ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Vendors
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-11-2013, 11:13 AM   #1471
GISkev
wwfsmd?
 
GISkev's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: UT
Oddometer: 1,694
Samsung Rugby Pro

Great App!!!

I'll be running this on my Samsung Rugby Pro, but I'd eventually go for a smallish tablet. I just need to find the right RAM mount for the phone. ram's x-grip squeezes the volume and power buttons.
__________________
Merge w the traffic, but don't go w the flow!

--GoProHero Helmet Cam!--http://www.youtube.com/results?searc...y=utahkev&aq=f
5 deserts:http://advrider.com/forums/showthrea...3#post15462553
KTM 520 (plated), Wee-Strom (commuter bike)
GISkev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 11:26 AM   #1472
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,223
I've done the tablet thing too. I slid it into the map pocket on my tank bag with great success. I tend to stop and look at the map when I am on the trail so its not a big deal that its out of my field of view.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GISkev View Post
Great App!!!

I'll be running this on my Samsung Rugby Pro, but I'd eventually go for a smallish tablet. I just need to find the right RAM mount for the phone. ram's x-grip squeezes the volume and power buttons.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 11:30 AM   #1473
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,223
I've started a new thread detailing a new piece of gear I'm working on. Check it out.

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=827565

craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 07:18 AM   #1474
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,223
I think we've finally arrived. The hardware has caught up with our needs. This looks just about perfect to me.

craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 11:56 AM   #1475
NordieBoy
Armature speller
 
NordieBoy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Kiwiland
Oddometer: 7,120
Quote:
Originally Posted by craftycoder View Post
I think we've finally arrived. The hardware has caught up with our needs. This looks just about perfect to me.
Quite nice. I like how careful they were :sly:
If out was an Xperia Active, they could have got it out by hitting the bowl with a sledgehammer.

Hmmm. Someone (not me) needs to parody that sort of water immersion test
__________________
DR650 Wiki
NordieBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 09:15 PM   #1476
nigelcorn
Wannabe.
 
nigelcorn's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Henderson, NV
Oddometer: 795
Quote:
Originally Posted by nigelcorn View Post
Something I've noticed on both my phone and tablet- when I switch the basemap to the googlemaps terrain, it almost entirely shows just black with roads on it. Occasionally I will get terrain where I am, but when I zoom in or out, it turns to black.

Anyone else have that?

Sorry to bring it up again, but I really want to use the googlemaps terrain and it just doesn't work on either my phone or my tablet. Anyone have a solution to this?
nigelcorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 04:28 AM   #1477
Stangman33
Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Hamburg, PA
Oddometer: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by nigelcorn View Post
Sorry to bring it up again, but I really want to use the googlemaps terrain and it just doesn't work on either my phone or my tablet. Anyone have a solution to this?
Working on both my Droid X2 and Galaxy Nexus. Hope you get it figured out
Stangman33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 04:57 AM   #1478
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by nigelcorn View Post
Sorry to bring it up again, but I really want to use the googlemaps terrain and it just doesn't work on either my phone or my tablet. Anyone have a solution to this?
I can confirm this is an issue. It seems the repository of terrain images at google.com has turned into those black with roads images. Rather annoying I'd say. Let me see if I can find where they have put them now.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 06:23 AM   #1479
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,223
app update 0.2.22

App updated with new Google Terrain tiles source. You will need to delete your /osmand/tiles/Google Terrain folder if you still have black tiles.

I've also added a new work around for the rather annoying Jelly Bean map select check box problem. Please let me know if I broke this for previous versions or if you are still having issues with Jelly Bean.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 07:36 AM   #1480
nigelcorn
Wannabe.
 
nigelcorn's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Henderson, NV
Oddometer: 795
Awesome, that worked great. Thanks!!
nigelcorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 10:49 AM   #1481
Stangman33
Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Hamburg, PA
Oddometer: 26
Checkboxes are finally working on my Nexus running 4.2.1
Stangman33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 10:54 AM   #1482
NordieBoy
Armature speller
 
NordieBoy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Kiwiland
Oddometer: 7,120
Quote:
Originally Posted by craftycoder View Post
App updated with new Google Terrain tiles source. You will need to delete your /osmand/tiles/Google Terrain folder if you still have black tiles.

I've also added a new work around for the rather annoying Jelly Bean map select check box problem. Please let me know if I broke this for previous versions or if you are still having issues with Jelly Bean.
Deleted the OSMAND folder and still get black terrain maps with roads and rivers on them. Night view?

What is the JB map select check box issue?
__________________
DR650 Wiki
NordieBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 11:00 AM   #1483
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by NordieBoy View Post
Deleted the OSMAND folder and still get black terrain maps with roads and rivers on them. Night view?

What is the JB map select check box issue?
Did you download the latest version of the software? 0.2.22
I can confirm that I can no longer reproduce that issue.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 11:02 AM   #1484
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stangman33 View Post
Checkboxes are finally working on my Nexus running 4.2.1
Yeah. Jelly Bean "fixed" a problem so ingrained in the previous versions of Android that we all believed it was a feature. Google left the issue as a low priority problem, so I went a ahead a updated to the code to read:
if(JELLY_BEAN) {
stop sucking;
} else {
this never used to suck;
}
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 11:13 AM   #1485
NordieBoy
Armature speller
 
NordieBoy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Kiwiland
Oddometer: 7,120
Quote:
Originally Posted by craftycoder View Post
Did you download the latest version of the software? 0.2.22
I can confirm that I can no longer reproduce that issue.
It hadn't auto updated yet...

Works fine now.
__________________
DR650 Wiki
NordieBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014