ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > The Rockies It's all downhill from here...
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-07-2013, 08:41 PM   #1
Myfuture_yourdebt OP
Banned
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Front Range, CO
Oddometer: 372
I saw this on the highway today...

I didn't know Magpul was located in Erie!

You can see a man's shoulder height on the right edge of the picture for size reference. And he was doing 65 on the highway no problem it seemed. WOW
Myfuture_yourdebt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 08:49 PM   #2
Indy Unlimited
Beastly Adventurer
 
Indy Unlimited's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Parker, CO
Oddometer: 1,274
Sweet Tonka!
__________________
Current Stable:

2013 Ducati Hypermotard SP, 2011 Husaberg FE570S, 2011 BMW S1000RR, 2010 BMW F800GS
2007 Husqvarna TE610 , 2003 KTM 525 MXC
Indy Unlimited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 09:00 PM   #3
turbodieseli4i6
Gnarly Adventurer
 
turbodieseli4i6's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: SW Missouri USA
Oddometer: 428
Sweet!
__________________
2012 NC700X
turbodieseli4i6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 09:21 PM   #4
TNC
Candyass Camper
 
TNC's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Tejas
Oddometer: 4,590
While on one of the backcountry dirt sections in Big Bend National Park last month, I came upon a Man truck camper that looks a little like that rig in the pic...maybe a little bigger. It was as big as one of those Dakar racing trucks, and it was really impressive. They were camped way out back in one of the primitive sites near the Rio Grande river.
TNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 07:23 AM   #5
airjammer
Gnarly Adventurer
 
airjammer's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: The Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Oddometer: 275
Thumb Magpul Unimog

Unimogs are pretty cool. Seems logical that a company like Magpul would convert one into a company car.
__________________
Wilderness is not a luxury but a necessity of the human spirit.
Edward Abbey
airjammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 08:07 AM   #6
Bike4Fun
Smooth IS Fast
 
Bike4Fun's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Denver
Oddometer: 1,668
I've met the guy. I'm not sure if its his or a clients but he does some awesome work!

http://couchoffroad.com/
Bike4Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 10:27 AM   #7
Myfuture_yourdebt OP
Banned
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Front Range, CO
Oddometer: 372
Couch Offroad did make this truck. They're actually located just north of me. I realized that given the location and direction of where this truck was headed, he had probably just visited Couch and was going back to Erie. Given how close Magpul and Couch are I bet he does the periodic maintenance on the truck.

Magpul even sponsored a similar truck for Couch to take to the Breslau Rally race in the last year or two. They stuck a 24v Cummins in it...talk about a dream of mine!

YouTube "truck trials" to see how awesome the Europeans are. The only we have that seems to even compare to their Tatra trials trucks are rock-crawler buggies like what Poison Spyder Customs was doing in Denver a few years ago before they closed their doors.

Another awesome version of Euro offroading is called the Ladoga Trophy. YouTube it, it seems tougher than the Breslau as far as the terrain...nothing but mud and water.
Myfuture_yourdebt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 11:46 AM   #8
Raul Duke
DROC
 
Raul Duke's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Woodland Park, CO
Oddometer: 1,758
Thats frickin cool!
__________________
Help save our trails. Please support:
AMA
BRC
COHVCO
TPA
Raul Duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 12:05 PM   #9
dirtrulz
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: denver co
Oddometer: 472
Those tires would be seriously scary on the road, and illegal, other than that it would be fun to drive. Bet it cost as much as my house too.
dirtrulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 03:06 PM   #10
Raul Duke
DROC
 
Raul Duke's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Woodland Park, CO
Oddometer: 1,758
Well, you wont be seeing that in CO any longer if HB1224 passes.

http://www.facebook.com/magpul

Per Magpul...
"Leadership team is at the Capitol again today, holding the line. Regardless of a manufacturing exemption or not, if HB1224 passes, we have to go. We can't disappoint our customers nor ignore our convictions. Anyone who votes in favor of this bill votes to drive over 600 jobs out of CO. We'll have some contact information for some further assistance coming up soon."
__________________
Help save our trails. Please support:
AMA
BRC
COHVCO
TPA
Raul Duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 03:40 PM   #11
MeterPig
Meh
 
MeterPig's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Parker, Colorado...
Oddometer: 17,089
Yep, if the dems push this through, it will be their downfall. Sad to think they (the politicians) are spending so much time accomplishing absolutely nothing.
__________________
You looked down here...didn't you.
MeterPig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 05:03 PM   #12
wzd1a
Beastly Adventurer
 
wzd1a's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Castle Rock
Oddometer: 1,363
I don't think they'll be headed to Missouri (aka misery)

Here are some additional provisions found in the gun control bill:
(1) Remove the assault weapon or large capacity magazine from the state of Missouri;
(2) Render the assault weapon permanently inoperable; or
(3) Surrender the assault weapon or large capacity magazine to the appropriate law enforcement agency for destruction, subject to specific agency regulations.
[..]
5. Unlawful manufacture, import, possession, purchase, sale, or transfer of an assault weapon or a large capacity magazine is a class C felony.
So essentially the law would turn a law-abiding gun owner today, into a felon tomorrow.
State Reps. Rory Ellinger (D-86) and Jill Schupp (D-88) reportedly introduced the anti-gun legislation, House Bill 545, this week.
wzd1a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 06:24 PM   #13
oldmanb777
Just say NO to socialism!
 
