy a new mount from them. You can also call Garmin Tech support and get a device repair/replacement cost. They will offer advice, replacement options and pricing.

Nuvi 550
https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?pID=27442

click on the page above, navigate to the tabs and click on, accessories, mounts:

https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?pID=27931
Universal Mounting Cradle with Power Cable (Bare Wires)
Part Number: 010-11143-07 $50

If you are looking at new devices and would like an overview, click here for a current primer:
http://advrider.com/forums/showpost....68&postcount=2

Good luck,

River Pilot
Cheyenne, WY. U.S.A.
Web: www.riverspilot.com
River Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 03:44 PM   #5
Fudge
Adventurer
 
Fudge's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Naperville, IL
Oddometer: 40
Just bought a Nuvi 500 from Amazon for $199. Seemed like a good price to me.
Fudge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 03:57 PM   #6
redwing51
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: Eastern Pennsyltucky
Oddometer: 73
Brand new Nuvi 550 available on Amazon for $200 and a RAM handlebar mount for same for $35.
I have used a Nuvi 550 on my bike but vibrations seem to make it go on and off. (a real pain) I just live with it. If I unplug it and just let it run on its internal battery, it does fine.
redwing51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 07:17 PM   #7
dogjaw OP
plays well alone
 
dogjaw's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: between the Ozarks and the Ouachitas
Oddometer: 2,868
Thanks for the input; just scored a 550 on eBay... Very happy, as I was getting tired of searching, the nuvi has everything I'm looking for, track on.
__________________
By God, Woodrow; it's been one hell of a party.
dogjaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 10:32 AM   #8
ODogs
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: MA
Oddometer: 24
argggg I'm also looking for the Nuvi 550.
The best I could find on either eBay or Amazon is $350.00. Hoping not to spend that much. Found the 500, but as I understand it doesn't have Canadian maps. I have 2 trips planed to the great white north, (one on snowmobile, one on the GS12 come spring). Does it make sense to just buy the Nuvi 500 and purchase the maps separately?
ODogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 06:08 AM   #9
dogjaw OP
plays well alone
 
dogjaw's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: between the Ozarks and the Ouachitas
Oddometer: 2,868
Search ebay user "geekdeal", he had 5 listed for 268, no shipping; auction has ended, but he may not have sold them all... Snagged mine for 207, two mounts, topos, etc, I'm pretty stoked.
__________________
By God, Woodrow; it's been one hell of a party.
dogjaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 07:02 AM   #10
Merlin III
Mean SOB
 
Merlin III's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Maine
Oddometer: 1,464
They are out there for under 200.00

They are out there. I got mine for about this price last year. A very quick search got me here:
http://www.drivengps.com/Garmin-Nuvi...p/gd123574.htm
__________________
"I have approximate answers and possible beliefs and different degrees of certainty about different things, but I am not absolutely sure about anything." Richard Feynman, CalTech Scientist, Challenger Disaster Committee member.
Merlin III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 12:29 PM   #11
macbethandbanquo
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Swamplands of Southeast Louisiana
Oddometer: 114
Glad to see I'm not the only one using the Nuvi 550. Love mine! No troubles at all.

I had heard that if there are loose connections from the battery it would come on and off.

I did NOT want to wire it to the bike battery, so I just carry a couple of "spare" batteries for the Nuvi 550. when I get where I'm going, I charge them. Works great, and I can remove the Nuvi and put it in my pocket to get around in large cities.

I am one of those guys that don't "program" a GPS. I just use it for seeing where I am and getting me where I want to be.

Have mine of a ball Ram mount with a rubber shim and have no issues at all. Get in the car, them pop it into a cradle and put it on dash. Simple.

Touch screen even works with gloves!

Glad to see that they are still around!
macbethandbanquo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014