oldmanb777's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Centennial,Co./ Grand Lake,Co
Oddometer: 3,674
Cocksukers! blaming normal citizens for a sick society. Went to the movies yesterday. ALL the comercials for upcomming movies were violent in the extreme, with NO consequences. WTF!!!!!!
oldmanb777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 08:35 PM   #14
hook0924
Gnarly Adventurer
 
hook0924's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: San Francisco on the Rio Grande
Oddometer: 345
Question Unimog

We use the Unimogs at work for IED training and general soviet area boondocking (why would germany make a Unimog in a country where there are no dirt roads), very universal Trucks.As for the political end of things in a country where we elevate the incompentent and corupt to the highest levels of power and villifying the most productive, Ce'Est John Gault? See you in Colorado
__________________
I promise to tell the truth, nothing but the truth, but not the whole truth, so help me God!
Member NMOHVA, AMA
hook0924 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 09:29 AM   #15
Raul Duke
DROC
 
Raul Duke's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Woodland Park, CO
Oddometer: 1,758
Not to make this all political 'n shit, but just in case anyone here would like to contact the CO Representatives today about HB1224...

Here is a complete list of the of the names and number of people who
need to be contacted TODAY:

Colorado State House of Representatives - Democrats (37 total)

John Buckner: 303-866-2944
Email: john.buckner.house@state.co.us

Lois Court: 303-866-2967
Email: lois.court.house@state.co.us

Crisanta Duran: 303-866-2925
Email: crisanta.duran.house@state.co.us

Thomas Exum: 303-866-3069
Email: thomas.exum.house@state.co.us

Mark Ferrandino: 303-866-2346
E-mail: mferrandino@yahoo.com

Rhonda Fields: 303-866-3911
E-mail: rhonda.fields.house@state.co.us

Randy Fischer: 303-866-2917
E-mail: randyfischer@frii.com

Mike Foote: 303-866-2920
E-mail: mike.foote.house@state.co.us

Leroy Garcia: 303-866-2968
E-mail: leroy.garcia.house@state.co.us

Joann Ginal: 303-866-4569
E-mail: joann.ginal.house@state.co.us

Millie Hamner: 303-866-2952
E-mail: millie.hamner.house@state.co.us

Dickey Lee Hullinghorst: 303-866-2348
E-mail: dl.hullinghorst.house@state.co.us

Daniel Kagan: 303-866-2921
E-mail: repkagan@gmail.com

Tracy Kraft-Tharp: 303-866-2950
E-mail: reptracy29@gmail.com

Jeanne Labuda: 303-866-2966
E-mail: jeanne.labuda.house@state.co.us

Steve Lebsock: 303-866-2931
E-mail: steve.lebsock.house@state.co.us

Pete Lee: 303-866-2932
E-mail: pete.lee.house@state.co.us

Clair Levy: 303-866-2578
E-mail: claire.levy.house@state.co.us

Jenise May: 303-866-2945
E-mail: jenise.may.house@state.co.us

Elizabeth McCann: 303-866-2959
E-mail: beth.mccann.house@state.co.us

Mike McLachlan: 303-866-2914
E-mail: mike.mclachlan.house@state.co.us

Jovan Melton: 303-866-2919
E-mail: jovan.melton.house@state.co.us

Diane Mitsch Bush: 303-866-2923
E-mail: diane.mitschbush.house@state.co.us

Dominick Moreno: 303-866-2964
E-mail: dominick.moreno.house@state.co.us

Dan Pabon: 303-866-2954
E-mail: dan.pabon.house@state.co.us

Cherylin Peniston: 303-866-2843
E-mail: cherylin.peniston.house@state.co.us

Brittany Petterson: 303-866-2939
E-mail: brittany.pettersen.house@state.co.us

Dianne Primavera: 303-866-4667
E-mail: dianne.primavera.house@state.co.us

Paul Rosenthal: 303-866-2910
E-mail: paul.rosenthal.house@state.co.us

Su Ryden: 303-866-2942
E-mail: su.ryden.house@state.co.us

Joseph Salazar: 303-866-2918
E-mail: joseph.salazar.house@state.co.us

Sue Schafer: 303-866-5522
E-mail: sue.schafer.house@state.co.us

Jonathan Singer: 303-866-2780
E-mail: jonathan.singer.house@state.co.us

Max Tyler: 303-866-2951
E-mail: max@maxtyler.us

Edward Vigil: 303-866-2916
E-mail: edvigil1@gmail.com

Angela Williams: 303-866-2909
E-mail: angela.williams.house@state.co.us

Dave Young: 303-866-2929
E-mail: dave.young.house@state.co.us


To send a Fax, all Reps use a commom/shared Fax #: 303-866-2218
__________________
Help save our trails. Please support:
AMA
BRC
COHVCO
TPA
Raul Duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014